We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit was simply amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Whitehouse European Village and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandals Whitehouse European Village and Spa to your Saves list
Sandals Whitehouse European Village and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Westmoreland | Savanna La Mar, White House 5000, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Second visit was simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It's taken me way to long to post this review and to rave about how much we love this resort.

My husband and I debated between several Sandals resorts and ultimately decided to go back to Whitehouse. While it’s one of the larger properties we’ve been too, it was also one of the best. We were absolutely thrilled that we returned and I cannot say enough about all the changes that they’ve made recently and how amazing the staff is at this resort. We were there celebrating our anniversary and they made sure that we had a special week and a special evening on our anniversary.
I won’t go into great detail about the specifics. I echo so many of the comments here on Trip Advisor. The food is good and there’s a huge selection of places to eat. The beach and the entire resort is beautiful and well maintained, the service is outstanding and the staff is by far, the best of any resort we’ve ever stayed. There are a ton of options at this resort which is one of the reasons that we went back – tons to eat, drink, lots of activities, 3 pools, and overall just a wonderful place to lose yourself.
Several years ago Mr. G took over as the general manager of the resort and we noticed a marked difference from our last visit. He is around ever y day, helping out his staff, talking to folks staying at the resort, and you can tell how much he cares and how much he works with the staff there to make your visit exactly what you want.
Updates - They added some new fire pits around the piazza which is wonderful, lots of extra seating for the evenings and outdoor activities. The Jerk Pit is on the beach and serves delicious jerk chicken and pork during the day. Some of the rooms have been updated in the French village and they are going to add a pub in 2014 we were told during our visit which we have enjoyed at other Sandals locations so we were happy to hear that they would be adding another venue to the resort.
This place is special. The staff are simply amazing. The management at this resort are special and we were beyond impressed. In the past, we had been invited to the manager’s returning guest dinner and hadn’t attended. This year, we decided to go as it was on our last night and we wanted to attend so we could tell the managers how much we had loved every minute of our time during our week stay. It was a super fun evening – if you have a chance and are returning guests who are invited, go! It’s a great time. There were over 150 people at this dinner, which just shows you how many people love Sandals and how special this place really is. We were able to dine with Monica, one of the managers and it was such a fun evening, getting to know her and other couples who have been to Sandals multiple times. There were so many other folks that had been to Whitehouse before – and we all agreed that it’s our home away from home.
Things to definitely do during the week – the Beach Party, White Night, see the steel drum band on Saturday night (they are SO talented and it’s a lot of fun), and make a trip to the Martini bar. Fletcher, Romeo and the other guys will take good care of you. Most fun we’ve had in a long time hanging out with them.
From the moment we got there, until Mr. G and a large group of staff sang to us as we were getting ready to board the bus to the airport and leave, it was simply amazing. I cannot say enough about the wonderful people that work at this resort who work extremely hard to make sure you are having a wonderful vacation. A special thank you our concierge Clive for the special treats on our anniversary and for just checking in all week to see how we were. We felt endlessly blessed and spoiled, it was a perfect week. We cannot wait to go back! Kudos to the staff, management and extraordinary people who work here!! You touched our hearts and we have a very special place in our hearts for each of you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,096
    948
    289
    130
    58
See reviews for
98
3,591
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was a wonderful experience for a wedding. I should have asked for handicap accomodations for my husband and mom, as it was difficult for them to walk from the French Village to the restaurants. They moved us to the Italian Village, and that worked out better.

The wedding was better than I imagined. Incredibly touching, personal, meaningful, I was really surprised by how personal it felt to our family. Very hot, very humid, for sure.

They had a hard time working with us as a group that was not 2 couples. Rooms were wrong, and flight transfers were off, but we got them straightened out. I guess it is more of a couples' resort, and that's ok, too.


Glass bottom boat tour failed twice, as they had one engine out, and the next day they told us that we needed to come back at 9:00 in the morning to see anything.

I'm excited to see the photos. It was fantastic to have all the wedding details handled for us.

Amy at Beach Bum Vacations was attentive and detailed. Questions were addressed quickly and respectfully. That was really important, as I get anxious about travel details, especially international travel. :-)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon. We chose to do the club level and we were so pleasantly surprised how personal the concierge staff made our experience. We especially enjoyed Kenoi and how much he would go out of his way for us. Every staff member was very friendly! The other guest would also greet you as you walked by. The pool bar was very fun and we loved the bartenders. The room was also nice. The food was great and we had tons of choices. With club level you also got room service which came in handy. My husband was in a wheelchair and it was VERY accessible for him. He would go anywhere and this is rare from what we have seen on other non sandal resorts.

