We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fab lunchtime experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Falcon Inn

The Falcon Inn
Birmingham Road, Hatton CV357HA, England
01926 484 281
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Falcon Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hatton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“What a fab lunchtime experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband & I decided to visit this venue without a booking and hoped we would be able to enjoy a lunchtime meal without too much fuss.
We were pleasantly surprised to see the look of the venue with the outdoor seating feeling Moroccan and summery.
We were not unhappy with the interior eclectic design also.
I decided to have the scallops with belly pork as a starter. It was a good size and I would have happily had it as a main course with some veg! Tender and delicious...
My Goats cheese risotto was soft & creamy but just too large a portion for me, I had to take some home in a doggy bag!! (The staff didn't mind doing that, which was very kind of them.)
We will definitely return to this venue and maybe make a night of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    44
    9
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“By far the best in the area. Highly Recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend have eaten here regularly when we fancy a treat, and will continue to come back as its by far the best high end pub around for food, family run and miles ahead of any of the "lovely pub" chain (boot, orange tree etc) that have unfortunately took over the local area.
The food and service are always beyond expectations, with a very interesting menu that changes seasonally, always cooked to perfection using british produce, the staff are always genuinely helpful and friendly.
The falcon also have some amazing rooms to rent for the night that we have stayed in three times now, always clean, tidy, and at an affordable rate it cant be beaten.
Keep up the good work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were so lucky to pull over for a dinner! This pub has the most delicious meal which we have had for the last month.
Was slight delay with second drink, but we got a time to enjoy our food and simple but enough original serving.
Highly recommended place to visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Amazing food, outstanding personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

While on vacation, we made a special trip for dinner having heard how good the restaurant is and it more than lived up to its reputation. Chef/ owner, Dean, told us he had some great duck in and was developing a new item for the menu: duck breast with confit of duck, foie gras and orange - we leaped at the chance to try it and left it to Dean to choose starters - and recommend the wine. The four of us shared the seafood and anti pasti sharing platters. Each item better than the next! It is clear that Dean sources the very best of ingredients and uses his deep experience as a master chef to prepare everything to perfection. The cod goujons had the lightest of batter enclosing succulent fresh fish - I bet the cod and chips on the 'mains' menu would be outstanding. The duck lived up to our high expectations - I hope it goes onto the menu. We ate outside in the covered area which was very comfortable and were served by the irrepressible Sam. If the weather hadn't been so good, we would have been happy seated in one of the cosy rooms in the rambling inn, brightened by the work of local artists. Casual lunch, quick bite, family gathering, multi-course dinner - even breakfast - menu items to suit all occasions and none of it boring. i wish it were my local.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.Midlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“2nd chance was well worthwhile.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We ate here before whilst under the old management team and I ranted when we left, poor service, average food and poorly trained staff. Now however I cannot sing their praise enough, great food, excellent service and friendly staff. It goes to show how a smart new management team and a bit of effort pays off and everything changes for the better. The building and facilities have not changed, just the people who run it, say's it all really. Well done Falcon back on my list!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Falcon Inn also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Hunningham, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falcon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.