We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely poor customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Near the Woodlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Near the Woodlands to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Near the Woodlands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18456 I-45 South, Shenandoah, TX 77384   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shenandoah
1 review
“Extremely poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010 via mobile

General manager, Grace, does not address your concerns, talks over you, does not care about customer service, stating "you are not our problem". Night receptionist, Josh, offered no help to stranded girls and was laughing at out distress. Another hotel aided in our safe return.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    4
    14
    14
See reviews for
19
5
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010 via mobile

General manager [Grace] rude and degrading. Receptionist [Josh] refused to offer any help to 4 girls being stranded in the middle of the night, 40 degrees, with a cell phone almost out of battery.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Communication over the telephone was good, but when we checked in around 10pm and went up to the room, the sofa bed was half pulled out with cushions on the floor. When we called downstairs, no one knew the sofa was broken. It was sooooo obvious, the housekeeper or someone had to know. They did quickly bring up a rollaway and were told we would get a 15% break on the room (the room was two queen beds and they had charged $10.00 extra because there were three of us) The next morning we were told they were only going to give up the $10.00 off. They also did not have pillows for the rollaway so had to take pillows from the others beds, they also had no "Do Not Disturb" signs when we asked for one. The hotel was generally clean, but there are so many nicer rooms with better service. The business center was just a computer in the lobby with a printer, there was no privacy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace J, Owner at Comfort Suites Near the Woodlands, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize for the broken sofa bed. That can’t be a fun sight when you first walk into a hotel room. Unfortunately, we have some limits on what we can and cannot discount for certain problems. Did you ask the front desk for more pillows? I’m sure they would have been happy to provide some. We have also undergone some renovations since your visit, and I think we could impress you more were you to stay with us again.

Comfort Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Neches, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

My daughter and I stayed one night at this hotel on our recent shopping trip.
The hotel is older - the room we were in had broken tiles and the bathroom door looked pretty bad. However, the room was clean - no complaints on housekeeping. The internet service in that room did not work - they gave me another cable - it worked for about 10 minutes and then quit working. This was disappointing. Also, there was a charge for using the safe which we did not use so had them take that off - person at the desk said a lot of people get that charge. Even though it is a minimal charge, you don't want to pay for something you didn't use. There were not a lot of people in the hotel - they offered to switch us to another room when I mentioned the internet but this was at 9 p.m. and we were already settled.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

I was impressed by the hospitality, the accomadations and the price. I have stayed at this property before, and I was planning another stay in this area, but decided to view some reviews first to see if the quality has changed.
The reviews are not very accurate when describing the hotel nor the service. When I called the property to confirm information on their website, the front desk agent was glad to see that I was a returning guest and was willing to help me find a room tailored to my needs. That was key in my decision to select this hotel. I was impressed by her willingness to assist, she was super friendly and accomadating. Once arriving at the hotel I was greeted by another front desk agent who was also very friendly. Check in time took less then 60 seconds I swear it was awesome. My suite was huge, I had a king size corner jacuzzi suite and I was blown away at the value.If this was a 4 star hotel I would easily pay 3 times as much.
I'll stay again and again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

When visiting Conroe, TX, we usually stay at the Comfort Inn on League Line Rd., however, this trip we opted to stay at the Comfort Suites near the Woodlands as we would be shopping in the area. The lobby is very nice, the breakfast was a full breakfast rather than only continental style, but our room was not exceptionally clean. I found a bug on the pillow, which made me leary so I stripped the whole bed and remade it to ensure there were no other bugs. Also, the bathroom vanity is in the room with the shower as opposed to being outside in the dressing area, which poses a problem for two people trying to get ready at the same time. This hotel is $10 more a night than the Comfort Inn at League Line Rd., so we will continue to stay there when in the Conroe area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi in Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

First the good points:

Nice lobby, friendly staff and a microwave and refrigerator in rooms.

Now the not so good:

Once away from the lobby the decor is not so inviting. In the corridors, the carpet is worn and frayed, walls have lots of dents and damage and the carpets didn't look very clean (they may have been, but the shabby and frayed appearence gave the impression of not being clean). The room we had was not as badly knocked around, but still suffered from a tired look.

We checked in at 9:30pm after long travel with youngsters and the air con in the room was off when we moved in. This is the Houston area at the height of summer..... It took a hour to get the room down to a comfortable sleeping temperature. There were very few people staying (it was 4th July weekend so the quietness was a surprise) so maybe they have aircon off in rooms to save money?).

The 'deal breaker' for us was the poor state of the sofa bed. We specifically book rooms to get a sofa bed to enable us to seperate our two children. This was the worst sofa bed that we have ever tried to use (and we've seen plenty in 3 star hotels over four years of travelling with young kids). The matress was very thin and worn and you could feel every coil in it. It was unacceptable to use as a bed and we had to put both kids in together.

The air conditioning (once 'going) was noisy. It was difficult to get our kids to settle in the same bed, in a hot room with noisy air conditioning going.

I can't really recommend this hotel if you are traveling with kids, especially if you need the sofa bed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Near the Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Near the Woodlands

Address: 18456 I-45 South, Shenandoah, TX 77384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Shenandoah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shenandoah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Near the Woodlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Comfort Suites Neat the Woodlands, we pride ourselves on our excellent guest relations and customer care. Our hotel is comprised of 64 suites that are nice, quiet, clean, and comfortable. We understand that you may bring along a large party and are fully dedicated to accommodating your whole party. All suites come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. We are conveniently located off Interstate 45 just two miles from Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion and only minutes from Lake Conroe, the Woodlands Mall and North Harris College. We are the ideal lodging solution for those in need of proximity to attractions and shopping including the Conroe Outlet Center, Sam Houston Race Park, Six Flags Splashtown, Tinseltown Movie Theatre, and the Texas Renaissance Festival. We are also in close proximity to many fine corporations, retail establishments, and a variety of restaurants. All of our guests enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in all rooms, complimentary local calls and free USA Today. In addition to these perks, our complimentary morning breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Near the Woodlands the perfect way to start your day. Our menu consists of eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more. If you find yourself in a rush, you may take advantage of our Grab & Go bags available two hours prior to breakfast. Come stay with us at the Comfort Suites Near the Woodlands, where the customer service is great and your satisfaction is always guaranteed. From the moment you step into our marble tiled lobby you'll realize that this is an exceptional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Near the Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Near The Woodlands Hotel Shenandoah
Comfort Suites The Woodlands
The Woodlands Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Near the Woodlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.