We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time in Pension Sonnleitn & Nassfeld” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Sonnleitn

Pension Sonnleitn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Sonnleitn to your Saves list
Pension Sonnleitn
Jenig 38 | Jenig, Sonnenalpe Nassfeld, Hermagor 9631, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
London
1 review
“Excellent time in Pension Sonnleitn & Nassfeld”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Recently a large group of us (19 in total) went on a skiing trip to Nassfeld and stayed at the Pension Sonnleitn hotel/chalet. The chalet is run by a truly lovely couple Craig and Catherine who couldnt have been nicer or more helpful. The chalet is located a short bus trip (8 mins or so) from the bottom station of Nassfeld, which is the only slight downside. But to be honest, they do so much to make your trip enjoyable and stress-free that you could never say it was a criticism.

To start with the chalet is catered and the food is great. Very diverse and you can tell that a lot of effort has gone in to source great ingredients and to be original and well-presented. When you arrive, it is made clear that everything is on a tab by room, so you dont have to worry about costs and always having your wallet on you. The first morning of skiing was a breeze because Craig had pre-booked all of our equipment so we just showed up and our skis and boards were layed out with our names on them. Craig also handled payment which again is just charged to your room. The skiing is great and the bars and restaurants dotted around the slopes are full of people having a great time. No pretentiousness.

Back at the chalet, there is plenty of entertainment - tvs, wifi, dvds, video games, table tennis, table football and a lovely sauna for relaxing in. Also Craig and Catherine were able to answer any question about good restaurants on the mountain, or forecasts, or miscellaneous questions. I forgot to exchange money and Craig and Catherine also managed that for me.

Really, all in all, I cannot speak highly enough for this lovely hotel and its incredibly kind and helpful proprietors. The resort is also lovely, very modern in terms of its facilities, although perhaps a bit small for the more advanced skiing. If you are thinking of going to Nassfeld, make sure you stay at this hotel! Whether you are a big group or not.

Room Tip: Enjoy the food and make sandwiches for the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This was an exceptionally inexpensive half term ski holiday - so much so that we didn't have high expectations before we arrived. How wrong we were! The chalet/hotel was extremely clean and well maintained, the rooms were large and the beds comfortable, and the food and wine was plentiful and of good quality. The children ate earlier than us, with more child friendly menus, and we had tasty Austrian/Italian style food which whilst not fancy, was wholesome and just what was needed after a day on the slopes. The owners, Craig and Katherine really made us feel welcome, going out of their way to help us (even driving us to see another local chalet to book for next year, as they are already fully booked for half term!) and providing an excellent all round service. The ski area was great - lots of runs, and interesting extras such as a videoed and timed slalom and a speed gun to show your speed. The prices on the mountain were about 2/3 of the price of French resorts, too. The only slight down side we found was the rather infrequent ski bus service at the end of the day - but a small inconvenience in an overall great holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Just returned from a family ski holiday at Pension Sonnleitn, Nassfeld, where we had a wonderful time. Accommodation was clean & comfortable, with lovely 'home cooked' food from Katharine, including cakes & tea/coffee apres ski, and free wine with our evening meals! Katherine went to great lengths to accommodate our dietary requirements as well - thanks again.
Craig was the ideal host & arranged our airport transfers, ski lessons, equipment hire, passes and even booked a local restaurant for us on his Wednesday night off cooking/hosting duties!
The ski bus leaves on a regular basis from the bottom of the drive & takes no more than about 10 minutes to get to the bottom of the cable car station.
Nassfeld ski area is mainly made up of red runs so isn't really ideal for beginners.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I have just returned from 2 weeks in Nassfeld. and the Pension Sonnleitn was the ideal place to base myself for my trip.

The rooms have everything you need and the hotel/chalet (it's a bit of both) has a lovely little sitting room for chilling in, a table tennis table room, separate kids/games room (table football, playstation etc) and a lovely sauna which was fantastic for my aching muscles at the end of the day.

The main social space during my trip was however the dining room. The evening meals were fantastic home cooked food which was perfect for a ski holiday and the service was excellent. Craig and Katherine who run the chalet are fantastic hosts and make a fantastic double act. They have clearly put a huge amount of work into creating a wonderful holiday experience.

On a practical note the chalet is an easy 5 min trip on the free ski bus to the main gondola station. There is wireless internet within the chalet. Ski boot drying room and ski storage room are also in the building.

If you are looking for a comfy home from home I would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We had the perfect ski vacation there.
We did not expect much because the price there was quite low.
It turned out that the place is really neat. The rooms have everything you need + a sunny balcony.
We had a half board vacation and every day we looked forward to the delicious dinner always served on time.
The hosts, Catherine and Craig are really friendly and have a great sense of humour - we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed January 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

i love this place. our hosts, katharine and craig, were great and make our stay magic. nestled in amongst the mountains, it's a great wee find: a real hidden gem. we loved our stay. the rooms are clean and the beds really comfy. the food was excellent, particularly with a great vegetarian option!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

I stayed here on a last minute solo trip, arranged through a forum with 3 others who I had never met before. The area is so lovely and the skiing was brilliant. I would definitely recommend getting there before this place becomes massively popular with british tourists.

The "pension" its self was very nice, clean well kept. But the highlight were Craig and Katharine, the owners. Absolutely brilliant, helpful, knowledgeable of the area and very kind to me when I had a slight fall which put me out of action for the second half of the week. I would definitely recommend them to anyone who is looking for a very well priced ski holiday.

The village they are, Jenig, in is small with not much going on, but either a short bus or taxi journey into the nearer bigger towns.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Sonnleitn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sonnleitn

Address: Jenig 38 | Jenig, Sonnenalpe Nassfeld, Hermagor 9631, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Hermagor > Sonnenalpe Nassfeld
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sonnenalpe Nassfeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Sonnleitn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Sonnleitn Hotel Nassfeld

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Sonnleitn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.