We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Monfreville

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isigny-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Monfreville
Save
You added Chateau de Monfreville to your Saves list
14230 Isigny-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
london, england
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in one of the two roulettes on the site. There was at most, about 25 tents on site during our stay, and there is a cottage for rent. When we arrived we were met by Zoe, who showed us around, and explained some simple rules of the site then our stuff was loaded onto the tractor trailor and we were driven over to our roulette. Cars are not allowed on site, and are parked by the side of the chateau.
The roulette was small, but completely functional, with bunk beds and a double bed, which could be converted to a table. Ample cupboard space, with good selection of plates, cups, cooking equipment. By each roulette there was a table and four chairs, 2 lounger chairs, hammock and a BBQ.
On site there is table tennis, footballs, badminton net, natural swimming pool, hot tub, various games, bikes and scooters, something for all ages. There are two showers (always hot) two loos in both men's and women's section. Washing up area, two fridges, a freezer and electric sockets to charge phones etc all situated at the bottom of the chateau. The real beauty is no electricity, so no campers hauling out the PS2, microwave, and all the other numerous electrical items that some people seem unable to live without for a week or two. The kids all played together really well, and could wander about and explore quite safely.
There are bbq's and fire pits for people to really enjoy the outdoor life.
The small honesty shop sold salad, veg, and home made chutneys and jams, out of this world duck and chicken eggs, as well as a few essentials such as matches, loo roll, briquettes and firewood, and there was a book swap area.
Every evening Paul or Zoe would take orders for the next days breakfast, a variety of croissants or bread, and it was delivered around 8-8.30 next day and paid for at the end of the holiday, they do not take credit cards.
Once a week there is the Moules and Frites nights, (bring your own drink) where we all piled into the barn and had a chance to have a good chat and were served the most delicious meal.
The chateau is situated is a very peaceful area, nothing to see except fields and farmland.
There were a variety of animals, Hector the dog, Bluebell and Mungo the cats, donkey, horse, rabbits, ducks and chickens. All added to the fun for the children.
There is a small town 5 minute drive away, with a couple of supermarkets, chemist, few restaurants. Well situated for visiting the Normandy historical sites and beaches.
We had a wonderful stay here, mostly due to the location, the relaxed ambience and the hospitality of Zoe and Paul.
Would recommend a stay here, to camp, or a stay in the roulette, which was an experience in itself. If you want peace, quiet and relaxation, this place is a must.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This campsite is so great for families: clean and nice loos/showers, fridge space for food, pond for swimming, and hosts that take part in a spontaneous football game or arrange mini Olympics for all to enjoy. We loved the high quality service: help with organising shade for our baby, breakfast bakery orders, luggage transport from car, the list goes on. Highly recommend this place but be quick as they book up very quickly. I'm not at all surprised.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Booked for 4 nights after seeing the site on the Cool Camping' website. Met Zoe in the chateau and she grabbed Paul who gave us the tour. No cars allowed in the field so we loaded the gear into the tractor trailer and Paul gave us a ride down to the field. 1 large field with a max of 25 pitches so plenty of space. Very family orientated, Zoe and Paul went out of their way to make guests welcome. Bakery orders taken and then delivered to your tent in the morning, they held a moules and frites night, a communal BBQ, a mini olympics. The site has a large communal barn in which people gathered to eat evening meals. They have a mini 'shop' where you can buy their own organic vegetables,jams and pickles, milk, loo roll, firewood (for their free to use pits), all done using an honesty box. We had a lovely stay and would definitely return.'

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

3 couples from the US on an excursion to experience Normandy, found the absolutely perfect place to stay - the Pond Cottage at Chateau Monfreville. Zoe and Paul were there to welcome us into our lovely cottage - very well provisioned for cooking at home, and with a private outdoor area for enjoyment and a yard for a rousing game of bocci ball, and fresh bakery delights delivered each morning! And, they also provided great advice for outings, eating, a menagerie of farm animals to feed and enjoy and the grand finale - a feast of mussels and sausages that compared to anything we had elsewhere in Europe!! Great location - we will go back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We went to France for a long weekend on the motorcycle and stayed at this lovely campsite. The location was perfect for visiting D-Day sights and Mont Saint Michel. The facilities (toilets/shower/washing up area) were quite nice and well maintained. There was even a place that you could charge your phone or other electronic devices. The bread/pastries that they have delivered in the morning are really good as well. There are bbqs that you can borrow, and they have wood and charcoal (among many other things) that you can buy on site at their honesty shop (you just write down what you take and put money in the box).
Zoe and Paul were fantastic hosts! They made us feel right at home from the minute we arrived. They were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, which we really appreciated!
We are already planning our trip for next summer to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We camped in 2011 and had such a good time last year that we are going back again in July. Zoe & Paul are great hosts. Make sure you go to their 'moule et frites' night. Zoe only permits around 12 tents at a time ( no caravans, campers or cars) so completely safe for children. free bbqs provided plus hot tub and natural swimming pond with frogs !. The surrounding area is amazing, fantastic beaches, museums and the caramel and ice cream factories. Have a look at their website for more info and to book !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I headed to France for the first time in July. I did not know where to stay, how difficult it would be to get around or what I would do (aside from a few "must do" items once I got there. I contacted the Chateau through their website and made a reservation for the B&B portion of the property (which they do not offer anymore).

When I arrived I was greeted by the owners who welcomed me in with open arms. They invited me in and made feel welcome each and every day I was there. They, quite simply, made my trip outstanding. Their location was unbelieveable, their friendliness was freshing and their hospitality unending. The physical location of the Chateau made my visits to Bayeaux, Omaha beach, Utah, etc. extremely easy. I was never more than an hour from anything I wanted to see.

I plan on going back to France next year and I have already booked myself again. I could not imagine traveling back and not staying there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Monfreville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Monfreville

Address: 14230 Isigny-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Isigny-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Isigny-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Monfreville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.