We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional behavior” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud to your Saves list
Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Killiyur Falls Road, Yercaud 636 602, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Yercaud
Banaglore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unprofessional behavior”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Unprofessional/unethical behavior - i called up the hotel guys (Karthik) on 21-Jan to book a Deluxe suite for 25-Jan and he said he has taken the booking and will send an confirmation with details of how to transfer booking money to their a/c. Since i didnot receive the email, i called up 4 times until 23-Jan and the guys kept telling that their internet didnot work, but the booking was confirmed (they read out the details from the register) but they never sent me the confirmation email. To my shock, they called me on 24-Jan to say that they cannot give me the deluxe suite since they have given it to a different customer. I told him that i booked the room for some specific reasons and i requested him to arrange for the same (deluxe suite) and the person said he will do it and send a confirmation. Knowing their track record, i didnot want to take a risk, and hence made alternate arrangement ( GRT Sky Rocca). They didnot bother to call back and confirm or inform me. Surprisingly, on 25-jan, around 11 AM they called me to inform that they can give me the room (probably whoever booked the room, cancelled it). This behavior gave me a "cheapo" feeling about this resort. the lack of professionalism on their part makes me think that it would be a bad choice to book this hotel for any family outings. beware of these guys !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    162
    57
    16
    11
See reviews for
215
134
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Grand Place Hotel (GPH) in my opinion is the best hotel in Yercaud. We found GPH very hospitable. It has a great mix of traditional Tamil & Indian hospitality and modern professionalism. Rooms have great views. My favorite are rooms with sunset views. These rooms have views of their lawns, valley, and mountains. GPH has a large lawn where guests can walk, kids can run & play, and the lawns offer great valley and mountain views. Usually in the evening GPH will organize fun activities or a bonfire for the guests. Most guests come down in the evening, socialize and eat in the adjoining restaurant.

In Yercaud you want to go with your family or friends and mostly stay at the resort and chill out, enjoy the views, the spa, and the company. May be sometimes use the activity room to play TT, Foosball, chess etc with your friends.

The hotel has a very pretty swimming pool overlooking the mountains. Check the pictures on their website. I wish it was heated, but you can still swim after 2:00PM. Once we were inside the water we were comfortable. Your pictures here will be absolutely unforgettable.

We liked their restaurant. GPH has a great complimentary buffet breakfast. The staff is friendly and service very good. Also on holidays in our case Makar Sankranti they dress up in traditional clothes, have puja in the lawns and most guest participate in the puja. All in all we had a very enjoyable experience at GPH.

The last 20-30km from Salem to Yercaud is hilly. So it will help to reach Salem early so that you can drive up the mountain in broad daylight. I had to drive from Salem to Yercaud in the dark and did not like it. All in all we had a really great trip and liked GPH and Yercaud.

Room Tip: My sense of their rooms is they have 1) ground floor rooms that open in to the lawn - great for fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalaceHotelSpa, Manager at Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Sir ,

I take this opportunity to thank You for staying with us, and we are delighted to hear that you found our hotel a good place to stay. Our whole Grand Palace team was happy to hear about your positive feedback.

We have shared your feedback with our whole Grand Palace Family and they are very happy.

Your feedback like these will motivate us and help us to do better and better.

Needless to say that you are our most important Guest and we assure you that we will make your stay, as well as your Guest’s stay most memorable & comfortable. Also we are sincerely hoping to see you in Grand Palace Hotel & Spa soon, for a fun filled holiday experience.

Thanking you & again assuring you of our “Par Excellent Services” at all times.

MANIKANDAN.R
RESIDENT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My visit to Yercaud had only two things which I can write about, One is the lake and other is this hotel, the location is amazing with a nice view of the valley and you don't feel like to go any other place to visit once you are checked in.

The Orange restaurant is well maintained with couple of good platters, The Tandoori King;s treat is the one I tried and recommend you to have a try during your stay..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalaceHotelSpa, Manager at Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Sir ,

I take this opportunity to thank You for staying with us, and we are delighted to hear that you found our hotel a good place to stay. Our whole Grand Palace team was happy to hear about your positive feedback.

We have shared your feedback with our whole Grand Palace Family and they are very happy.

Your feedback like these will motivate us and help us to do better and better.

Needless to say that you are our most important Guest and we assure you that we will make your stay, as well as your Guest’s stay most memorable & comfortable. Also we are sincerely hoping to see you in Grand Palace Hotel & Spa soon, for a fun filled holiday experience.

Thanking you & again assuring you of our “Par Excellent Services” at all times.

MANIKANDAN.R
RESIDENT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It is one of the best hotels in this part of the world. Located up on a hill with a wonderful view of the lake its very comfortable . The rooms are nice and clean and the staff courteous. The outdoors are lovely with a garden where they have open seating and options for games to play. The swimming pool looks great but its out in the open and hence ppl are reluctant to use it.

I experienced one of the best North Indian meals in this Hotel. We were very hungry and ordered for Dum Aloo, Dal makahani and a roti basket. Each of the dishes was mind blowing and perhaps would be in the top 5 of the best i had tasted till now. The authentic taste took the meal to the next level.

