We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles to your Saves list
Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles
Chemin de la Cote | B 6, 87150 Oradour-sur-Vayres, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed one night at the Hostellerie La Bergerie on our journey south. It is an old sheep farm converted into a hotel with lodges and a swimming pool in the grounds. A countryside location, with views across the Perigord National Park. The ground floor rooms are spacious and very comfortable and have terraces leading out to the garden. We had dinner at the hotel, served on the terrace, wonderful food and a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Zeist, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a wonderful time here, and loved every bit of it. We had a lovely spacious room, with a good bed. We had our own little terrace but preferred to sit on the lounge chairs on the grass close to the pool: a lovely spot surrounded by flowers and shaded by fruit trees. We loved the breakfast too: quite simple, but with qualitatively good - often local - products.
But best of all was Niké's cooking. She cooks for the guests from Tuesday to Saturday for €29 pp, a fixed meal that consists of a starter, main course and dessert or cheese (and for a small supplement you can have both). I have some food allergies, but that was no problem, she took that into account. Her cooking alone is reason enough to book a room here. She uses qualitatively good products which are often local. Jan will tell you were it came from when he serves you. It tasted amazing every time.
In general, the Dutch owners Niké and Jan are there for you to make sure you have a good time. You can ask them for tips about what to do (they told us about some very nice market in another town) and can make restaurant reservations for you. They're fluent in Dutch, French, English and German.
About the surroundings: it's a perfect area for cycling (we brought our racing bikes with us) and hiking, and Limoges is a very nice city. Oradour-sur-Vayres is within walking distance, and has a supermarket and some other places to eat. And the hostellerie is the perfect place to just hang around and relax :).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Spent a week at La Bergerie while property hunting. Old sheep barn conversion done extremely well. Large room with all amenities. Being winter, breakfast was served in our room at no extra charge! Breakfast was excellent - served on time and more than enough to eat. . Would like to return in summer when the restaurant is open if breakfast is anything to go by!

The owners could not do enough for us - very helpful and friendly. English TV channels, which is rare in France. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Depending on what you are looking for - we choose a room with a bath and turned out to be a hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hostellerie lies comfortably far from the busy roads and in beautiful surroundings.
We stayed in the wellness room and there was nothing negative to say about the room.
We took breakfast in our room and this also, lacked nothing, we want to mention that there is a small additional cost asked for breakfast in the room (4 euro per person), but that we absolutely didn't mind that.
If you are looking for luxury and tranquility this is a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We were being married at the Marie in Oradour sur Vayres and chose La Bergerie to hold our wedding reception, and for a number of family and friends to stay there.
Nike and Ian were fabulous hosts, they made all our guests very welcome and the rooms were spotless. The restaurant was ideal for our reception and held our 40 guests easily. Nike cooked all day and provided a super four course evening meal.
We had wonderful weather and Ian opened up the pool early for us, which was much appreciated.
We also hired 2 villas, which were very well equipped. We had a big family barbeque at one of the villas and 20 of us sat and ate comfortably both inside and out. I would certainly recommend this venue for any large families or groups of friends, as you have the best of both worlds - peace, quiet, comfort but with loads of space!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We were looking for such a remote place where we could spend the whole day in the hotel and relax till the end of our holidays after visiting several places across the country. The hotel is located in a old barn that has been totally renovated with taste and style. There is pretty much nothing around within walking (or even short driving) distance so it's calm, green and peaceful. The rooms are large and convenient (although quite cheaply equipped), the pool is quite small but really pleasant. All in all, the place is highly recommended for a good sleep and a good rest but fails to make you feel welcomed.
Why so? Well... we have stayed in many hotel, many countries and this time, our feeling was that management smiles were only there for the money. Few examples : the 10 euros / person breakfast is quite a ripoff with few fruits, industrial yogurts, little bread and supermarket jams; during the dinner, they have decided on the second night that we were not worth the 'amuse-bouche' they served everybody else (maybe because we didn't order two full menus) and they have this note on the bathroom wall saying that you shouldn't take the bathroom towels to the pool but could ask others to the reception but forgot to mention that they would charge you 3 euros/towel for asking so (and of course, they didn't mention it when bringing them... that pissed us off as we had towels in our car, had we known)...
To make a long story short, we would recommend the place to someone who is bringing his own towels and willing to drive a little to have breakfast, lunch & dinner elsewhere (that's a challenge!) without ever requiring anything from the management but the keys to the hotel room (the bill will be ready without asking)... For the others, be ready to pay at every request (or to get less that what you should get if by nature you don't request much).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We had booked a B&B in Oppede (see my other review) and though it might be quite a drive down south so we looked for a place to stay somewhere 'in the middle'. As I was in need of a treat the spa was an added bonus. So we booked the special arrangement which included a massage for two. The Dutch owners are lovely and made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and adequate with two single beds. Not as comfortable as I had hoped, but then, you can't have it all. The TV was too high on the wall for comfort. Dinner, lunch and breakfast are all without fault, well cooked and served by attentive staff. The swimming pool is of a nice size. The spa was disappointing. It's in the attic of this converted barn and looks a bit tired. The English lady isn't a very happy person, and although I feel sorry for her private circumstances, it's not something I want to hear when I'm there to relax while having a manicure. She did a pedicure as well, which was a tad painful. Not sure if that was due to the equipment (nail hardener). The massage was O.K. (the first one I ever had so I have no comparison) but she didn't clean the clay out of my neck so my shirt had stains on it for the next weeks and it took two washing cycles to take them out.
Unfortunately it's not the most exciting of areas to stay in so we probably will never go there again. Limoges is nice and don't forget to visit Oradour-sur-Glanes. But that's only for the location. The Bergerie itself is a very pleasant place to be!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles

Address: Chemin de la Cote | B 6, 87150 Oradour-sur-Vayres, France
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Oradour-sur-Vayres
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oradour-sur-Vayres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie La Bergerie Des Chapelles Oradour-Sur-Vayres, France - Limousin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.