We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late September Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Celtic Ross Hotel to your Saves list
Celtic Ross Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosscarbery | West Cork, Rosscarbery, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Late September Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent location for visiting West Cork . We stayed for two nights with dinner on the first night . Food was excellent. Accomadation was excellent Next door to Warren Strand which is only magical on a fine day and close to Owenahincha Strand which tends to be more windswept . I love the lagoon in Rosscarbery which is about a mile and a half to circumvent....ideal for a morning after jog

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lagoon or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear noel_kenna

Thank you very much for your recent review and I have passed on your kind words to all the team here. Delighted you had a pleasant visit and enjoyed our facilities.
Nothing like Rosscarbery in the early morning for a good jog around the lagoon or a walk out to the Blue Flag Warren Beach.

Take care and hope to see you soon.

Regards
Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    109
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
116
144
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed 14/09 till 17/09 and as in April the service was excellent and we will return in the New Year.
There is a lovely beach and cliff walks with beautiful views if you walk or drive down the two lanes opposite the front of the hotel,also the pubs in the village are very friendly too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi patrick g

Once again, many thanks for your kind work, very much appriciated. Delighted to see you back to us again so soon, and look forward to seeing you in the new year. Do say hello when you are back again, and in the mean time, have a happy Christmas.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stopped off here twice to eat evening meals. Have to say the food and service were excellent. Unlike the Munster Arms in Bandon, which was dreadful. The price was great value to. Lots of local people too,. So, obvious they are doing something right.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi Robby1962

Thanks for your review and delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and enjoyed your food with us. I have passed on your review to all our food service staff and the kitchen team.
Once again, thank you and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This Hotel is outstanding, beautiful views, beautiful food, well mannered staff and so peaceful and relaxing, and a relaxation suite that I would be happy to stay all year round in.....
Had a wonderful time in August, stayed with my hubby and son.
Staff was so kind and helpful, nothing was an issue for them.
Went to the relaxation suite, had a massage and facial 2 hrs long, was i in heaven!!!!
Young girl there doing the massage as the lady in charge there was away at the time, I have been to many massage places, but this was outstanding and so relaxing and I cant remember the girls name, but she will go place I have no doubt.
There is another lovely lady in the restaurant, who is outstanding at her job, she is night manager in the restaurant I think, could not do enough for you and is an asset to any business.. well done to all concerned, I will be coming back, I am counting the days already...

Room Tip: Anywhere with a sea view and near the relaxation suite......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi C O,

Thank you so much for your very kind review, its always pleasing to hear that our guests had a great time, enjoyed our food, service and facilities. Rosscarbery is a great place to get away from it all, and West Cork is a beautiful place to explore.

Take care and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is a dream wedding venue!!

My husband and I were married in a civil ceremony at the Celtic Ross Hotel this August and had our wedding reception in the hotel afterwards. From the first day we contacted the Celtic Ross, the staff were so accommodating, helpful and friendly. They cannot do enough for you, no request is too big or small and they are so cheerful and pleasant; it was a great experience. There are no silly rules about children not being allowed into the wedding reception (as I have seen in other hotels) and they do everything possible to make your day go smoothly. In addition, all of our guests were extremely impressed by the hotel, its facilities, the location but especially the staff. You come to feel as though you've known everyone for years! The general atmosphere is so relaxed and friendly, yet absolutely professional as well.

The bridal suite is HUGE and is a beautiful room with a great view. I (Bride) got ready there on the morning of the wedding and it was a lovely place to do so. Breakfast was sent up the following day complete with a couple of Panadol by the lovely Reception team!!

A particular thank you must go to TERESA MURPHY, the Wedding co-ordinator - a wonderful, kind, warm person who takes a genuine interest in you and makes you feel as though you are the only wedding she has ever helped to organise.

We will be delighted to return to the Celtic Ross on our first wedding anniversary and again, thank you so much for all you did for us!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi susie_maria86,

Thank you very much for your very kind words and delighted that you had a fantastic wedding day with us, Teresa is great and takes so much interest in our wedding couples, ensuring everyone had a day that they will cherish for many years to come.
I have passed on your review to all the team here.

Thanking you and take care.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We past by this hotel last year & decided to book a stay for 2012. The hotel is spotlessly clean & the furnishings & decor are welcoming, well maintained and very comfortable. Our room for 2 adults and a 10 & 8 year old was spacious, clean but basic. We also had a lovely view. The staff at reception were very helpful and welcoming. The atmosphere in the hotel is vibrant with busy but not overcrowded bar & lounge areas. We decided to eat in the bar. The food was really lovely but the service poor & there was a lengthy delay in our food order because a mix up in the kitchen. We were given complementary irish coffees as an apology. Unfortunately as went went to bed the wedding disco that our room was directly above began. There were no other suitable rooms for us to move to so not much sleep was had until after 3pm. We complained the next morning & we were compensated for our disturbance. I do feel we were unlucky with our experience & would very much like to return next year.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room.away from weddings!!! Dont assume weddings are on a weekend...we stayed Thursda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi secondhoneymooners10,

Thank you for your review and we take on board your comments. Apologies for the mix up on your order which resulted in service delays to you and for the noise late that night. Good to see that our team looked after you on the accounts end and hopefully we will see you again next year, do feel free to contact me prior to booking and I will ensure a pleasant and peacefull stay on your next visit.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed in the Celtic Ross with my husband and two children aged 2 and 6. Overall we enjoyed our trip because our boys were happy and there was plenty of things for them to do locally. However, there were a few things we were not happy about. Firstly, the room we stayed in on the third floor had a window that opened out fully so that someone could actually climb out or fall out. Our 2 year old was able to open this window and could have potentially fallen out had he not been supervised. Equally someone under the influence could have done the same. We feel that management should look at the windows as even windows in a domestic house have to meet seemingly stricter regulations.

We found the service in the bar and restaurant to be unbearably slow and inefficient. It took ages for food to arrive and this is not good when you have small hungry children. We had all our meals at the hotel and Im basing my criticism on our experience at EVERy meal apart from breakfast which was self service. We obviously enjoyed the food when it actually arrived.

Also there was an issue with overcharging. For example I paid for tea and snacks for friends who were also having lunch at the bar and this tea and snacks appeared on their bill also. The waitress sorted it out however we encountered this sort of thing a number of times.

My husband did not like the fry served for breakfast. He felt that the sausages were too spicy and that you should be serving Clonakilty puddings.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Celtic Ross but the local amenities definitely influenced this but we feel the hotel needs improvement.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCRH, General Manager at Celtic Ross Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi sheilaoco,

Thank you for your review and we take on board your comments. there were occasions in the peak season when we were extremely busy and we would have preferred that service would have been much smoother, however, delighted that you enjoyed our food, as quality is a top priority with us.
On the window front, even in domestic dwellings, you can only have window locks on the ground floor and not on higher floors, a window is also an emergency exit. All our upper floor public area windows have restrictors on them for safety.

Regards

Christopher Byrnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Celtic Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Ross Hotel

Address: Rosscarbery | West Cork, Rosscarbery, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Rosscarbery
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosscarbery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Ross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located overlooking Rosscarbery Bay, with the historic Cathedral town of Rosscarbery on its doorstep the Celtic Ross Hotel offers very comfortable accommodation and is the ideal base to relax and explore scenic West Cork. West Cork is an area of outstanding beauty and the Celtic Ross Hotel is in the heart of it all. Surrounded by breath-taking countryside and coast, the Hotel is within easy reach of a host of activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Celtic Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtic Ross
Celtic Ross Rosscarbery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Ross Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.