We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time & Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascada Restaurant

Cascada Restaurant
Main Street, Charleville, Ireland
00353 63 32474
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dallastown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Time & Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were in Ireland recently (8 friends traveling as a small group) and our group had split into two and 4 of us went to Cobh for the day and on the way back we had a hard time finding a nice restaurant. We stopped in Charleville and asked for a restaurant and were directed to Cascada.
What an unexpected treat. The restaurant is on the main street but below street level - the steps are very well lit.
The interior was comfortable and we were seated by the radiators since it was a rainy evenng out. We had no reservation but getting a table for 4 was not an issue.
The waitress (who is married to the chef) was adorable and very polite. But once you get her warmed up she is delightful.
The food was excellent. I had the Pasta Carbonara with Prawns and it was perfect. I have not had carbonara that good in 15 years. All 4 of us were delighted with the food, the service, and the ambiance. We highly recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a great meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    30
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a Table for 6, good atmosphere, excellent staff & service, great recommendation on a reasobnable wine, food was excellent and early bird was good value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“lovely atmosphere & great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

booked dinner here last saturday night for 8pm,we were seated straight away,given menus & drink order taken. The restaurant was full, service was very good,food was excellent & great value,still able to order the early bird menu for €24.90 at 8pm on a saturday. Will definately return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Cork
2 reviews
“Good food and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This restaurant has great value early bird specials. We enjoy the food and the service is excellent. Would recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Why no soap? EVER!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had dinner in Cascada with a friend last weekend, it was my 4th/5th visit this year. We opted for the Early Bird which at €25 seemed good value, however on closer inspection many of the choices were cheap options - Starters: Soup, Salad, Melon, with one decent option - Prawns. Main: Carbonana, Chicken & Veg Stir Fry, Steak (which was a little tough) and Fish. The food was served very quickly, almost rushed. What really annoyed me though was my visit to the ladies, there was no soap again. On all of my visits this year the soap dispenser has been completely empty, I actually don't think it is ever re-filled. I informed the staff (as I usually do) but they did not seem too bothered, just thanked me for letting them know. I don't think I will be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascada Restaurant also viewed

 
Charleville, County Cork
Charleville, County Cork
 

Been to Cascada Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascada Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.