We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really yummy food at the Fox” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Bar & Bistro

The Fox Bar & Bistro
46-50 Oldham Road | Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4DP, England
+44 1422 825880
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, English, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really yummy food at the Fox”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a treat it is to pop to the Fox for a lively atmosphere, a lovely glass of excellent wine and some of the most delicious food around... my personal fave's are the legendary fish pie which was recommended to me by another regular, mussels and the best fries I've tasted in a long time, great steaks and delicious burgers which my firends said were the best they've ever had... My friends have loved it for a while and my family are now all fans too. I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    60
    19
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went here purely by chance after going for a drive and getting a bit lost. This is a lovely bistro with very friendly staff and nice decor. The food we had was excellent and although not cheap, good value for money. Although not local for us, think we will definitely return as it was so nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic Food. The penne arrabiata is the best I have ever tasted! Great atmosphere, great service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having been to the Fox on a couple of occasions now I have always been impressed. Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff you are made to feel welcome from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave. The food is always excellent. The fish and chips my boyfriend and I had today were quite frankly delicious and left us very full and happy with the meal. Thank you very much Fox. We will most certainly be back in the near future!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Diamond wedding party to remember!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We organised a diamond wedding meal for my auntie And uncle and their friends. I have to say the Fox and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Taking advantage of private dining in the upstairs room the whole party had a great time. Excellent food, drink and service at a very reasonable cost. Thankyou to all who contributed in making it a diamond wedding celebration to remember. Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox Bar & Bistro also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fox Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.