We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm oasis in a hectic country!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pandanus Resort

Save Saved
You added Pandanus Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pandanus Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Quarter 5, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet 202277, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Mui Ne
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Calm oasis in a hectic country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My sister, nephew and I were fortunate enough to be able to stay at the Pandanus in mid July. After long train and bus trips and the frenetic energy of Hanoi, this was a lovely oasis, allowing us the chance to be lazy and revive ourselves. The little excursions away from the resort were just right for a relaxing stay: complimentary shuttles took us to the market and Fairy Stream. The shuttle driver (sorry, I'm not sure of his name - perhaps Mr. Thieu?) took such good care of us on the latter excursion, showing us just what to do, stopping along the road for us to take photos when he heard us exclaim over the scenery, and taking care of our shoes while we waded through the stream to this beautiful red and white sandstone canyon. As noted by other reviewers, Miss Rossilyn at the front and tour desks was very polite and helpful, even arranging tickets for our bus to Saigon when it was time to leave. :(

Our room and the grounds were lovely and
very clean, and the pool and beach area was beautiful. As it is off season, the resort was uncrowded, so no problem with getting a table in the restaurant or loungers by the pool and beach. The included breakfast was an attractive, diverse, plentiful and tasty way to start each day!

We highly recommend this wonderful resort. Keep up the good work, Pandanus friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    108
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
79
137
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 7 stayed at the Pandanus Resort for 2 nights. We had a family room and a superior room, both of which were very clean and comfortable. The resort itself is set on spacious grounds which are kept magnificently by the army of gardeners. 

If you are looking for somewhere to catch your breath and just relax from the hassle of seeing this beautiful country then Pandanus fits the bill. There is a choice between sitting by the pool or overlooking e ocean, both of which let you just unwind. 

The food/drinks are typical of a resort and were fine, but we did have lunch at a restaurant across the road (first one on the left as you come out) and it was great, especially the squid dishes. 

The resort offers free shuttles to Fairy Stream and the Fish markets. We did both and the kids really enjoyed them. We also made use of the evening shuttle into Mui Ne's main drag. Had some difficulty locating the restaurants we wanted due to the odd street numbering system so beware. 

All in all , the staff were friendly , especially Ros on front desk, however they were more reserved than we have seen elsewhere, possibly due to a lack of English. 

As I said before if you are looking for a place to relax, Pandanus is great and we would recommend it without hesitation

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked a 5 pm bus from Phuong Trang from Saigon but the bus came late and we eventually departed at 5.40 pm. By the time we arrived at the resort it was already 12.30 am. Good thing we ate something at the rest area at 10 plus pm otherwise we would go hungry.

The resort was rather dark as it was already past midnight and only a security guard was on duty who called a front desk staff to process our check in details which took less than 5 minutes as I had already emailed the resort we would be arriving late but didn't expect it to be so late. We booked a standard twin room and requested for the two beds to be arranged into one bed and it was very nicely done up with neat beddings. The beds were good and we had a very good night sleep after the long tiring bus journey.

However, the birds outside the garden already started chirping at 6 am. So we got up early and went for breakfast which was already quite crowded. The food was very good and service staff simply friendly and keen to serve. Nevertheless, there were two incidents which left much to be desired. I was queuing for my pho, a male staff was holding a stack of empty bowls coming to replenish the pho station. Instead of politely asking me to allow him space to go through, he placed his hand on my back and moved me a little to make space for him to get through. I suppose he thought I was one of their locals so I won't mind. Another case was when the guests at our adjacent table had vacated, the staff came to clear the table and another lady staff came by to sweep the floor around us while we were still eating. While it is good to keep the restaurant clean at all times but churning out dust while guests are dining is not a very good idea. I consider these as minor incidents which has to do with communication and staff training.

One main reason we chose this resort is its proximity to the red sand dune. It is just about 100 m to right of the hotel. Shouldn't miss the sand dune if you are staying here.

The resort has a very nice garden and the whole place is simply beautiful. The beach was quite clean except there were some small jelly fish on the beach. Swimmers may want to take note. The huge swimming pool was a joy to indulge in a relaxing swim during a hot day. There are also other facilities like spa, tennis court, table tennis, pool table which we didn't use.

We requested for late checkout at 1 pm since we arrived after midnight but was denied, not even for half an hour. Was told there were many guests coming that day and they needed time to clean the rooms. So we checked out at 12 noon and went back to the restaurant for a nice lunch before we left. We really enjoyed the friendly service from the restaurant staff and the ambience of the whole place. Will stay longer the next time should we visit Mui Ne again.

By the way, if you do not wish to take a taxi to town, just cross the road in front of the resort and wait for a local bus. It costs 9000 vnd for us to take a ride to other resorts nearer to Phan Thiet city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a company function at this resort. I last visited more than 4 years ago. Then, it was known as the l'an mien and looked totally high end. The resort is now Thai owned ( I think). It has also become more commercial, and now caters to tour groups like mine. As a result, the exclusive nature is quite tough to balance. How do u control a group of Vietnamese tourists from having a private swimming competition in their pool. Pity.

Food at the breakfast hall is awesome. They have an expat chef, and the quality is very high for Vietnamese standards. As a person based in Vietnam, I have had worst.

Rooms are big but a bit bare.

