We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote but rewarding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EcoMuseo del Cacao

EcoMuseo del Cacao
Km 20, Route Puuc, Ticul, Mexico
045 99 91 21 88 39
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Ticul
Type: Educational Sites, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Ven a descubrir en un lugar maravilloso y fuera de lo comun, la misteriosa historia del cacao y su intima relacion con la cultura maya. Estamos ubicados entre los sitios arqueologicos de Xlapak y de Labna en el Km 20 de la Ruta Puuc, a la entrada de una plantacion de Cacao, la Plantacion Tikul
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Remote but rewarding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This museum is remotely located on Ruta Puuc and is worth a visit if you are already in the area. It's close to several Mayan sites that can be combined in one trip. The museum covers the cultivation, history and uses of cacao by Mayan and western cultures. Exhibits are arranged in huts with paths and lush vegetation in between. Don't miss the demonstration hut where you will get a chance to see how chocolate drink is prepared in traditional Mayan style from cacao beans and sample hot chocolate. Museum grounds are well maintained with numerous labeled plants throughout and several animal enclosures. They also have a gift store with cacao and chocolate items and small restaurant with children playground.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    32
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved Chocolate bars with coffee beans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It is worth seeing and try to eat a bar of chocolate with coffee beans. You can visit this museum after going to Uxmal or Kabah. Just be aware that they close early - check out their schedules on their webpage http://www.ecomuseodelcacao.com/horarios/

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hot cocoa minus the sangre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is the first cocoa plantation in about 500 years in the Yucatan due to plant disease and other problems with cocoa here but as a new concept and museum, it was one of our favorite to visit in our two months' stay in the Yucatan! IT was extremely well put together with displays in both English and Spanish as well as Mayan in many places. You can Adopt a Cocoa tree for 20 pesos just to plant for someone and help them resuscitate the cocoa cultivation in the state. We saw recreations of traditional mayan houses, a mayan garden complete with live plants, very well labelled, and even a mayan grave site within the house, where an ancestor would have been respectfully buried. We were treated to a demonstration of how a traditional mayan recipe for cocoa would have been made, with local spices including choice of vanilla, cinnamon, hot pepper and honey. They did not offer blood, (tg) which would have sometimes made its way into a ceremonial mayan cup of hot cocoa after a human sacrifice. The museum seems to have been sponsored in part at least by a belgian chocolate wholesaler company which I understood has similar or sister museums in Belgium, Paris and Prague- not sure where in Belgium. Would be fun to make our way to those during the next European trip to see if any provide the European historical perspective on chocolate consumption there as opposed to the Mayan grower perspective as was presented here. Well worth renting a car and going. Give yourself 2-3 hours and combine with a trip to a local ruin site if possible. There also seemed to be a small but rather pricey coffee shop at the end of the tour but didn't see much in the way of food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent stop along the Ruta Puuc - Good place to eat too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed 4 night in the Ruta Puuc area. Visited the Plantation Tikul Ecomuseo del Cacao. It was an interesting visit. We caught a "Mayan" ceremony they do a couple of times a day that was actually a bit mesmerizing. I have no idea how authentic it was. The Ecomuseo is owned by a young Belgium that is associated with a large Belgium Chocolate maker. Makes sense. I hear it might move closer to Uxmal in the future because they can't get the tour buses to make the stop. Nice not having tour buses but they have to make a living I guess.

Notable is their restaurant. There are not a lot of choices in the area so if you are staying a few day they will let you in to the restaurant without paying the entry to the Museum. We went on the first visit - but then came back a couple of days later when we were visiting the several ruins along the Ruta Puuc. Not a lot of choices but the sandwiches we had were surprisingly good. They have sodas and beer too. And they sell gourmet chocolate and they serve SAMPLES - Yum, Yum.

P.S. Nice bathrooms too

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than cacao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Probably is one of the best visits, is more than cacao, this museum will show you the mayand life style, history, traditions, something else than the arquelogical places don't show you

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EcoMuseo del Cacao also viewed

 

Been to EcoMuseo del Cacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EcoMuseo del Cacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.