We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleville Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Charleville Park Hotel to your Saves list
Charleville Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limerick Road, Charleville, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charleville
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had our wedding here in September of this year and I have nothing but positive comments to say about the hotel, staff, service and dining experience. We had 200 guests for the wedding and everyone was praising the food. We had been dealing with a few different people...Brenda, Joanna and then Brendan but I didnt once have to repeat my requests to any of them...they had a fantastic operation in place and I cannot reccommend the Charleville Park Hotel highly enough.
Well Done to all involved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share them here .

Kind regards

Brendan Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    96
    43
    26
    6
See reviews for
129
73
19
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Not quite sure what to say about this hotel. It looks quite impressive both from the outside and inside but there seems to be something missing. The room was very nice and large as was the bathroom with its own shower as well as a bath. However as someone mentioned in an earlier review the room we had was right over the air conditioning outlets so was quite noisy if you opened the windows. We chose not to eat in the restaurant as there was hardly anyone in there so it seemed quite lifeless. We opted for the bar and unfortunately the better looking of the 2 bars was closed both nights we stayed. The bar food to be honest wasn't particularly nice - both of us had seafood chowder as a starter and when it cam up one bowl was completely full and the other half full - clearly they had run out but why not at least even the bowls up? The bar also seemed to lack any sort of atmosphere either. Breakfast was a buffet with a good choice of hot and cold food which in the main was quite nice except the scrambled egg which looked very congealed and black where it had been sitting in the warmer for so long. In all honesty I am not sure if I would recommend this hotel or not - it wasn't bad but at the same time its not great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for posting your detailed review , we will take your feedback on board and discuss it with the management team to ensure it is used to capture any shortfalls in our training plans .

Kind regards

Brendan Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel when attending a wedding recently and overall had a good expierence. The room was brilliant and the variety of food for breakfast really fresh and inviting. The hotel staff where professional and helpful orgainising us a taxi and doing late night food for us.
The wedding food was lovely.
The only down fall i would said was the outside furniture many of the seats where broken and not cleaned- lots of cobwebs and rust.
I would stay here again and we recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review , we are delight to see you enjoyed the wedding and the stay in the hotel.
Thank you also for the feedback on the outdoor furniture. We look forward to welcoming you back again .

Kind regards

Brendan Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

2 star and that is only because the room was new and clean and the staff tried their best.

I wasn't informed of the late checking of 3pm - so that was a bad start.

In the evening there was no room to eat in the bar as half it was closed off for a private event which seemed to involve seven people for the entire evening.

The pork schnitzel took an half an hour to get and looked an tasted like it had been in a cement mixer full of road salt. To add insult to injury I was charged 12.95 (restaurant price) for it instead of the 9.95 as stated on the menu. It took 15 minutes to get a glass of water to the table.

I then had to be out of the room for 12 and was informed I could not use the leisure facilities after that.

Finally, I was out by twelve, but I saw a lot of people locked out of their rooms as the key cards were de-activated at 12pm. I have never seen this practice in ANY hotel I have ever stayed in GLOBALLY. A courtesy knock by the staff is the least that could be expected, especially on a Sunday.

I drove out of Charelville hungry, rather than give another penny to the place.

All in all a terrible stay, overpriced and I will never be back and will never recommend the place to anybody. In fact, I'll warn them off it. Bad management pure and simple as the staff did their best.

Room Tip: Find a B&B nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Firstly, thank you for visiting the Charleville Park Hotel and for taking the time to post your review. The team and I put a tremendous effort in ensuring that all guests enjoy their stay and so as disappointing as it was to receive such negative feedback it is very important to us.
I will try and go some way to explaining and answer some of the comments you have made , but please rest assured I am not trying to excuses or distract from your experience .
• Check in at 3pm would be a standard practice in any busy hotel this time of year , we need to get people out and rooms back and cleaned as fast as we can .
• This goes likewise for the cards stopping at 12 , as check out is at 12 to facilitate the next arrivals the cards have an automatic cut as a security feature
• The bar was booked for a funeral party on Saturday afternoon and they requested a private area , we did open the restaurant to facilitate bar food service for guest displaced by this

Each year after the cycle weekend we meet with the organisers to discuss how the event went , I will certainly be suggesting to them to look at how we can manage the volume better and open improved communication on potential busy period , also I will ask them to looking at reserving some space in the leisure centre for the competitors to use afterwards.

Thank you again for the feedback , we will be using it to ensure other guest do not have the same negative experience.

As per our email exchange I would be more than happy to discuss this further with ,
Kind regards

Brendan Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Staff very friendly. Stayed in Junior suite. These rooms were very large and comfortable. Great for a family. Hotel could put an extra television in the ante room for the children.
Breakfast well worth getting up for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review , delighted to see you enjoyed your stay.
It is always great to hear the positive feedback about the team and the food .
The room you stayed in was an upgraded executive suite ideal for the family and we have earmarked the ante room for a makeover , certainly the additional television would be a great idea.

Thank you for the feedback

Regards

Brendan Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room (double) was superb with tea and coffee making facility available and a very comfortable bed, clean bathroom. Not a great view (room 226) - looking out onto the other buildings, but otherwise, staff very helpful and friendly, room was ready early for me, which was a plus and anything i requested was done straight away.
Downside, the breakfast was just okay, with ready-cooked sausages, rashers, etc under big tureens and looking a bit tired. But when tea or a poached egg was asked for, it came up swiftly.
All told, it was a good experience and I would stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for providing such useful feedback .
Nice to hear the comments about the team

Thanks again we look forward to welcoming you back

Regards

Brendan Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We loved out stay at this hotel. From when we arrived the staff were very friendly. The room was fab. There was great space for us all. The children lovely the family movie night. It was such a treat for us all. The breakfast was great something for us all. The children love the pool and have asked to go back there again. Thumbs up from all of us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan_Comerford, General Manager at Charleville Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review , we are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay.
Great to hear the positive feedback about the team and the bedrooms . The children really do love the movie night , I hope they didn’t eat too much popcorn !!!
Thanks again for the lovely comments , we look forward to welcoming you back

Regards

Brendan Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleville Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleville Park Hotel

Address: Limerick Road, Charleville, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Charleville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charleville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Charleville Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Charleville Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleville Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.