Room Tip: Club level was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHIGAN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed a week and had the time of our lives Sandals is above and beyond other resorts and worth ever dollar spent our butlers Patrick and Julie were sensational the food was excellent the couples massage was amazing room service 24/7 the only down fall the drive it seemed to take forever but A+ ♡♡♡♡

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buff Bay, Portland, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I must say the stay was amazing, the bed was very cozy and the staff...omg....the food was off the hook and the ocean front view was just WOW!!!!!!!! A STAY TO DIE FOR!!!!!!!! I would recommend it over and over again!!!!!!!!!!! wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the front are cozy...well those are the ones that i slept in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just returned from our stay 7/14 - 7/19, and it was amazing!! Yes, it is a little out of the way, and the trip is bumpy, but as a result it feels like you are in an untouched tropical paradise. My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and we loved it!

The grounds are very well maintained and there is a casual elegance throughout the entire resort. Most of the staff is very friendly and we had a chance to get to know a few staff members during our stay. We met Takashi over by our favorite hangout, the French Pool swim-up bar. She made the BEST cocktails (don't forget to ask for her signature drink the Aquamarine! YUM!) and was just one of the nicest people we met there. Fletcher over at the martini bar was also one of our favorite staff members and he makes an awesome chocolate martini.

We always received great service throughout the resort. Sometimes things were busy and wait times were longer, but it doesn't matter--you are on vacation! Relax and just enjoy the scenery--it's beautiful!

Food: Overall it was very good, and there seemed to be something for everyone. The Italian Wood-Fired Pizza place was our first stop after arriving, as we wanted a snack and it was a weird time of day (4:00 pm), so few other food options were open. It was delicious, and they even allow you to order take-out pizza, so you can bring it to the pool, beach, your room--wherever!

I also highly recommend the French Restaurant and Bluefield's -- where you can eat outside overlooking the ocean. Also, portions are often a little smaller than we were used to at home--usually it was the perfect amount, but don't be afraid to double your order if you have a big appetite.

Our room was the perfect size and I really liked that there were tile floors--easier to clean in terms of any sand our shoes accumulated on the beaches. Also, we appreciated the fridge that was stocked with water and juice every day. We did not have a concierge level room but it seems like all guests will get this regardless. We were in the Dutch village and this seems like the quietest area of the resort.

The only annoying thing that happened was regarding the complimentary honeymoon package we requested. We had our travel agent send in a copy of our invitation as proof that we were on our honeymoon, but by day 3 we still had not received our in room champagne and breakfast in bed. I called the front desk and they had no record of our request, but they immediately rectified the situation and we received the package's perks the next day.

The other couples at the resort were fantastic and we made some new friends throughout our stay. It seemed like the resort was going through a "slow time" and was not at full capacity--which was to our benefit because we received more exclusive service and it never felt too crowded.

We definitely recommend this for anyone young on their honeymoon or for an anniversary trip. We hope to visit again in the future!!! Thank you Sandals!

Room Tip: Request the Dutch Village for a room that is in a quiet area, yet centrally located and near to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at Whitehouse for our honeymoon in June 2014. I read a lot of reviews about resort before we left and I will say that most of them are spot on. The drive there from the airport is long but not a big deal. The grounds of the resort are absolutely beautiful. They do a great job of keeping the resort maintained at the highest level. The food is good and the pools are great. I read from a few reviews that tipping is suggested to get faster service particularly at the bars. This is untrue. The service at the resort is top notch! (When we first got there we were offered a fresh coconut and he told us that he would he would take care of us everyday with one if we took care of him. That was only instance where it was insinuated that tipping was expected for better service)
The only thing that prevents this resort from getting an excellent rating is the beach and ocean. The beach itself is ok. It is fairly narrow but overall its ok. The water is not very clear and in most places it is fairly rocky. Also, the big patches of seaweed on the floor of the ocean kinda suck. I am guessing that there is nothing that the resort can do about them but they are definitely an eyesore and they aren't pleasant to walk on.
This was our first experience with an all inclusive resort and overall it was great.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Whitehouse European Village and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Whitehouse European Village and Spa

Address: Westmoreland | Savanna La Mar, White House 5000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Whitehouse European Village and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe.Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now.World Travel Awards:Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company”, 16 years in a row.Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row.Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort”Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No.4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Whitehouse European Village and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Whitehouse European Village and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.