We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good week skiing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Sonnleitn

Pension Sonnleitn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Sonnleitn to your Saves list
Pension Sonnleitn
Jenig 38 | Jenig, Sonnenalpe Nassfeld, Hermagor 9631, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good week skiing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed for a week skiing in February 2013. The Pension is clean and has a cosy atmosphere. The hosts are friendly and accommodating and have good knowledge of the area and the skiing area which they were only too happy to advise you on. On arrival your ski pass is ready and details of the skiing is explained to you. You are given a sheet with details of bus numbers/times/bus stops etc which was useful to carry around with you. On the first morning the host, Craig came down to the ski hire shop and we were given our kit with no hiccups or queues. At the end of the week we paid Craig for all the lessons/kit. The food within the chalet was on the whole good and i never heard anyone out of the party complain, the food was generally well presented and catered for most tastes. The area of Nassfeld is an area which i had never heard of and there are few reviews of the area. The snow was good and we had 2 days of fresh snow. The pistes are mainly red (intermediates) and i thought they were generally quite difficult reds in places compared to what i had previously encountered. There were a couple of blue runs but for a beginner you would not be able to manage some of the red runsby the end of the week unless you were a fast learner. There were few queues for the ski lifts which were effiicient. The area is quiet in general and not for a party animal. There are few Brits in the area and most of the other skiers were from Croatia/Slovenia. The transfer from Salzburg was about 2.5 hours. Overall, a good week skiing and good accommodation in a quiet resort.

Room Tip: some rooms had a bath, some did not, request a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed with family and friends at Easter. Craig and Katharine were excellent hosts, arranging everything from lift passes to ski hire and accompanying us to the shop on the first day. This is an extremely comfortable and relaxing place to stay and the needs of all are considered - a special thank you from my son Isaac to Fliss, for showing him the ropes in the kitchen and dining room. Also, special thanks to Katharine for accommodating my fussy eating.

The rooms are clean, comfortable ( great mattresses) and the showers are always warm with a good flow.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have a lovely view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I've just returned from a week at Pension Sonnleitn in Nassfeld, and thought it only right to warn other travellers of what to expect if they stay here.

You couldn't ask for nicer hosts; Craig and Katherine (and their staff, Fliss and Paul) were always on hand to help us out, whether it was organising ski/board hire and having our lift passes ready when we arrived, sorting our transfers, giving us tips for the mountains, being patient when members of our party returned for dinner late and drunk, you name it, they did it with a smile. We were served a delicious homecooked 3-course meal every night, with copious wine on the table, and breakfasts were continental meats and cheeses, as well as cereals, fruits and yoghurts. We never went hungry and some of our group have hollow legs!

The chalet is a short (2/4min) walk from where the bus collects/drops off, and the journey time to the bottom gondola station is less than ten minutes. Between 8am and 9.30am there are around 6 buses, so if you miss one, it's never too long. But miss the 9.30 and it's an hour to the next one... Also, returning from the ski lifts to the chalet meant either getting one of the buses (last one was 5.20) or getting a taxi, not bad if you can fill it (roughly 12euros) but perhaps less so if you’re a smaller group.

The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable; across our party of 12, we had singles, doubles (Austrian type, one large bed with two single mattresses) and a 3 person apartment, all of a good standard. Downstairs there is a ski/boot room, games room, a lounge, a sauna and ping pong table, if you've got the energy after a day on the snow.

As a resort, Nassfeld’s slogan is “Nice Surprise” – meaning that it’s a bit of a hidden gem. It’s quite quiet in terms of après-ski (although we did our best to bring the party) but we ended each day in the Barrenhutte, (opposite the Cube hostel at the bottom of the mountain) with beer, jaegermeister and gluhwein, before heading back to the chalet.

In summary, despite it being a quietish resort, we all had a great time. There was decent snow, and a variety of runs, mostly reds, as well as some nice gimmicks like photo points, and a timed and filmed slalom run. I would definitely recommend the resort, and definitely Pension Sonnleitn to anyone who was planning a trip away, the prices were reasonable everywhere, and everywhere we were greeted with traditional Austrian hospitality and smiles. I wish I was back there now.

