We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Guesthouse-even better restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Toscanini

Save Saved
You added Locanda Toscanini to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Toscanini
Piazza ArturoToscanini, 3, 53040 Cetona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Cetona B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice Guesthouse-even better restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We have just returned from a stay at the Locanda Toscanini, located in the idyllic countryside of the Tuscan countryside. The locanda is located in the pretty village of Piazze, about a ten minute drive from the towns of Cetona and Chiusi. We stayed at the locanda as we were attending a friend's wedding nearby. I emailed the locanda several times before we stayed with various requests, we were arriving by train so needed picking up at the station. The staff at the Locanda Toscanini were always prompt in their replies and very efficient, offering a range of services from pick up to drop off, excursions and wine tastings at a winery in the village which we visited and has a range of excellent local red and white wines. We were met at the station, dropped off there when we left and also given a lift to Cetona for the wedding, so they delivered on their arrangements. The locanda is very comfortable, with an honour bar, lounge and comfortable rooms with a/c, tasteful furnishings and plenty of space, although the housekeeping was average, under the bed was very dusty and I had no bulb in my bedside light for my stay but these are small complaints and not exactly something that ruined our stay. The staff are very attentive and keen for you to enjoy your stay and do a good job of not being intrusive. There is a member of staff on hand during the day but no one in the evenings. The village is a little bit out of the way so if I returned I would drive there, it is near the main Florence-Rome motorway and an easy place to explore Tuscany and Umbria from. The breakfast was a bit sweet for my taste, there is cheese, meats, cereals and bread, but most of the breakfast choices are based on cakes. The best thing about the Locanda Toscanini is that it is next door to the Ristorante Toscanini. The restaurant is run by Sergio and his wife Patrizia. I have travelled extensively in Italy, from San Remo to Naples, Venice to Rome, and without a shadow of a doubt this is the best restaurant I have eaten in in Italy. From the antipasti to dessert, Sergio will expertly deliver dish after dish of sumptuous fayre. Sergio is also an expert in wine and will recommend the best bottle to go with your choices and has facinating anecdote aftre anecdote to entertain you should desire. I still dream about the two times I ate there and I am usually hard to please when it comes to restaurants. Absolutely first class food and service. Stay at the locanda- just so you can eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We loved our stay at Locanda Toscanini. The hotel is beautifully decorated down to the smallest detail. It's comfortable, and the staff, Linda and Kristina, were friendly and helpful. Piazze is a small town but very neat, clean, and cared for and in a beautiful valley. We ate at the adjacent excellent, new Ristorante Toscanini, where the owners treated us with special attention. The hotel is in a great location in southern Tuscany, accessible to the more-traveled tourist centers of Montepulciano and Pienza, but closer to the undiscovered Tuscany of Cetona, Sarteano, and San Casciano dei Bagni.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton,NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

We spend two nights at the charming and perfectly run Locanda Toscanini.
It was a joy to be there. An old mill transformed into a small hotel, the Locanda provided a wonderful base for exploring southern Tuscany and Umbria. Piazze is a sweet village; Montepulciano is only about 40 minutes away. Our room and bath were beautifully decorated, quiet, clean and oh so comfortable. The welcoming fruit basket was a nice treat.. The remarkable Christina took care of all of our questions (especially since we arrived on a national holiday) and made a terrific breakfast. Owner Courtney Walsh, who wasn't on hand during our stay, made a point of calling to greet us personally by phone. This is the type place where the guest feels that everything is being done for her/him to have an ideal stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

This is a beautiful locanda, recently renovated by Courtney and Michele that is perfectly located for exploring southern Tuscany, or like us to get away from Rome for a weekend and enjoy a stroll across the rolling Tuscan hills.

From the minute we arrived at this small, cozy, quiet and charming 9-room locanda, we were greeted as friends and shown around - the sitting room, gym, meeting room and up to our suite that overlooked the main square of the little village of Piazze. Having two young children we felt this was the most convenient set-up; adjacent rooms are also available for families with older children. The rooms are all beautifully decorated with antiques and family heirlooms.

We were also able to enjoy their exceptional on-site restaurant, conveniently placed “just around the corner”. More modern in style it has a very tempting seasonal menu and extensive wine list.

Breakfast the next morning was wonderful - set in a bright room with a wide selection of cereals, yoghurt, and delicious freshly baked cakes, homemade jams and crostate.

They have extensive suggestions regarding local festivals & activities (from the local spas to pottery workshops) as well as where to go for some special gift or culinary experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

The newly renovated, 17th century Locanda in the village of Piazze,is perfectly placed for exploring the idyllic villages & countryside of Southern Tuscany.
The Locanda has been beautifully restored by Courtney & Michele & has a very inviting feel as soon as you enter.
The rooms are large & tastefully decorated, with excellent bathrooms.
The downstairs living room surrounded by Toscanini memorabilia is perfect for relaxing, reading or aperitifs.
Breakfast, lovingly made by the charming Katerina is also a highlight here - with a great choice of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, scrambled eggs & freshly baked cakes & homemade jams.
Overall this is a perfect choice to experience a corner of the Tuscan countryside in a most pleasurable way.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

On our first trip to Italy, we (family of four, with two teenagers) covered a lot of ground in three weeks--but our four day stay at Locanda Toscanini was by far the highlight. An upscale but not uppity bed-and-breakfast--clean, cozy and charming. Courtney and her great staff treated us like family, and Katerina's breakfasts were a delight. We found Locanda offered the perfect respite from frenetic Rome--perched in the historic village of Piazze in Siena, and surrounded by the gentle rolling Tuscan hills and the beckoning nearby towns of Cetona, Montepulciano and San Casciano dei Bagni. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Forget your run of the mill farmhouse B&B in Tuscany, Locanda Toscanini delightfully combines charm with a touch of history. The composer Arturo Toscanini used to stay here in the 30s (you can even wash your hands in the sink in which he used to wash his dishes!).

Located in the main square of the tiny village of Piazze, the inn's owners are an Italo-American couple who are the warmest of hosts - and obviously bilingual. Architect Michele is the genius behind this beautifully restored locanda and it is his grandmother's recipe that the staff follow meticulously to bake the mouthwatering crostate (jam pies) that preside over the copious breakfast buffet.

Everyone here is extremely friendly and the living room even has a basketful of children's toys and games. A touch I really appreciated in the room next door was the Honor Bar, something I had never seen before and which I hope to start seeing in other places as well.

As for the rooms, they are spacious and all have a personal touch: ours had a large Louis Vuitton trunk that is a family heirloom from the American side. Last but not least, our bathroom had a great giant tub in it; ideal for our daughter to splash about in and scrub off the remains of an invigorating day out in the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda Toscanini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Toscanini

Address: Piazza ArturoToscanini, 3, 53040 Cetona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Cetona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cetona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Toscanini in Southern Chianti (Tuscany) is the recently renovated historic inn where the famous conductor Arturo Toscanini sojourned in the 1930s. The historic home and its former olive mill (now a restaurant) is located in the rural village of Piazze, just outside the charming medieval town of Cetona in the Siena (Tuscany) region, near the thermal baths of San Casciano dei Bagni and the world-famous Fonteverde Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Locanda Toscanini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Toscanini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.