We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice night away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abbey Hall, Clane, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Clane
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice night away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed in the Esmond suite which was beautiful, really relaxing and very cosy, little his and hers dressing gowns and slippers waiting on on us when we arrived which was very fancy.
Had dinner in the restaurant that evening which was nice and good value.
Breakfast in bed was gorgeous really enjoyed it, went for a swim before we left but didn't stay in it long as the pool was cold.
Defiantly would go back and recommend the Westgrove Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your night away at the Westgrove Hotel and managed to stay in one of our 5 Suites. I am glad you found the restaurant to your liking and thought it was good value for money which is so important especially at present. Your comment on our pool has been noted and will be discussed with our Leisure Club Team.
Once again thank you for taking the time and I hope you return to us soon again to experience all that Co Kildare has to offer. You must try our Spa Haven on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    122
    76
    41
    40
See reviews for
122
161
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very poor for a supposed four star hotel. We stayed here last night in room 229 for valentines day and left this morning very disappointed. The only way you would know it was valentines day was by the single red rose placed on the table otherwise the restaurant was not decorated for the occasion. The food was just about average but the biggest problem was the very long delay getting it out to the customer it took an hour and a half to get our mains brought out and only after I complained. After dinner there was no music to entertain customers who came out to enjoy valentines. I'm writing this review to warn people who might consider this hotel for valentines next year to give it a wide berth it was the worst night out we have ever had for valentines.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay in the Westgrove Hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and it did not live up to your expectations. Our Valentines Menu crafted by John Carolan our Head Chef was a seven course meal including a glass of Prosecco offering excellent value for money at €39.00 per person.
Kind Regards,
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clane hotels

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed in the Westgrove 25th Jan a Friday & Saturday night- Booked the spa package with dinner.

Arrived down late Friday evening and checked into our room- which was very basic and the tempeature was cold. This could only be controlled by a radiator which goes on and off at different times.
The next morning we had breakfast and went to the gym and swimming pool- Swimming pool was pretty cold so got out straight away.

Had a spa treatment included and when I was brought into the changing room and there was an apology for the mess it was in as there had been a group in.

After the treatment we changed room and had upgraded to a suite as wasn’t impressed with the “deluxe room”- didn’t feel this was 4star standard.

Dinner was booked for 7.30pm which was fine- But service at dinner was terrible it took 2.5 hours to be served our dinner. We had run out of drinks also and there was no staff around to get their attention. Other couples got up and left when there main arrived as they could not wait any longer either. So the atmosphere in the restaurant was very bad.

After our disastrous dinner we went back to our room and were trying to order room service to get drinks up to the room- We were hung up on 3 times and didn’t get to order anything.

The next morning we got breakfast delivered up which was cold and the order was wrong.

The people next door had their television on sky high and we called down to see if anything could be done about it- Nothing changed.

We had organise a late checkout but ended up leaving as the noise was too much. My partner mentioned our complaints on our exit and we didn’t have to pay for the upgraded room and wine we had ordered on the Friday evening which we were grateful for and received an apology from the Restaurant Manager and she explained they had a group in and that’s why dinner was so terrible.

I was very disappointed with this as it was supposed to be a relaxing weekend away and it was anything but that, the excuses used were they had group bookings I really think group bookings should not jeopardise other people staying in the hotel. As we are paying customers also.

Also as I checked my credit card statement I appear to be charged another transaction of €30 in addition to the hotel costs which I received a receipt for on check out.no receipt for this additional €30.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor I am sorry it was not a relaxing weekend for you. I am delighted you got the chance to meet out Manager on Duty and that a gesture was made to you.
I would be delighted if you would contact me directly so we can establish what this additional charge on your account was.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Judging by its reputation as a hotel, the Westgrove can be a little hit and miss, its weekend carvery however is of a high quality and is certainly worthwhile. Reasonably priced too, and a nice selection of all the usual favourites. Deserts aren't quite as impressive though and are definitely overpriced. The positives here outweigh the negatives however and the carvery itself should be given a chance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Your comments on are carvery have been taken on board and I will see what we can do with regard to our desserts. Thank you for your compliments about our popular Sunday Carvery and we will continue to endeavour to improve our Sunday Carvery and add new items to kee it interesting.
Once again thank you for your feedback we really appreciate it.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here recently for one night. Check-in was ok, the girl wasn't very forthcoming with information on the hotel though. The public areas, lobbies etc are lovely, I found the bedroom decor very basic & the walls are very thin. On the plus side the bed was very comfy. Nice toiletries in the bathroom & great powerful shower. We dined in the restaurant which was very busy that night, there was a delay with ordering, the food was nice enough when it finally arrived. Breakfast the next morning was good, lovely mushrooms, horrible pudding! We noticed a great kids room with bouncy castle etc which our son would have enjoyed if he was with us. We didnt use the leisure facilities so can't comment on them. All in all it was ok, not sure if it's 4 star

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. We are so disappointed with the title to your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Our Hotel is graded as a four star hotel by Bord Failte and would qualify with a high percentage in this bracket with a choice of two restaurants including dining in our Oak Bar, two residents bars, room service menu ,extensive leisure club facility, eight treatment room Spa Haven, extensive lounge areas, 99 well appointed bedrooms including 18 apartments and 5 Suites. Our award winning staff are dedicated in delivering a high level of service. I am not sure you would find all this in a three star property.
I do hope you will give us another opportunity and come and stay with the family. Our Kids Club is great including a little mini cinema. We do cookery classes, and swimming lessons and have loads of kids things to do in Kildare including Clonfert Pet Farm, Lullymore House and Gardens, Donadea Forest Park, Straffan Museum, the Bog of Allan Interpretative Centre to name but a few on our doorstep.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clane, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

As a regular customer to this hotel I was excited about the opening of the new coffee dock.......I needn't have been.Located in the bar area,private but cold.Coffee was good but scones were awful.Knowing this hotel has a good reputation for food buying generic boring breads scones seems wrong.Won't be back .

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience in our new Coffee Bean Cafe. I do hope you will give us another try . We have changed our coffee supplier and done extensive barrista training. We will be trying out all different teas,coffees, sandwiches, cakes and treats on our menu as we try and establish our new cafe.
Thank you for your honresty and I do hope you will be back.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just back from a weekend in the Westgrove Hotel, and I must say we really enjoyed ourselves. We upgraded to an apartment and having the extra space was brilliant. All of the staff were so helpful and looked after us really well, everyone from the reception, bar, restaurant, room service and spa made the extra effort. Food was lovely, spa was great, beds were so comfy, would really recommend a visit to Westgrove Hotel!

Room Tip: If you want the extra space, upgrade to an apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryRu, General Manager at Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for giving us an excellent rated review this really helps us and we very much appreciate it. We are delighted you availed of one of our apartment rooms. It is great to have that little extra space to relax and enjoy.
Thank you for your compliments about our staff we are so happy to recieve your praise. Customer Service is paramount to what we do and it is great when we exceed expectations.
We do hope you will return to us soon and thank you again for your kind words.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: Abbey Hall, Clane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Clane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Clane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgrove Hotel & Conference Centre situated in the beautiful village of Clane with easy access from the N7 and N4. 30 minutes from Dublin City Centre. A Four Star Property with two ballrooms, three bars, two restaurants, a 20 metre pool and extensive gym, complete with luxurious Elemis Spa. Well known for Weddings, Conferences, Meetings and that Special Weekend Break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgrove Hotel Clane
Westgrove Hotel And Conference Centre Clane, County Kildare, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.