We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in southern Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Toscanini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Toscanini to your Saves list
Locanda Toscanini
Piazza ArturoToscanini, 3, 53040 Cetona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Cetona B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in southern Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We loved our stay at Locanda Toscanini. The hotel is beautifully decorated down to the smallest detail. It's comfortable, and the staff, Linda and Kristina, were friendly and helpful. Piazze is a small town but very neat, clean, and cared for and in a beautiful valley. We ate at the adjacent excellent, new Ristorante Toscanini, where the owners treated us with special attention. The hotel is in a great location in southern Tuscany, accessible to the more-traveled tourist centers of Montepulciano and Pienza, but closer to the undiscovered Tuscany of Cetona, Sarteano, and San Casciano dei Bagni.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Princeton,NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

We spend two nights at the charming and perfectly run Locanda Toscanini.
It was a joy to be there. An old mill transformed into a small hotel, the Locanda provided a wonderful base for exploring southern Tuscany and Umbria. Piazze is a sweet village; Montepulciano is only about 40 minutes away. Our room and bath were beautifully decorated, quiet, clean and oh so comfortable. The welcoming fruit basket was a nice treat.. The remarkable Christina took care of all of our questions (especially since we arrived on a national holiday) and made a terrific breakfast. Owner Courtney Walsh, who wasn't on hand during our stay, made a point of calling to greet us personally by phone. This is the type place where the guest feels that everything is being done for her/him to have an ideal stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wantabeinrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

This is a beautiful locanda, recently renovated by Courtney and Michele that is perfectly located for exploring southern Tuscany, or like us to get away from Rome for a weekend and enjoy a stroll across the rolling Tuscan hills.

From the minute we arrived at this small, cozy, quiet and charming 9-room locanda, we were greeted as friends and shown around - the sitting room, gym, meeting room and up to our suite that overlooked the main square of the little village of Piazze. Having two young children we felt this was the most convenient set-up; adjacent rooms are also available for families with older children. The rooms are all beautifully decorated with antiques and family heirlooms.

We were also able to enjoy their exceptional on-site restaurant, conveniently placed “just around the corner”. More modern in style it has a very tempting seasonal menu and extensive wine list.

Breakfast the next morning was wonderful - set in a bright room with a wide selection of cereals, yoghurt, and delicious freshly baked cakes, homemade jams and crostate.

They have extensive suggestions regarding local festivals & activities (from the local spas to pottery workshops) as well as where to go for some special gift or culinary experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex09Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

The newly renovated, 17th century Locanda in the village of Piazze,is perfectly placed for exploring the idyllic villages & countryside of Southern Tuscany.
The Locanda has been beautifully restored by Courtney & Michele & has a very inviting feel as soon as you enter.
The rooms are large & tastefully decorated, with excellent bathrooms.
The downstairs living room surrounded by Toscanini memorabilia is perfect for relaxing, reading or aperitifs.
Breakfast, lovingly made by the charming Katerina is also a highlight here - with a great choice of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, scrambled eggs & freshly baked cakes & homemade jams.
Overall this is a perfect choice to experience a corner of the Tuscan countryside in a most pleasurable way.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

On our first trip to Italy, we (family of four, with two teenagers) covered a lot of ground in three weeks--but our four day stay at Locanda Toscanini was by far the highlight. An upscale but not uppity bed-and-breakfast--clean, cozy and charming. Courtney and her great staff treated us like family, and Katerina's breakfasts were a delight. We found Locanda offered the perfect respite from frenetic Rome--perched in the historic village of Piazze in Siena, and surrounded by the gentle rolling Tuscan hills and the beckoning nearby towns of Cetona, Montepulciano and San Casciano dei Bagni. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Forget your run of the mill farmhouse B&B in Tuscany, Locanda Toscanini delightfully combines charm with a touch of history. The composer Arturo Toscanini used to stay here in the 30s (you can even wash your hands in the sink in which he used to wash his dishes!).

Located in the main square of the tiny village of Piazze, the inn's owners are an Italo-American couple who are the warmest of hosts - and obviously bilingual. Architect Michele is the genius behind this beautifully restored locanda and it is his grandmother's recipe that the staff follow meticulously to bake the mouthwatering crostate (jam pies) that preside over the copious breakfast buffet.

Everyone here is extremely friendly and the living room even has a basketful of children's toys and games. A touch I really appreciated in the room next door was the Honor Bar, something I had never seen before and which I hope to start seeing in other places as well.

As for the rooms, they are spacious and all have a personal touch: ours had a large Louis Vuitton trunk that is a family heirloom from the American side. Last but not least, our bathroom had a great giant tub in it; ideal for our daughter to splash about in and scrub off the remains of an invigorating day out in the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

My husband and I spent a long weekend recently at Locanda Toscanini and found each and every aspect of our stay top notch. We were pleasantly surprised to find Piazze to be a gem of a small Tuscan town in the middle of rolling hills, olive trees and vineyards. Easy driving to Montalcino and Montepulciano to taste wonderful Tuscan red wines then back to Piazze for one of the best meals we have had in Italy at "Ex-Frantoio" the restaurant attached to the B&B. Don't miss the fantastic pasta with seafood. On our second day we biked for a few hours off the beaten path through a trail on a nearby hill and ended up having a lovely lunch in San Casciano dei Bagni where we hope to return in cooler weather for the thermal baths. Every morning at the B&B was a joy -- a beautiful sun-filled kitchen/dining room awaits you with homemade treats: bread, cake, fresh fruit, jams. This special touch goes a long way after our numerous vacations at Italian B&Bs that serve the same old cornetti (breakfast pastry) and cappuccino. We loved our room at the Locanda Toscanini -- I could hardly believe that the window had screens (partically unheard of in Italy). Regardless of the fact that the B&B was full during our stay, we did not hear a sound within the house - rooms are well-insulated to give guests a peaceful stay. We cannot wait to share with family and friends our little slice of heaven in Southern Tuscany - Locanda Toscanini where there's history, charm, and warm hospitality.

  • Liked — rooms, location, breakfast, view
  • Disliked — not enough parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerooRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cetona
4.0 mi away
La Locanda Di Cetona
La Locanda Di Cetona
#1 of 1 in Cetona
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Perugina
Hotel Perugina
#6 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa
Fonteverde Tuscan Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Santa Chiara
3.3 mi away
Sette Querce
Sette Querce
#2 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
4.8 mi away
B&B Podere Lamaccia
B&B Podere Lamaccia
#3 of 4 in Cetona
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Toscanini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Toscanini

Address: Piazza ArturoToscanini, 3, 53040 Cetona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Cetona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cetona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Toscanini in Southern Chianti (Tuscany) is the recently renovated historic inn where the famous conductor Arturo Toscanini sojourned in the 1930s. The historic home and its former olive mill (now a restaurant) is located in the rural village of Piazze, just outside the charming medieval town of Cetona in the Siena (Tuscany) region, near the thermal baths of San Casciano dei Bagni and the world-famous Fonteverde Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Locanda Toscanini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing