We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand and lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mas Passamaner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mas Passamaner to your Saves list
Mas Passamaner
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cami De La Serra 52, 43470 La Selva del Camp, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Grand and lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We read the poor reviews of this hotel on TA only when we were en-route to the hotel with no chance of being able to cancel. Unusually we hadn´t consulted TA and had just booked. So we headed there slightly worried we would have a terrible night. But it was lovely. The staff couldn´t have been friendlier. They went out of their way to accommodate food demands from our 2 year old daughter and had a much better all day menu than most hotels we have encountered in Spain. There were a couple of annoying things such as items mentioned in the hotel guide that didn´t exist including baby listening but luckily our monitor reached to the restaurant and we had a superb meal there. The waiter was absolutely delightful. During the day we had the wonderful pool to ourselves. The jasmine around the pool was spectacularly sweet smelling and made for a fabulous experience. Our room as lovely - yes there was a bit of peeling paint but nothing very notciable (I only noticed because i was looking for it due to other reviews). We were overlooking the restaurant and I could hear a little bit of music late at night but it was actually quite pleasant. And a junior suite for 190E a night including a very delcious breakfast, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a child travelling with you and want a separate room for them (rather than have them sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    25
    19
    14
See reviews for
21
84
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We chose the hotel due to its membership of Small Luxury Hotels Group - and must question whether anyone from SLH has checked the hotel recently. At some stage a few years ago, someone spent a huge amount of money fixing up the old hotel, building a luxury spa and modern self, contained suites. Unfortunately they stopped spending any money and now the whole property is ramshackle and run down. It is quite sad to see expensive rooms with water damage on the ceilings, showers that are falling apart, corroded fittings and walls that desperately need painting.

The staff were friendly enough, and although we seemed to be the only people eating, breakfast was slow, disorganized and just average. The spa experience was included in our tarrif and was very good - although the facility has clearly seen better days. Unless you speak Catalan or Spanish be prepared to struggle with communication. Attempts to order an iron and ironing board were completely unsuccessful.

If you do choose to stay at Mas Passamaner, be aware that Google maps and our car GPS both took us to an area of olive groves and old houses some 3km from the actual location of the hotel. We tried to ring the hotel for directions - only to be told to call back at 4pm when the lady who spoke english would be back!

Mas Passamaner is located in an set of olive groves, but surrounded by a grimy industrial region. It is a 20 minute drive from the local beach resorts.

Overall, Mas Passamner is expensive for the quality and does not come close to being a 'small, luxury hotel'. The SLH group really needs to reconsider whether it should be referring its members to this property.

Room Tip: We were given an upgrade - appreciated although we were the only people staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed here one night in January 2010,en route from Cologne to Essaouira in Morocco,with our Labrador dog(whoever tried to travel through Spain with a dog knows it is not easy to find accomodation).
We found Mas Passamaner in Via Michelin and in Tripadvisor;the hotel website was not great,but interesting.As it turned out,the web appearance of this hotel and restaurant is a great undersell-the reality is miles ahead.We found friendly,discreet,helpful and courteous staff,anticipating needs in a thoughtful and non-intrusive way.The location in a very rural area(hazel nut groves)is good for walks(with or without dog),and provides a good antidote to a day on the Autovia.
The hotel is made up of an old manor house,with modern extensions housing spa,hotel rooms and restaurant.The extensions vary in their exterior appearance-restaurant and spa are rather spectacular,while the hotel parts could perhaps be described as timid.
As for interiors,everything in this establishment is spectacular,in an elegant,lovable and
natural way-think Bauhaus,Arts and Crafts,Art Deco and Spanish Jugend(Gaudi and Puig) with a very contemporary and personal interpretation.Beautiful marbles,granites,woods,leathers,textiles,colours-and always functional as well as stylish.
Add to this a great menu-our supper was very,very good,including an ecclectic and relevant wine list with reasonable prices-what more can you wish for?We slept
well in very comfortable beds with first class linen and pillows.
Waking up,showering with a view over the hazel nut groves(the shover had a window!)
we enjoyed the best breakfast we've ever had in Spain(where this particular meal normally is at best uninteresting,at worst painful)-a litre jug of fresh orange juice,a huge plate of jamon iberico,another one with various sausages as well as a third one with freshly cut kiwi,melon,pear and apple.And the bread was great too,and the coffee fragrant, creamy and strong(we enjoyed the coffee in the library,which thoughtfully is a smoking area).We highly recommend Mas Passamaner,and congratulate with thanks the owner who created this haven of understated good taste.
D&C Goeransson

