We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right on my doorstep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse Inn

The White Horse Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Launceston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Horse Inn
Save
You added The White Horse Inn to your Saves list
14 Newport Square, Launceston PL15 8EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Launceston B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“right on my doorstep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

it was my first meal at the white horse . having family visit for the weekend it was decided i would know the best place to eat being a resident here in launceston, so the presure was on . I booked a table for a sunday lunch carvery.. So glad i made the right choice it was absolutely wonderful.. the greeting was warm and friendly . the food was really well cooked, .lots of choice of vegitables with 3 choices of meat. the plates were hot ,and the gravy was really tasty. the price was very agreeable too it was certainly good value for money. .my visitors were very happy with thier meal and i will certainly be going there again. I GOT THE PRAISE .BUT THE STAFF AT THE WHITE HORSE DESERVE THE CREDIT. . and i hope you continue to provide the same quality food in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a fantastic place, The White Horse pub in Launceston, Cornwall. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is excellent, as is the ale. The atmosphere created in this really nice place is entirely down to the very friendly staff and also the equally friendly locals. As an overnight stop on my charity walk from John O'Groats to Lands End, I could not have found better. Thank you all at The White Horse!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have eaten here many times and every time the service is faultless and the food is excellent from the delicious mouthwatering Sunday carveries to the extremely excellent value for money and tasty steak meals. Highly recommend the White Horse to everyone. Also very child friendly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Visited on Sunday 9/6/13 along with my partner and our daughter for a carvery lunch , we were greeted by very friendly staff , carvery consisted of plenty of hot well cooked meat and an excellent selection of local veg including the best parsnips I've ever had , the sweets were as tasty and well presented as the main coarse , there was also a little gadget on each table allowing you to call for more drinks , the bill or service without having to catch someone's eye, we will be returning very soon as it is also a renowned steakhouse , well done white horse 10/10

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went here for a carvery on Sunday with a large group of friends including a few children and the service was top notch despite being incredibly busy. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, quickly served drinks and plated up our food at the help yourself carvery. All meats were cooked perfectly and the parsnips were a huge hit with everyone, just wish I had room for seconds! Also an added bonus they serve rattler here! Definitely book for a Sunday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was booked into the White Horse Inn by a company I was working for. Having stayed a single night there, I can certainly say that i'd be happy to stay again!

The room itself was average - a decent size, quite warm - but the shared shower left a little to be desired - with mediocre water pressure and a broken door. However, where the White Horse excells is it's food... It's amazing.

I had the Veggie Chilli with Chips - which consisted of nice, big, well cooked chunks of vegetables in a tasty chilli sauce with a nice little kick. A couple of my colleagues also thoroughly enjoyed the Mushroom & Hazelnut Wellington from the specials - with all the food being very well presented, mouth-wateringly tasty and freshly cooked; all at a decent price.

The staff and locals could not have been more accomodating, and we all throughly enjoyed our time at the White Horse! Unfortunately unable to comment on the breakfast as we had to leave before the Restaurant was open, but they did arrange a little breakfast goody bag for us all! Very good service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I am not a real fan of carvery but i was definately bowled over by the carvery at The White Horse. The plates were hot, the meat was tender, the choice of vegetables was absolutely superb - they even had peas! Will be visiting again and reccommending - absolutely superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: 14 Newport Square, Launceston PL15 8EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Launceston's original public houses. Great food, great beer, great accommodation. Located close to the A30, superb from exploring Cornwall. New steakhouse uses fantastic local meat and open 5 nights a week. Business conference facilities available. Free Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White Horse Inn Launceston, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.