We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable room in quaint little town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Celtic Ross Hotel to your Saves list
Celtic Ross Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosscarbery | West Cork, Rosscarbery, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very comfortable room in quaint little town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a 2 nights for the price of 1 deal we received through a membership reward/benefits card from our trade union. Check-in was a bit frustrating as reception did not recognise our card even though the hotel group is listed on the group scheme website. The lady on reception insisted that we needed a 'voucher' but eventually she just let it go and got on with the check-in. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. View out the window was lovely and the tea and coffee making facilities good. Bathroom was ok, not the cleanest I've ever been in. A little more attention to detail needed.

We ate in the bar. Both our meals were delicious and the bar had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The Irish fry up breakfast was great also. It was a good idea that we had to go up to the hot plates to choose what we wanted and a chef/waiter served us there but I guess some people might find this an inconvenience. Selection in the buffet was good but better on the second morning with more breads/pastries available.

Location was very scenic and we found it an excellent base for driving to/visiting other places in West Cork. The drive out to Mizen Head was well worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the sea/inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    109
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
115
142
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for one night, the hotel is situated opposite a lagoon and our room was looking out over it, this makes a pleasant change from most hotels where the view is usually of more buildings. The price was reasonable at 90 euro b&b. Rooms are large, clean and newish looking, if i was to find fault it would be that the bed, which on first glance looked like a king size, was actually two beds connected together. I've come across this all over the world and i still find the slight ridge in the middle annoying, maybe i'm just being too fussy. We had dinner in the restaurant (Druids), while the hotel wasn't very busy the restaurant was almost full, so it obviously attracts locals, but to be honest the food was very average, the selection poor ( two fish, chicken, steak and a quiche) though it was relatively cheap at 30 euro per person. Overall, I'd recommend the hotel, friendly and helpful staff, good area close to a good beach (Owenahincha), nice bar (there's a bar menu) but food was a let down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

From a very recent married couple who had there wedding reception here in December 2012. We could not have been happier with the Celtic Ross and Theresa and her team. They offer high quality food and a very friendly and cosy atmosphere. We couldn't find one fault on the day nothing is too much trouble the value of there wedding packages also are unbeatable in west cork. This is a place to check out for any recently engaged couple!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wonderful venue for my daughter's wedding last August. Teresa and the staff were absolutely fantastic, and could not do enough for all of us. The Ceremony was held here too and again, nothing was too much trouble. Reception was fabulous, food was top-quality and we got a great deal on wine corkage. A magical day, and everyone loved it. Teresa was still smiling and serving tea and sandwiches in the Residents bar in the small hours, and the accommodation was excellent. It was also excellent value for money. Book this hotel for your wedding, whether you have a small number like us (65) or large (over 250); you will be delighted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A group of 12 of us stayed in the Celtic Ross on January 19th to celebrate my father's 70th birthday. The hotel was warm, comfortable and very welcoming and there was a lovely fresh smell of paint on arrival! Reception staff were very helpful and pleasant and we had lunch in the bar where the staff were equally as nice and accommodating. We had dinner that night and the ladies that served us were friendly and professional and made a particular fuss of the birthday boy even taking family photos on the nice staircase in reception! The rooms were warm, large and very clean. We would loved to have been able to stay longer. The pool and leisure centre were lovely and well equiped. All the food we got from lunch to dinner to breakfast the following morning was delicious. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay at the Celtic Ross and I would look forward to a return visit. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely and warm & comfortable but a room at the front of the hotel will ensur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Niamh7727,

It was a pleasure looking after your family on your recent visit and birthday celebration party. Delighted to see that everyone enjoyed the weekend, our facilities, our food and service. I have passed on your kind words to all staff, thank you, it was much appreciated.

Take care and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant both nights. Both the staff and the food were lovely. Our room was spacious and had a great view. Lovely pool and bar. The breakfast was very tasty and lots of variety. We will stay again soon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hi amy h

Great to see that you enjoyed our West Cork hospitality and food during your recent break with us. West Cork is such a beautiful place to visit, even in the winter season.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Celtic Ross Hotel last weekend and would recommend a break there to anyone. The setting of the hotel is absolutely gorgeous, looking out our bedroom window at the warren and the variety of wildlife there was fantastic. The staff were so welcoming and helpful, the room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was served until 11am which is a bonus when you're away and a great selection was available. We ate in the bar and the food was fab and inexpensive. Can't wait to go back there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Adam D

Thank you very much for your kind words, they are very much appriciated and I have passed them on to all our staff. delighted you enjoyed your stay and the wild life is great over the winter months, with bird watching right on our door step, and whale watching just off the coast.

Take care

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Celtic Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Ross Hotel

Address: Rosscarbery | West Cork, Rosscarbery, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Ross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located overlooking Rosscarbery Bay, with the historic Cathedral town of Rosscarbery on its doorstep the Celtic Ross Hotel offers very comfortable accommodation and is the ideal base to relax and explore scenic West Cork. West Cork is an area of outstanding beauty and the Celtic Ross Hotel is in the heart of it all. Surrounded by breath-taking countryside and coast, the Hotel is within easy reach of a host of activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Celtic Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtic Ross
Celtic Ross Rosscarbery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Ross Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.