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

This hotel is a classic example of where paying a 5 star price doesn't guarantee a 5 star experience. We stayed there for 3 nights and yes, while the hotel and the location were beautiful, the lack of attention to detail at this 5 star hotel was a major problem for us. We were very disappointed and we felt that the price we paid was way too high for the service we received. Our romantic getaway was spoilt by overpricing,a disappointing spa experience, average food, several screaming children belonging to other guests running around the place and another guest's barking beagle.
The staff were on the whole pleasant but seemed overworked and permanently stressed. The 'vibes' they gave off didn't somehow fit in with the 'relaxing' atmosphere the hotel seems to want to promote.
The room we stayed in was comfortable. However, the radio didn't work and on the last day of our stay with one more night left ( after the room had been cleaned) the chambermaid only left us with 2 bathtowels - no hand towels.
Bicycles are loaned to guests. We booked ours the day before but when we went to pick up the bikes the following day, my one was more of a child's bike ( unsuitable as I'm 1m 75) + my partner's was also very small ( he's 1m 90). The bikes were old and neither the handlebars nor the saddle could be raised as the screws were too rusty. We asked for others but told that these were the only 2 they had. Bye bye bike ride! A potentially attractive service but we weren't able to make use of it.
The spa circuit is one of the features of the hotel. It was small and Ok for about 4 people to use at the same time. A booking service exists.There's a list of regulations re: using spa. One of the regulations being that children under 16 are not allowed to use it. Our first day was pleasant in the spa as there was only another couple using it. However,on the second day (when we had a previous booking) there were two under 5's splashing and playing in the spa at the same time we had our booking. I complained about this but got absolutely no joy - Why bother having 'regulations'? In the end we decided to forgo our spa package and went to play a game of padel. By the way,the courts for both tennis and padel were concrete and therefore hard. Be careful with knees and backs!! The 'gym' was tiny and claustrophobic.
The food in the restaurant was average - expensive though for what you actually get. We ate there on 2 nights.The best thing was the breakfast which was plentiful except on our last day. There was 1 employee who was serving, topping up the buffet service, attending guests in the breakfast room for about 25 people - naturally he couldn't cope - he was very very nice though. We asked for fried eggs and bacon(something which we had had the previous days) but told that it would take about 40 minutes! Apparently the cook hadn't arrived yet ( this was at 9.45 a.m) and he ( the employee) was alone. Meanwhile, the food stocks in the buffet breakfast were fast disappearing and not being replenished. We were hard pushed to find anything to eat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Selva del Camp hotels

Isle of Wight UK
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We booked an offer through Small Luxury Hotels of the world which included an overnight stay, use of the Spa facilities and a tasting menu, with wines, for the final night treat of our holiday.

The hotel is in a pretty rural spot, but only about 10 minutes drive from Reus airport, perfect for our return flight home.

The main building is quite stunning and extremely stylish – it has been beautifully furnished throughout. The pool area is very nice, but is showing signs of attention required, such as the shower by the pool, which had a rotten wooden base, with some serious splinters/broken wood – not good on bare feet. Having booked a deal we didn’t mind, but if we had paid the rack rate of 190 euros for a standard double, room only (breakfast extra) for a night, it might have been a different matter. The pool was extremely cold, even in 32 degrees, at the end of the season – why is this always so?!

Our room in one of the outer modern buildings was stylish, with a chic bathroom and very nice products, and smart sun loungers on our patio area. However, the patio area was in need of serious tidying – fallen and broken slates from the building, lots of leaves, overgrown plants and an army of ants outside our French windows! End of season perhaps?

