We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful double en suite room with sweeping views of Launceston hills.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B & B @ Rose Cottage

B & B @ Rose Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Launceston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B & B @ Rose Cottage
Save
You added B & B @ Rose Cottage to your Saves list
5 Lower Cleaverfield | Rose Cottage, Launceston PL15 8ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Launceston B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful double en suite room with sweeping views of Launceston hills.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Our double en suite room was very clean & furnished beautifully. Upon our arrival at 7pm, It was a welcoming sight after a long day's journey. 'Rose Cottage' overlooks the sweeping hills of Launceston & the views are magnificent. In the morning, hosts, Marylin & Bill served a delightful breakfast complete with sausage, eggs, fresh grapefruit sections, freshly-squeezed orange juice, toast, coffee (& more). We will return again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Peter and I always book into Rose Cottage when we visit this part of Cornwall. Marilyn and Bill are super hosts; the accommodation is excellent - comfortable and spotless - and the breakfast always sets us up for the day. Wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

All in all my stay was ok. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. However, breakfast was disappointing. I could hear the hosts discussing whether or not to serve up the burnt toast. They chose to scrape off some of the burnt bits and serve it anyway. I wish I had said something to them at the time but I was so shocked that they did this, all within my earshot, I just didn't know what to say. The bathroom for the single bedroom is downstairs which I wasn't aware of at the time of booking and meant that having had a shower you had to run the gauntlet of bumping into other guests in your bathrobe as you returned to your bedroom. The shower for the single room was temperamental to say the least and fluctuated in temperature from scalding hot to freezing cold – after 10 minutes I gave up trying. Oh, and if you are not a confident driver this is not the place for you. The driveway is steep to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedandbrekky, Owner at B & B @ Rose Cottage, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
We are delighted that you enjoyed your comfortable bed and clean room. It is made clear in all our publicity that there is a separate private bathroom for our single room. Our showers are regularly checked but it does help if problems are highlighted to us immediately to enable us to maintain our normal high standards of service. If you were served burnt toast we do apologise for the fact that the 'shock' rendered you speechless, we would have been only too pleased to serve replacements if they had been requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at Rose Cottage. From the minute we arrived we felt at home.Our pretty room was comfortable and clean with lovely views of the countryside. Bill and Marilyn lent us a copy of the Launceston Town Trail to explore the town. Breakfast was good - Excellent poached eggs !! They really deserve their AA Highly Commended Award, Rose Cottage is a gem of a B & B

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I am writing this review to highlight the fact that the owners of Rose Cottage are nothing more than a couple of frauds. I can honestly say I have never been treated so poorly in my life. The element of mistrust I received was overwhelming.

The price quoted over the phone for a nights stay increased by ten pounds when it was time to pay for my stay!!!! Not only that but the husband of the couple quickly darted upstairs to check that I had not damaged the room or stolen something and I was asked immediately for the keys.

The couple are pretending to be religious!! DON'T BE FOOLED!

Avoid this disgusting house and atmosphere like the PLAGUE!!

Regards,

JP

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedandbrekky, Owner at B & B @ Rose Cottage, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
We would like the writer to get in touch with us as we would like to discuss his/her review. We are having difficulty in undersstanding why they should write such a review, possibly they have the wrong Rose Cottage. We have recently been awarded the AA Highly Commended award for the third year running which means we have to excell in all the areas mentioned at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Returned to Rose Cottage for the third time to a very friendly welcome from the owners who go out of their way to make you comfortable. Although the rooms are a little on the small side, the welcome and the breakfast you receive far outway this.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Just spent 2 days here and loved it. Scenic views of town and castle.
The breakfasts were really good.
Marylin & Bill were very helpful and friendly hosts.
We will return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B & B @ Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B @ Rose Cottage

Address: 5 Lower Cleaverfield | Rose Cottage, Launceston PL15 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Cottage offers quality accommodation & good service. An perfect central base for touring Devon & Cornwall, visiting the Eden Project, Boscastle & Tintagel, Lands End, Clovelly, surfing, golf, walking or cycling. Rose Cottage is a comfortable, beautifully decorated B & B guesthouse in Launceston. Superb views of Launceston Castle and surrounding countryside. Breakfast provides Hearty and Healthy choices, using locally produced ingredients. 4 minutes walk to nearest pub/restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
B & B @ Rose Cottage Launceston, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & B @ Rose Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.