Its definitely a hotel you should choose when you visit yercaud.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalaceHotelSpa, Manager at Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Sir ,

I take this opportunity to thank You for staying with us, and we are delighted to hear that you found our hotel a good place to stay. Our whole Grand Palace team was happy to hear about your positive feedback.

We have shared your feedback with our whole Grand Palace Family and they are very happy.

Your feedback like these will motivate us and help us to do better and better.

Needless to say that you are our most important Guest and we assure you that we will make your stay, as well as your Guest’s stay most memorable & comfortable. Also we are sincerely hoping to see you in Grand Palace Hotel & Spa soon, for a fun filled holiday experience.

Thanking you & again assuring you of our “Par Excellent Services” at all times.

MANIKANDAN.R
RESIDENT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was at this place for 2 nights between 11th to 13th Jan 2014, we were a family of 5 + my 19 month old son. The place was just awesome, the location is perfect and the hotel is a good place to relax.

Pros:

1. Beautiful location, I presume it is one of the hotels in Yercaud at the very top giving you almost complete view of Yercaud :). Yet very accessible to most of the tourist locations.
2. We were at the sunrise room and man we indeed got to see the golden hue of tje sunrise over the horizon behind the hills from our room. We also get to see part of the lake from the room.
3. Rooms are very clean and ell maintained. In fact the property in itself looked very clean and well beautiful.
4. Very hospitable and friendly staff.
5. Good lawn where my son enjoyed running around and playing.
6. A small but effective entertainment area with foosball, TT, Chess, carrom to while away your time with family and friends.
7. A very good infinity swimming pool.
8. A good spread @ the breakfast table with options of continental and Indian breakfast.
9. Evening socials with bon fire (I guess these are conducted only on weekends, not sure though)
10. A very relaxing garden area with benches place overlooking the mountain ranges, giving you some peace and time to relax.

Cons:
1. Well I have been on a quite a few holidays and make it a point to take a full body massage every holiday. So I took on here too @ the Bliss Spa, it was good but not the best I have had. I think the masseur's can be a lot better.
2. The infinity pool is awesome and very difficult to stay away from, but since it is outside very difficult to get into because of the cold :(. Maybe if the water can be climate controlled (made a bit warmer during winter); would be an added bonus :)

Room Tip: Sunrise room is good and gives you a great view of the Yercaud lake and the city. And of course grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalaceHotelSpa, Manager at Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Sir ,

I take this opportunity to thank You for staying with us, and we are delighted to hear that you found our hotel a good place to stay. Our whole Grand Palace team was happy to hear about your positive feedback.

We have shared your feedback with our whole Grand Palace Family and they are very happy.

Your feedback like these will motivate us and help us to do better and better.

Needless to say that you are our most important Guest and we assure you that we will make your stay, as well as your Guest’s stay most memorable & comfortable. Also we are sincerely hoping to see you in Grand Palace Hotel & Spa soon, for a fun filled holiday experience.

Thanking you & again assuring you of our “Par Excellent Services” at all times.

MANIKANDAN.R
RESIDENT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night. This hotel located on the top of a hill and near to all the major attractions of Yercaud. The lake, botanical garden and waterfall are all within walking distance. they have a nice infinite pool, good spa and the best food in the locality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandPalaceHotelSpa, Manager at Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Sir ,

I take this opportunity to thank You for staying with us, and we are delighted to hear that you found our hotel a good place to stay. Our whole Grand Palace team was happy to hear about your positive feedback.

We have shared your feedback with our whole Grand Palace Family and they are very happy.

Your feedback like these will motivate us and help us to do better and better.

Needless to say that you are our most important Guest and we assure you that we will make your stay, as well as your Guest’s stay most memorable & comfortable. Also we are sincerely hoping to see you in Grand Palace Hotel & Spa soon, for a fun filled holiday experience.

Thanking you & again assuring you of our “Par Excellent Services” at all times.

Manikandan.R
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This Hotel will be delightful when it's finished.
The views are dramatic, the rooms clean, light and airy and the food in the terrace cafe was delicious. Downside - The main restaurant was being refurbished, the bar is not completed and the 'spa, massage and jacuzzi' was still in it's concrete development stage but overall I'd return as it was so peaceful and scenic

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud

Address: Killiyur Falls Road, Yercaud 636 602, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Yercaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Yercaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Palace Hotel and Spa, Yercaud is a hill resort situated in one of the most scenic places in Tamil Nadu offering an enchanting view of Yercaud big lake on one side and the valley of Killiyur falls on the other. It is one of the best hotels in Yercaud hills offering authentic Tamil Nadu Cuisine, and is the nearest hill station to Bangalore and Chennai. Grand Palace Hotel and Spa offers star class accommodation, with excellent facilities. An ultimate destination for a Holiday in the hills, is an ideal weekend and a Romantic getaway. Grand Palace also offers excellent facilities for residential conferences, cocktail dinners, outdoor bonfires overlooking the valley and trekking for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palace Hotel & Spa Yercaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.