Overall, stay but dun expect the exclusive nature of a resort.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, General Manager at Pandanus Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
This review is not for the Pandanus Resort. This is a review for Anantara Resort, formerly L'Anmien. I told trip advisor to move it to Anantara, but they responded that there is nothing wrong with the review and would leave it where it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After a 6hr road journey from Ho Chi Minh City check in was quick and efficient. A cold fruit juice was provided in the foyer. The Bellboy showed us to our third floor room which we found to be adequate and spacious.
The grounds of the complex are gorgeous and are constantly being worked on by maintenance staff.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant and was nice with plenty to choose from, eggs station, noodles, fruits, cereals, you could always find something different.
Dinners are reasonable but not great, this may have been our fault with our selection despite going for the Vietnamese selection. The prices at the bar were a little expensive but off set by the happy hour two for one cocktail deal till 8 pm.
The pool is wonderful and a great size, plenty of beds and the pool guys are always available to provide mattresses and put up the parasol. The area of the beach is also good with big straw parasols for shade.
The only problem we had was our air conditioning in our room was leaking on the first night leaving puddles on the floor. This was reported to manager Ross who immediately moved us to and much nicer room on the second floor with a bigger balcony with no further problems.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

After a 6hr road journey from Ho Chi Minh City check in was quick and efficient. A cold fruit juice was provided and there was a band playing music in the foyer. Bellboy showed us to our room which we found to be adequate and spacious.

The grounds of the complex are gorgeous and are constantly being worked on by maintenance staff.

Breakfast is served in the Main restaurant and was nice with loads to choose from, eggs station, noodles, fruits, cereals, you could always find something different. Dinners are more costly than eating outside which you would expect.

The prices at the bar are also expensive 50,000 vnd for a beer plus service charge and vat. You can get a 500ml bottle beer in the restaurant across the road for 10,000 vnd.

The pool is a great size, plenty of beds And the pool guys are always available to provide mattresses and put up the parasol. The area of the beach is also nice. Some rubbish gets washed up as you find with the sea but this is cleaned up.

The only problem we had was our air conditioning in our room was leaking on 3 separate occasions during the night. Not just a tiny drip but water pouring out. This was reported each time but still the problem was there. One checking out the air conditioning was leaking again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, General Manager at Pandanus Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Lisa Lindsay,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Pandanus Resort.

After reading your review, I reminded the owners that they had already approved the purchase of new air conditioners and I asked them when the new ones would be installed. They promised me that every one of the old units would be replaced by September this year.

Thank you, again, for your review and I hope to see you at the Pandanus again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After consuming, tedious and very long bus trip from Saigon as you come to another world. Resort is at the end of town and is quiet here. Hotel has a beautiful and well-kept garden, nice rooms, amazing sea, excellent services are free shuttle bus for the base trips/sightseeing. I therefore think that the weaknesses that we encountered during your stay are useless and good management would have to handle.

Basic flaws - for Vietnam very overpriced restaurants and bars, the staff do not speak foreign languages ​​(we tried English, German, Russian - So I do not know which language can do, except Vietnamese), the resort is the large number of rats - they run around the pool and in the evening at the branches of palms (even able to climb from one palm to another).

At the pool there are 2 showers - two days one did not work, and the third day it repaired (exchange faucet) - I can not understand why it was not repaired the first night and why repair was carried out during the day, when there is a lot of relaxing clients. Overall, the staff at the pool is very annoying and unresponsive.

At second night began to flow from the air conditioner liters of water next to the bed - we are happy for manager named Ross, who only spoke English also and she was all stay very helpful for us. Otherwise, they wanted to carry out repairs at night and then during the next day - we did not paid holiday in a room that is repaired during our stay.

If you are benevolent or you have the nerve to tackle problems than you get good quality service for your money, so we recommend this resort :).

Room Tip: Accomodation in Villas is significantly more expensive, but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMuiNe_Vietnam, General Manager at Pandanus Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Metropolis,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I would like to respond to a couple of your remarks.

With regards to the prices in our restaurants and bars, they compare favorably with almost every other four star hotel and resort in Vietnam, and are considerably lower than prices in four star hotels in Europe and the Czech Republic. If you are comparing our prices with those in the local restaurants on the street, then you are correct that they are higher. However, the quality of our food and our ambiance is much better than that in the restaurants and bars out on the street.

As I have mentioned previously, we do our best to teach English to the staff. We must hire from the local fishing community, which has not traditionally put a premium on education, so many of the local people have a minimal educational background. Some of our staff speak English quite well, however, while others need improvement. I'm sorry if they did not speak English as well as you would have liked.

Being adjacent to a fishing town, there are rats that come into the resort grounds from time to time. Although we do have traps around the resort that catch most of them, there is an occasional rat that is able to get through. However, there are very few of them that are not immediately caught by our security and landscape staff and I have never heard of a rat that is able to climb up a coconut palm tree. You must have seen some other type of animal or bird up in the trees.

I have checked with our maintenance manager about the outside shower. He said that it was repaired as soon as it was reported.

It is true that some of our air-conditioners are getting old and leak if not serviced constantly. Therefore, the owners have agreed to replace most of the air-conditioners before the end of this year. My apologies that the one in your room was not working properly.

Again, thank you for staying with us and I'm sorry if our prices and services did not meet with your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pandanus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandanus Resort

Address: Quarter 5, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet 202277, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Mui Ne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Mui Ne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pandanus Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2004 within a ten hectare lush tropical garden on a three hundred meter long beach, the Pandanus Resort has a large range of facilities and a variety of different accommodations, all designed to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Adjacent to the beach is a huge free-form pool, surrounding an island covered with palm trees. The buildings are designed to complement, not compete with the natural surroundings. The beach is serene and disturbed only by an occasional fisherman in a round pitch basket, or a wind and kite surfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pandanus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandanus Hotel Mui Ne
Pandanus Hotel Phan Thiet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pandanus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.