We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay in this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome Hotel Stockholm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Welcome Hotel Stockholm to your Saves list
Welcome Hotel Stockholm
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Notarievagen 5, Jarfalla 175 79, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jarfalla
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“2nd stay in this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay for business travel. The location is out of the way but close to where I was needed for work.

The rooms are small but neat, clean and compact. The bathroom facilities were good. It was a very cold time of year but the room heater worked very well.

the beds in this hotel are very comfortable.

check in was easy. Breakfast each day was really nice with a good selection.

The hotel staff are friendly.

The gym was in a bad location (external to the main hotel) and I had to walk 100 metres in the snow to utilize it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    51
    39
    4
    6
See reviews for
40
22
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paterson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I really enjoyed my one night stay in Jarfalla and the Welcome Hotel is to blame for that! The room was clean and stylish with very soft bedding and a lot of privacy. The continental breakfast (included) contained a huuuge selection of foods, breads and meats, very good value for the price of a room. Do stay here if you're planning on visiting Stockholm, as the train station (Barkaby) to downtown is a five minutes or less walk from the hotel. Also nearby are the Outlets, accessible by bus (just ask the front desk for proper stops and lines) for some light shopping. Service was very good as the staff is very friendly and accommodating, going above and beyond to give needed information. The bar is open til one AM and the barkeep mixes some very special local drinks. There is a sauna we didn't get to visit, too. All in all, I had a great time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brokind
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel has reasonable prices considering that it is so close to Stockholm. Everything is basic but very clean and the staff are friendly and efficient. The breakfast is good. The beds are comfortable. A short, about 15-20 minutes, train ride takes you to downtown Stockholm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is quite simple with just the necessary commodities. Breakfast was fare as well as dinner. Its a typical short stay for business hotel. Personnel was kind and efficient. The room could be warmer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our hotel is in Jarfalla (a suburb of Stockholm really) which is 10-15 minutes away from the city as they call it here and 30 minutes away from Arlanda airport. There are a lot of empty spaces in between townships, and because of the melting snow and low temperatures, it looks gloomy. We arrived around 13:30 and it was already getting dark.

The hotel has sauna, swiming pool, fitness center, and in front of the hotel there is an underpass that leads to both the subway and the bus which is very convenient. The station is called Barkarby; five minutes away there is a huge outlet conglomerate called (what else?) Barkarby Outlets. And guess what they have there? you guessed it: IKEA! Yeah, and Ericsson, SAAB, Volvo and others such as Ford, Nike, and many other American manufacturers.
We ate at "Mangal Kolgrill" an atypical restaurant for these parts; it's a Middle-Eastern restaurant. They slow cook the meats, you wait a while but it is worth the wait. Tasty chicken like I never had before, called "Kycklingkebab med bröd 55:-" Got that? That's okay, neither did I. I called it chicken/chicken. Then we decided to get take out pizza for dinner (after some window shopping at the outlets) from where you ask? Pizza Hut! And I was able to get an Irish coffee while waiting for the pizza. Not bad, right?

The area where we stayed, Barkarby Gard is a piece of Swedish History, originally created in 1538 I am not going to bore you with it, but feel free to look it up.

Back at the hotel we had the famous chocolate balls with coconut, a classic Swedish recipe, with a cocktail made with raspberries and rum and oh so many other items (just ask for Madeleine the bartender). Very good.
I asked some locals (Mattias, at front desk, a very proper young man) questions on their history, monarchy, etc. which he was very knowledgeable and eager to share with us.

The hotel has a very nice large restaurant, next to the bar. Non-guests come to eat breakfast everyday. The buffet is fantastic and it's included in the hotel price, lots of different bread types and butter, jams (all natural and organic), great cafe au lait, capucinos, or just coffee. Tea is an option and they have ay choices too. They have scrambled eggs, herring with beet salad (tastes better than it sounds), orange juice, and many other items.
The bedroms are very spacious just like the hotel, they like minimalism but logic, so the bathrooms and roos are modern comfortable ad very advanced. I believe they had the most cofortable beds fro the whole trip we took. Not the most sophisticated one but logic, practical and modern. Great TV programs available. We loved our visit.
Note: Sweden has a lot to offer that I was not aware of. There are over 30,000 islands in Sweden 11,000 of those are in Stockholm. They have both the Baltic Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. Mid class Swedish citizens usually spend 7-8 months of the year in boats and doing water activities. Stockholm has about 80 museums, the Nobel prize belongs to them and if that is not enough, they have monarchy, King Carl XVI Gustaff & Queen Sylvia (half Brazilian).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here a few times on business. Hotel is situated conveniently for business on the outskirts of Stockholm. The rooms are quite small and basic but clean and comfortable. Dont be put off by the huge square pillow on the bed,I was wary but it turned out comfy! There is a quirky little gym in a small building in the hotel grounds. No restaurant food on a Sunday night,but when it is open its reasonably priced honest food. There is a decent breakfast selection on offer too. Nothing fancy,just a decent basic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ein Hod, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I arrived at 11pm and they already sold my room although it was ordered in advance with late check in notification. On the way to another hotel I have learned from the taxi driver that this is the hotel's policy.
In addition, we wanted to have dinner and lunch but the restaurent was... ordered in advance by a corporate so it was closed for ordinary guests.
Taking into account that this hotel is isolated, there are no alternative in a walking distance.
To summarize - the hotel is probably very profitable; overbooked rooms and restaurants... but a very bad experience for ordinary guests.
Anyway, do not arrive late... you will probably have to find another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jarfalla hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welcome Hotel Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Stockholm

Address: Notarievagen 5, Jarfalla 175 79, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Jarfalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jarfalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welcome Hotel Stockholm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Welcome Hotel Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel Stockholm Stockholm County, Sweden - Jarfalla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome Hotel Stockholm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.