We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pancake Bay Provincial Park

Pancake Bay Provincial Park
Box 61, Batchawana Bay, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“so beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Most beautiful place we've ever been int he fall - gorgeous colours! Did the boardwalk trail to the fen - amazing photos! Even better was the edmund fitzgerald lookout hike - long but not too difficult even my 7 year old did the 6km! Stayed in yurt right on beach - so picturesque! Loved listening to sound of waves at night. Beautiful sandy beach - stunning 3.5km long untouched with no one there and not a single footstep in the sand. Peaceful stunning sunsets! Firewood purchases must be planned as gate store not always open but staff in out and about in park and easy to find. Great to have fridge in yurt which was spacious with 2 bunk beds with double bed on bottom and twin above. Loved clothing bar with hangers in yurt! Table with high chairs also great inside as well as electricity - even lights on deck! Firepit area large and very large spaces between yurts with lots of area to play and park. One of the 2 picnic table comes with a bug screen cover - so thoughtful and convenient! Sadly no wildlife to be seen.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Much warmer than you think”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lake Superior is normally extremely cold, which inhibits both algae and people. However, because Pancake Bay is very shallow, the water warms up during calm warm weather, so you get the benefits of swimming or wading in super clear, algae-free water, without paying the price of having to endure the cold. But watch out if the wind picks up - the water soon gets cold again.

Even if you don't go in the water, the beach itself is spectacular. Beautiful sand,not at all crowded.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Most beautiful Sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have travelled to Pancake Bay many times, and every time is like going there for the first time. The views are breath taking, and scenic surrounds are amazing. There is a wonderful Camping area, with modern facilities and great camping sights, where you can see a Bear or Moose.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dog beach at Pancake Bay, Lake Superior, Ontario”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a 6-night stay at Pancake Bay on the North Shore of Lake Superior in August, 2013, hoping that the weather and water would be warm (hah). Booked online, which doesn't tell you where the dog beach is; it's located just to the east of the Hilltop campground, near the beach parking lot.

Took the dogs to the beach, and discovered it was only a couple hundred metres long, and get this... you're expected to swim your dog on a 2-m leash. This is because there have been dog fights in the past. No wonder; there are about 3 km of beach stretching along the shore, and the dogs are restricted to only 300 m of that! With cooperation from the other dog owners, we spaced ourselves out and our canines enjoyed the water along with the family. The human kids had fun digging the sand and jumping the waves. The dogs had fun chasing the frisbee and did more swimming than the humans..

The more able bodied folks in our party walked the beach out to the western point, and also the Lookout Trail. Found some great pitcher plants to in a bog. Managed to get the kite board out one day, but found the bay's arms blocked the wind that was ripping elsewhere on the lake.

Stayed at Hilltop campground in a tent trailer. The location of the campsites do not match the maps posted online. We thought we'd be across the road from our cousins, but were down the hill. It was damp and cold in the campsite, which was quite muddy. No pad or gravel area for the trailer. No sunshine, thanks to the trees. Lots of mosquitoes. Seasonal campers boast that the bears and bugs are bigger at Hilltop. The seasonal neighbours were great; one loaned us a heater when the tent trailer wouldn't warm up during the 6 C nights.

Best sites at Pancake Bay were along the beachfront, and we suspect those sell out quickly each year. Avoid the sites along the highway; they are only separated by trees from the Trans Canada and all the truck noise. The washrooms at Hilltop were old. We started driving to the newer ones in the main campground, where the washer/dryers are located.

The beach was sandy and when the sun was out, it was warm. No poison ivy. Lots of blueberries to pick along the highway. Drove to nearby Lake Superior Park to look at the interpretive centre, to various tourist traps along the highway and into Sault Ste. Marie for the bush plane museum and a few essentials from Canadian Tire.

Nearest grocery / LC is at the Canadian Carver / Agawa Crafts store, 5 minutes east of the campground. Store has basic groceries, a wall of camping supplies, and a weather predicting rock that the kids wanted to take home. Har.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park, & amazing beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a beautiful park this was... The beaches here are spectacular and the hikes really nice. My only complaint is the proximity to the highway but luckily, our campsite was closer to the water so we didn't really hear the traffic. The park is more long and narrow, and lots of campsites are right beside the highway so beware when booking a reservation and ask for something closer to the water - you won't regret it!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancake Bay Provincial Park also viewed

 
Killarney, Northeastern Ontario
Kakabeka Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Pancake Bay Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pancake Bay Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.