We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Art deco HUGE cottages - outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages at Tarraleah

Save Saved
You added Cottages at Tarraleah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottages at Tarraleah
Tarraleah, Tasmania, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Art deco HUGE cottages - outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Tarraleah is half way en route to the East coast and is a cute little village that I think used to be a farm. The Cottages are not really cottages but really houses with very pretty bedrooms and large living rooms plus a kitchen. It was hot when we arrived so we used the aircon but there is also a real fire and heated blankets for winter. We stayed four nights and explored the region with some great shots of the bush and the lakes. Pub food was very good - there is also a cafe but we didn't use it as it shut before we cam back each day. Cottage was very clean and probably the largest cottage we have ever stayed in. Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

We were directed to Tarraleah by a very helpful concierge from the Henry Jones Art Hotel after a mistake visit to Strahan Village.

The town has a picture postcard look straight from the 1950's, it is hard to imagine that the town was once home to 1,400 people working on the hydroelectric station.

Given our escape from Strahan Village it was late evening when we arrived and we wasted time checking into our room so missed dinner (entirely our own fault). The bar was welcoming and the staff extremely friendly.

We stayed in Cottage No 9 which was fantastic - recently renovated and impeccably clean.

This would be an ideal place to hike (or be all nature-y and outdoorsy) great views and a massive home to come back to.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

The Lonely planet dosn't do this place justice and it's clear from talking with the staff that a lot has happened since my book was printed.

First impression is a bit odd. You turn of the Lyle Highway and the access road runs along two massive hydro electrics pipes . We really started to wonder what was ahead. Actually you turn a corner and there is a remarkably colourful and neat village.

There is a 5 start Lodge which we didn’t go to but stayed in one of the cottages. Cottage isn’t really the right description. These are spacious 3 bedroom 1930 houses. Ours was really well restored. With polished wooden floors, and lots of original bits of furniture,


Reception was in the Village centre and could be better signed but we found our way easily enough. The girl who met us( I can't rember her name) was exceptionally helpful with advice through out our stay and she did ask us to write this to some feedback given the resort is new. I would not normally do this but given they where so helpful I am doing it now.

What else. There is a little pub called the Highlander. Very atmospheric and we enjoyed some locally brewed beer that was on a hand pump.

Couldn’t fault the accommodation. It’s a step back in time. Really nice bathroom and Kitchen which always go down well with us.

Feeding the Highland cows was fun. They sell you a back of nuts in the shop but a bit of bread seemed to do the same thing and you can save your self 2 bucks .There are a couple of big fellow with some serious horns to watch out for. My camera was full of photos of them.

I think it was on eof the best places we stayed in Tasmania. Not least it was rather a surprise.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Tarraleah is a cute little village, basically just tourist accomodation with a shop and pub/cafe. It makes a very good place to stop between Hobart and Strahan as the drive is quite arduous.

Our cottage was in great shape and had some lovely furniture, very good for self catering, which is as well as you'll likely be better off doing so as the options for food nearby are very limited. There was room for 6 adults at a pinch (3 bedrooms) and for the cost per night excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

After reading and getting some positive feedback about the Cottages @ Tarraleah, my family and some friends decided to drive from Launceston to spend a nite there. Tarraleah should be a stop-over stay when you travel between Hobart & Queenstown or Strahan. It is a nice stop for the long and hellish drive. However Tarraleah is not realy an ideal destination cos you would be very dissapointed! As mentioned in one of the reviews, it looks like a ghost town, esp in winter.

1. We stayed in a 3 bedroom cottage for $190 per nite. The cottage is beautiful and clean, with electric and wood heating. We stayed in Cottage 13 which did not have a clothes dryer and one of the room does not have a heater. Our friends' cottage 14 was better equipped.
2. We loved the highland cows (yak). Though we did not get to feed them but it was fun getting close when one of them came next to the fence. Lots of animals' poo but did not spot a single wombat even in the evening, maybe it was too cold?
3. The guide by the name of Hans was really friendly and helpful.
4. There was a really pathetic pond which they called lake right in the estate. Really small "lake".
THE TERRIBLE END!
When we arrived, we paid in full in cash upon check in. The counter staff who received our cash told us that we will only receive the receipt upon check out. When we check out the next morning, the staff on duty told us in an unfriendly manner that she would be deducting the full rate from our credit card which we've used for reservation. She just plainly explained that there was no record of our full cash payment. First her colleague was incompetent, and next you get another staff who is clueless about customer service. She was plain rude! She said that the staff who collected our $$$ was uncontactable and so was the accountant. Well to cut the long story short, they're still trying to sort things out. Thank God the chamber maid was our witness as she saw us make our payment.
I do like the cottage very much, not so for the village and 2 thumbs down for the office staff!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarraleah, public relations manager at Cottages at Tarraleah, responded to this review, October 16, 2009
We take our guests concerns very seriously and regret any inconvenience caused during this incident, which has now been resolved. We are very pelased that you enjoyed the cottages and Hans' great story about the Tasmanian Tiger sighting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cottages at Tarraleah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Tarraleah

Address: Tarraleah, Tasmania, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Tarraleah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Tarraleah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Cottages at Tarraleah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Tarraleah Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages at Tarraleah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.