Room Tip: the twin rooms (across all of Austria) are effectively double beds but with split mattresses - only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Craig and Katharine gave a very warm and friendly welcome. Craig was chatty and helpful and Katharine's cooking was delicious. The hotel was roomy and the decor tasteful. Our hosts were very laid back and it helped create the relaxed atmosphere we were looking for. Craig also helped organise the ski hire and passes which made everything easy and run smoothly. The Nassfeld skiing area was very enjoyable and everyday was different. A very enjoyable holiday! For those looking for a big nightlife this isn't the area, but for those appreciative of beautiful views and unwinding its perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Recently a large group of us (19 in total) went on a skiing trip to Nassfeld and stayed at the Pension Sonnleitn hotel/chalet. The chalet is run by a truly lovely couple Craig and Catherine who couldnt have been nicer or more helpful. The chalet is located a short bus trip (8 mins or so) from the bottom station of Nassfeld, which is the only slight downside. But to be honest, they do so much to make your trip enjoyable and stress-free that you could never say it was a criticism.

To start with the chalet is catered and the food is great. Very diverse and you can tell that a lot of effort has gone in to source great ingredients and to be original and well-presented. When you arrive, it is made clear that everything is on a tab by room, so you dont have to worry about costs and always having your wallet on you. The first morning of skiing was a breeze because Craig had pre-booked all of our equipment so we just showed up and our skis and boards were layed out with our names on them. Craig also handled payment which again is just charged to your room. The skiing is great and the bars and restaurants dotted around the slopes are full of people having a great time. No pretentiousness.

Back at the chalet, there is plenty of entertainment - tvs, wifi, dvds, video games, table tennis, table football and a lovely sauna for relaxing in. Also Craig and Catherine were able to answer any question about good restaurants on the mountain, or forecasts, or miscellaneous questions. I forgot to exchange money and Craig and Catherine also managed that for me.

Really, all in all, I cannot speak highly enough for this lovely hotel and its incredibly kind and helpful proprietors. The resort is also lovely, very modern in terms of its facilities, although perhaps a bit small for the more advanced skiing. If you are thinking of going to Nassfeld, make sure you stay at this hotel! Whether you are a big group or not.

Room Tip: Enjoy the food and make sandwiches for the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This was an exceptionally inexpensive half term ski holiday - so much so that we didn't have high expectations before we arrived. How wrong we were! The chalet/hotel was extremely clean and well maintained, the rooms were large and the beds comfortable, and the food and wine was plentiful and of good quality. The children ate earlier than us, with more child friendly menus, and we had tasty Austrian/Italian style food which whilst not fancy, was wholesome and just what was needed after a day on the slopes. The owners, Craig and Katherine really made us feel welcome, going out of their way to help us (even driving us to see another local chalet to book for next year, as they are already fully booked for half term!) and providing an excellent all round service. The ski area was great - lots of runs, and interesting extras such as a videoed and timed slalom and a speed gun to show your speed. The prices on the mountain were about 2/3 of the price of French resorts, too. The only slight down side we found was the rather infrequent ski bus service at the end of the day - but a small inconvenience in an overall great holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Just returned from a family ski holiday at Pension Sonnleitn, Nassfeld, where we had a wonderful time. Accommodation was clean & comfortable, with lovely 'home cooked' food from Katharine, including cakes & tea/coffee apres ski, and free wine with our evening meals! Katherine went to great lengths to accommodate our dietary requirements as well - thanks again.
Craig was the ideal host & arranged our airport transfers, ski lessons, equipment hire, passes and even booked a local restaurant for us on his Wednesday night off cooking/hosting duties!
The ski bus leaves on a regular basis from the bottom of the drive & takes no more than about 10 minutes to get to the bottom of the cable car station.
Nassfeld ski area is mainly made up of red runs so isn't really ideal for beginners.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Sonnleitn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sonnleitn

Address: Jenig 38 | Jenig, Sonnenalpe Nassfeld, Hermagor 9631, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Hermagor > Sonnenalpe Nassfeld
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sonnenalpe Nassfeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Sonnleitn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Sonnleitn Hotel Nassfeld

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Sonnleitn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.