We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud to your Saves list
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Killiyur Falls Road, Yercaud 636 602, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Yercaud
Chennai
1 review
“Liked the Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

The hotel service was excellent and aprt from viewing yercaud most of the time we were in the hotel because the Hotel gave us the Yercaud effect

  • Liked — The Scenaries
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    162
    57
    16
    11
See reviews for
215
134
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Hi,

We've 4 of our friends been there for partying. Nice place with spacious rooms and all facilities attached with. They too guide with local guide to roam-around. Place to stay whoever plans for economic budgeted trip.

Regards

Sakthi

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I had been to Yercaud in 2004 and stayed at a different place. Back then, the Grand Palace hotel was under construction. Somehow they have managed to get the BEST location in town, with a breathtaking view of the valley and the lake. Going back in 2009, I was surprised to see it was still under construction, with only some 10 rooms occupied out of 43. I find from other reviews here that the location and food seem to be the only things worth while.

Yes, the food served is quite good and fairly economical (by city standards, if not by local). Service is a tad slow but the variety is good and the continental fare is comparable to decent hotels in Bangalore.

Not sure if I recommend this place to stay, it looked quite deserted to me. But I definitely recommend a visit here for lunch, while staying elsewhere nearer the lake.

Stayed August 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

It was a off-season break that we decided to land at this new hill station called as the poor man's Ooty! We drove into this quite recommended hotel at not so cold hill town which unlike most hill station has a lake with all the town around it. The Hotel is located at the top of a hill and gives a wonderful view from the lake and it is quite a drive up to reach this place.
The check-in and the transfers were smooth and we took a deluxe room which had a wonderful valley view from it's balcony. The rooms were simple and nothing opulent about them except the price charged for them. The first signs of problems were seen when we ordered for something to eat. Almost nothing on the menu was available except some variations of rice. The room have the clean-up smelled quite foul and there were some problems with the bathroom too.
The Hotel location is also quite a walk from the town area and there is no mode of transportation available. Also, as with many of my fellow travellers it is a fact that over many years the property seems to be still under construction.

  • Liked — The view from the hotel
  • Disliked — The room, lobby and the food
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Suite here. We shelled out around 8400 for 2 nights. It can't be called a suite just by replacing vitrified tiles in a room with Granite????Horrible defn of a suite ....ofcourse it had a bigger balcony but other rooms had a balcony and hanging chair (much better)
Breakfast was served but the service at the table was poor


With construction on, it was a nuisance staying there.

The location of the hotel is good, and may be worth for around Rs1500/night

I would suggest people not visit Yercaud in the first place...Dirty and not beautiful

Suna, Bangalore

Stayed May 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Came across some reviews from 2008 stating this place is still under construction. Could not resist writing the experience I had in this place more than 3 years back. I had stayed here in 2006 and it was still in the same under construction state and had a very horrible experience from everything except food. My vacation was ruined because of this so called 3 star hotel.
Issues faced were 1) I had a confirmed booking made but room was not available when I reached with my 3 yr son and wife. Made us wait without even an apology for 2 hrs. 2) Finally room was allotted which was supposed with Balcony and valley view, but didn't have any balcony. Manager explained that verandah (passage to other rooms) outside my room provides valley view and is taken as balcony and is charged at a premium. I didn't have a choice since all rooms were full and I didn't want to go room hunting with my little son. 3) All through day and night there were loud bangs of construction happening (guess it still continues) and 4) there was dust all over and I picked an allergic cold. 5) Worst of all your complaints will be dealt with a threat that you can pack your bags if you want.
In short my vacation was ruined because of this place

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
651 reviews 651 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
900 helpful votes 900 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

I spent a couple of days in April 2006, the hotel was pretty and confortable even still under construction. Rooms were nice with a private balcony facing the back lawn and overlooking the wondeful view of the valley, Although, the most dramatic view is from the front, cause the hotel is situated on top of the hill that overlooks the lake.
The food was OK and the service also, both could be improved.

I visited again this place on Jan 2008, just for a drink, because of the good memories. What a bad impression I got! The greenish of the lawn vanished, the walls dirty and everywhere an abandonement feeling! It is a pity because the place is fantastic and the small village of Yercaud is developing quickly and needs a good structure down town.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud

Address: Killiyur Falls Road, Yercaud 636 602, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Yercaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Yercaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Palace Hotel and Spa, Yercaud is a hill resort situated in one of the most scenic places in Tamil Nadu offering an enchanting view of Yercaud big lake on one side and the valley of Killiyur falls on the other. It is one of the best hotels in Yercaud hills offering authentic Tamil Nadu Cuisine, and is the nearest hill station to Bangalore and Chennai. Grand Palace Hotel and Spa offers star class accommodation, with excellent facilities. An ultimate destination for a Holiday in the hills, is an ideal weekend and a Romantic getaway. Grand Palace also offers excellent facilities for residential conferences, cocktail dinners, outdoor bonfires overlooking the valley and trekking for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.