We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does what it says!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Donatello's

Donatello's
91 Dunstable St, Ampthill MK45 2NG, England
01525 404 666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 21 Restaurants in Ampthill
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: googlr
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It does what it says!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is is a Pizza and Pasta restaurant so if you want more then go else where. There is a relaxed atmosphere and the staff are very helpful. I ordered the wrong Pizza, my fault, and this was changed no questions asked. Some reviewers have said that it needs to be updated. I disagree, it is Italian and feels that way when you walk in the door, not the homogenous look and feel that a lot of restaurants adopt when they update.

I would recommend this restaurant if you want a reasonable priced meal, freshly made, and served by welcoming staff

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    9
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Value Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have been here many times for lunch and evening meals. I think that the food is great value and I love the feel of this restaurant. I have sat outside on a nice sunny lunchtime too. Would go again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Went with the family food survice and staff exclellant will be going back as soon as possible highly recommend

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We eat here a few times and been to a couple of functions.The food is good and the owner will always cook you something off menu or change the food to your liking.The service has always been good staff very pleasant.It is a nice relaxed atmosphere to eat in and all the customers happy and chatty.Yes it is a little dated but has always been clean and in fact it adds to its charm.
Some of the more up market Italian places might have better decor but the cost of the food is reflected in that.Give this place a go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were hoping for a nice authentic meal' instead got small poorly made pizzas with tinned and frozen toppings.it was extremely expensive to boot.will never go back. Crappy service from spotty teenagers aswell

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donatello's also viewed

Ampthill, Bedfordshire
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
 
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
Ampthill, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Donatello's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donatello's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.