We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice warm welcome awaits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant

The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant
Oldham Road | Rishworth, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4RH, England (Formerly The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor)
01422 822789
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor Restaurant serves locally sourced, seasonal, home-made food from breakfast to dinner. We are located on Rishworth Moor with fabulous views of Boothwood reservoir and the surrounding countryside. Open all day, everyday from 9am.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A nice warm welcome awaits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Only called in for a quick drink but the warm welcome received was worth making a mention on Tripadvisor. There is also a good selection of real ales for those who have a particular penchant for trying something a little different.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola_Crabtree, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to The Turnpike. I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant drink with us and found the welcome nice and friendly! I will pass on your comments to the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    49
    39
    41
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
darlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here on numerous occasions, this week I took the family for our Christmas get together, the atmosphere is perfect at this time of year, with all the fires lit and Christmas decorations done very traditionally and tasteful. The food and service was 5*, three courses and wine for less than £30 a head. Will be returning soon.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola_Crabtree, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to The Turnpike. I am pleased to hear you had such a lovely dinner with your family and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a big group to meet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just come back from a trip out for my Dad's birthday, The staff were very welcoming and looked after us very well. There have been some not so good comments on here about this place but we have just enjoyed a very nice carvery Sunday Lunch and been able to stay for as long as we wished for a lovely family get together. There are two parts to the pub -- the big room that we were in that was ideal for large gatherings but there was also a cosier looking part to other side. I would not say that this place is for romantics ( with a view of the M62 chunderring past but the food was good, the staff very good and it is great meeting point where Yorkshire and Lancashire can meet and enjoy !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola_Crabtree, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Turnpike! I am pleased to hear that your lunch was enjoyable and will pass on your great comments to the team! I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for lunch as it seemed a pleasant enough place. We were made extremely welcome by all the staff who were so pleasant. We enjoyed the hot roast beef sandwiches we ordered. The food was excellent as was the service. We had not seen reviews of the pub prior to visiting but we were both surprised to read reviews afterwards as they were so mixed, particularly when we read the manager's poor responses to customer complaints. Our experience however was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola_Crabtree, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Turnpike. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

For us this was a 45 minute drive but worth the trip. The pub is warm and cosy and the staff are very friendly. The chef really does try to make his food stand out. A great choice of food on the menu and specials offered on different days of the week, Friday's are Fish specials and there was quite a variety to choose from. The food was excellently presented and tasted as good as it looked. Some dishes (The Tower Burger) were extremely filling and could have feed a ravenous lion :)
I would say it's definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola_Crabtree, General Manager at The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Turnpike. I am pleased to hear the drive was worth it and will pass your lovely comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Turnpike Inn at Rishworth Moor- Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.