We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected stay, an unexpected delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palmeral Dorima

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio Claro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Palmeral Dorima
Save
You added Hotel Palmeral Dorima to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   San Ramon de Rio Claro, Rio Claro 8200, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rio Claro B&B and Inns
Rotterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An unexpected stay, an unexpected delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We weren't planning to travel to the Golfito area but we ended up having to look for a last-minute hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the spacious and cosily decorated rooms, the pool with the excellent view, and most of all by the excellent food! We couldn't stop ordering, and truth be told we did little else there than swim around, stare into the distance from the pool and stuff our faces. We took a lovely day to recharge and the kind and sweet owners provided us with anything we could wish for! This hotel's premises is a jewel within the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Very pleasant stay. We enjoyed every corner of the hotel, the owners are great, so does the hotel view. You are woken up by birds and the nature background. Its a piece of heaven in the middle of the mountain.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We traveled down to Rio Claro to visit the family that my brother lived with during his 2 year stay in the country. To be honest, we didn't expect much from a hotel in that area (having been there before). We were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up to this hotel. The grounds were amazingly beautiful with great views of the town below. The hotel sits on the side of a mountain with trails guided by beautiful plants and flowers. Some of them were numbered so if you took the book with you, you could find out the name and their uses. Along the path is a ping pong table (which our kids loved) and dart board. The pool was so refreshing after a hot day in the sun. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. The rooms were simple but comfortable and the a/c was a must. I don't think I would have survived without the a/c! My only complaints were finding lizard droppings every time we entered the room (although it does add to the character of the place and didn't really bother me) and our door would not stay shut without it being locked. There is no real doorknob and our door liked to stay open so we had to keep it locked at all times. This was kind of a pain with kids because they couldn't just run out to see their cousins and come back in without us having to be at the door to unlock and lock it. We also had a hard time getting hot water at night but in the morning it was fine. These negatives really didn't detract from the beauty and hospitality of the place. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. It was nice to stay at a place run by the owners whom you know put their heart into it.

Room Tip: Request a/c (until they have it in all units) and a room at the top of the hill if you plan on using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I would like to express how great our stay at the hotel Palmeral Dorima was, when we arrive at night Macho was waiting for us to show us the rooms, the rooms are very spacious, king size bed plus a single bed, high ceilings, a mini fridge and enough room for your baggage.
Next morning Doris was up waiting for us to offer a healthy and tasteful breakfast, the children enjoy the pool, the sun and the table games.
Doris and Manfred are so nice; this lovely couple will make you feel at home, you can tell they have put so much love and care in their lodge and they take care of the little details that will make your stay a pleasant experience. Hospitality was wonderful!!
Doris is a great chef, good food, always healthy and with her personal touch and Manfred is very friendly and helpful, we enjoyed so much talking with him.
The hotel is located closed to the Costa Rica – Panama border so is a great place to stay if you are traveling to Panama or if you want to go shopping at the free duty locals.
The hotel offers a fresh pool with a wonderful view of the primary and secondary forest , natural trails to visit the Palma plantation, great for bird watching, Jacuzzi, nice bungalows, good for nature lovers, families, couples and people who appreciate the finest customer service.
I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel for anyone planning on visiting the south Pacific and will certainly visit again next time we are in that part of the country.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merzig
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

When we were at the Palmeral in March, they had temperatures from over 30C for weeks. It was extremely hot and dry, so we were shocked to find out that the rooms did not have air condition. There are rooms with AC at the Palmeral but although we were the only guests with a group of 14, we didn´t get the air conditioned ones. There was no chance of sleep that night. I agree with the other travellers, that Doris and Wolfgang are doing a great job. Their German speaking helper Max is a real jewel. Food was very good and I recommend to take the guided walk with ax through the palm oil plantation - excellent and informative. All in all, the stay was ok, not more because of lacking sleep. At the end of this year, the owners want to equip all rooms with air cons- unfortunately too late for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmeraldorima, Inhaber at Hotel Palmeral Dorima, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your comment. Regarding your stay, I have to add that your travel agency booked the rooms for the group without A/C but with ventilator. Upon request and for an extra charge we offered several clients to change the room, but we had only six rooms with A/C in this period not more. At the end of the year all the rooms will be equipped with A/C so will be good prepared for the next hot dry season that we never had so hot in last 15 years. Sunny greetings from the Tropics, Doris & Manfred Wilms, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The only thing we found wrong with Hotel Palmeral Dorima was that we had to leave. We were pleasantly pampered by our gracious hosts, Doris and Manfred, who know the exact formula for creating an ideal vacation - sparkling clean, comfortable and modern rooms, an exceptional personally created cuisine, a peaceful environment that attracts some of Costa Rica's most colorful birds and hands-on attention to detail.

When we vacationed there in November it was our second visit and we are planning to return again in July 2011. Doris and Manfred have a unique quality for making each person feel like a life-long friend. Returning in July will be just like going home.

Hotel Palmeral Dorima features private, villa-like rooms that are comfortable, surrounded by flora and fauna each with an exceptional view. The beds are oversized and the spacious rooms have a dining table, mini-refrigerator, separate shower and toilet facilities and a safe for your valuables. The dining area is bright, open and airy and is the perfect place to bird watch while dining on Doris' Euro-style cooking. The pool and hot tub are intricately designed with blue and yellow mosaic tiles and overlook a heavily forested valley. Once you enter into the gates at the top of the mountain on which Palmeral Dorima is perched, you have entered into a world of tranquility and friendliness where your every need is anticipated.
We will return often to Hotel Palmeral Dorima and we recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palmeral Dorima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmeral Dorima

Address: San Ramon de Rio Claro, Rio Claro 8200, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Rio Claro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rio Claro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palmeral Dorima 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, under German management, is located in the south of Costa Rica's, at only 1.5 Km distance from the "Panamerican Highway" and all year round accessible by car. The fantastic panorama view location of the hotel at the ascent to the "umbrella hill" at the old road between Rio Claro and San Vito and close to Piedras Blancas National Park, offers all amenities to our guests. The harmoniously colored installation, integrated into a tropical garden, a paradise for birdwatcher, has sixteen roomy housing units in eight individual bungalows. This small village at 20.000 M2 although includes a special for our hotel designed pool and whirlpool with waterfall. Tropical ambience will find our guests at the rancho style restaurant where they can enjoy our homemade specialties like bread, ice-cream, hot sauce and a great variety of tropical meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Palmeral Dorima Costa Rica/Rio Claro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palmeral Dorima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.