Do be aware this is a very popular venue for local families to have long, loud, lazy lunches! We were enjoying the peace and tranquillity of the pool area on the day of our arrival when about 25 locals came for a boozy, long lunch – whilst we really like the sound of people enjoying themselves, the noise level from their drinks party by the pool was unbelievable and not quite the relaxing experience we were hoping for! However, this finished after about 1.5 hours when they went indoors for lunch and it was tranquil again.

We really enjoyed the spa facilities, as part of our offer, for an hour early evening, which was a lovely experience – small, but very smart pool, hydrotherapy, steam rooms, sauna etc.

However, our main reason for visiting this hotel was for the restaurant, which absolutely did not disappoint. Our experience was amazing and possibly the best meal we have ever had, which is quite a statement!

Having booked an offer, we wondered if we might receive a lesser standard of food/wine/portion sizes/service, which was certainly not the case. The food was incredible, with the most amazing professional, warm service and food which was exquisite.

Breakfast the following morning was served in the restaurant and was delicious – a fantastic selection of choices and we completely overindulged!

For us, the hotel offered 4/5, but the restaurant was most definitely 5/5 – we’d go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

This is one of the more unique properties I have ever visited. The hotel is set in an olive grove about 20 minutes driving from Tarragona. We had a suite in the main house--the sitting room had a daybed, a dining table and chairs and a balcony and fireplace. The bedroom had two sinks, a shower stall with teak flooring, a large brass bathtub and a Bang and Olufsen flat-screen TV. The room was very spacious and clean, though the bed was quite hard and the sheeting relatively uncomfortable.

The property also boasts a fancy restaurant, two tennis courts and a fairly large spa with indoor pool area. We had breakfast at the restaurant, and it was quite good, but did not take any other meals there. We also did not use the spa. The pool area at the hotel is beautiful, with an ample number of sun loungers and nice landscaping.

Service here is a little odd, as staff appear and disappear out of nowhere. Their English is very limited, so speaking a little Spanish certainly helps. Once we got over the uniqueness of the property, we really enjoyed it. It feels like you are staying at an eccentric person's private property and we found it very relaxing. One or two nights is certainly enough, but for a place to take a break and lounge by the pool in a highly designed and unqiue setting, this property fills the bill.

The immediate surrounding area doesn't have that much to offer and there are in the distance several unsightly factories, but these can only be glimpsed from the road leading to the hotel, not from the property itself.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

The Hotel Mas Passamaner is a moderniste home designed by catalan architect, Domenech i Muntaner. Each room is dedicated to and decorated in the style of a well know Spanish architect. We stayed in Suite 101, dedicated to architect de Josep Maria Jujol i Giber. It was comprised of a comfortable sitting room with large lounge, spacious table, flat screen TV and ceramic fireplace. A large balcony gave off the sitting room with a view over the almond, hazelnut and olive orchards (and the refinery!). The bedroom was spacious, replete with a four-footed bathtub, show, WC with bidet and two sinks.

The restaurant, La Gigantea, was excellent. Chef Joaquim Koerper melds Catalan and French cooking to produce a unique and varied menu. We ate at the restaurant twice. Nothing was repeated.

The staff was attentive and professional. We had a problem with our first room and were efficiently moved to another suite. The staff was helpful with directions, reservations and recommendation.

There are bicycles available, or one can just walk along the orchards. The spa is wholly acceptable if not great.

There is a great deal of road construction between the hotel and Tarragona. It is a bit of a chore navigating to Tarragona, but well worth the effort to visit the Roman ruins.

A trip to El Vandrell, the birthplace of Pablo Casal and to his villa in nearby San Salvador is very worth the 45-minute trip on the roadway.

  • Liked — Hotel and surroundings
  • Disliked — Road construction between hotel and Tarragona; oil refinery on the horizon
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mas Passamaner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Passamaner

Address: Cami De La Serra 52, 43470 La Selva del Camp, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > La Selva del Camp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in La Selva del Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mas Passamaner 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mas Passamaner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas Passamaner Hotel
Mas Passamaner La Selva Del Camp, Spain - Costa Dorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas Passamaner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.