We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous wedding reception venue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles

Save Saved
You added Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles
Chemin de la Cote | B 6, 87150 Oradour-sur-Vayres, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a fabulous wedding reception venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We were being married at the Marie in Oradour sur Vayres and chose La Bergerie to hold our wedding reception, and for a number of family and friends to stay there.
Nike and Ian were fabulous hosts, they made all our guests very welcome and the rooms were spotless. The restaurant was ideal for our reception and held our 40 guests easily. Nike cooked all day and provided a super four course evening meal.
We had wonderful weather and Ian opened up the pool early for us, which was much appreciated.
We also hired 2 villas, which were very well equipped. We had a big family barbeque at one of the villas and 20 of us sat and ate comfortably both inside and out. I would certainly recommend this venue for any large families or groups of friends, as you have the best of both worlds - peace, quiet, comfort but with loads of space!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We were looking for such a remote place where we could spend the whole day in the hotel and relax till the end of our holidays after visiting several places across the country. The hotel is located in a old barn that has been totally renovated with taste and style. There is pretty much nothing around within walking (or even short driving) distance so it's calm, green and peaceful. The rooms are large and convenient (although quite cheaply equipped), the pool is quite small but really pleasant. All in all, the place is highly recommended for a good sleep and a good rest but fails to make you feel welcomed.
Why so? Well... we have stayed in many hotel, many countries and this time, our feeling was that management smiles were only there for the money. Few examples : the 10 euros / person breakfast is quite a ripoff with few fruits, industrial yogurts, little bread and supermarket jams; during the dinner, they have decided on the second night that we were not worth the 'amuse-bouche' they served everybody else (maybe because we didn't order two full menus) and they have this note on the bathroom wall saying that you shouldn't take the bathroom towels to the pool but could ask others to the reception but forgot to mention that they would charge you 3 euros/towel for asking so (and of course, they didn't mention it when bringing them... that pissed us off as we had towels in our car, had we known)...
To make a long story short, we would recommend the place to someone who is bringing his own towels and willing to drive a little to have breakfast, lunch & dinner elsewhere (that's a challenge!) without ever requiring anything from the management but the keys to the hotel room (the bill will be ready without asking)... For the others, be ready to pay at every request (or to get less that what you should get if by nature you don't request much).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We had booked a B&B in Oppede (see my other review) and though it might be quite a drive down south so we looked for a place to stay somewhere 'in the middle'. As I was in need of a treat the spa was an added bonus. So we booked the special arrangement which included a massage for two. The Dutch owners are lovely and made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and adequate with two single beds. Not as comfortable as I had hoped, but then, you can't have it all. The TV was too high on the wall for comfort. Dinner, lunch and breakfast are all without fault, well cooked and served by attentive staff. The swimming pool is of a nice size. The spa was disappointing. It's in the attic of this converted barn and looks a bit tired. The English lady isn't a very happy person, and although I feel sorry for her private circumstances, it's not something I want to hear when I'm there to relax while having a manicure. She did a pedicure as well, which was a tad painful. Not sure if that was due to the equipment (nail hardener). The massage was O.K. (the first one I ever had so I have no comparison) but she didn't clean the clay out of my neck so my shirt had stains on it for the next weeks and it took two washing cycles to take them out.
Unfortunately it's not the most exciting of areas to stay in so we probably will never go there again. Limoges is nice and don't forget to visit Oradour-sur-Glanes. But that's only for the location. The Bergerie itself is a very pleasant place to be!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Good points:
Location, welcome, size & quality of rooms and service. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. Very well decorated in a modern style although in keeping with the conversion of an old barn. All for €80 for the room, or €95 with a jacuzzi. There are only 7 rooms so be sure to call ahead. That evening we watched several would be guests turned away by the Dutch owners. Wonderful grounds, pool, tennis court, spa and gardens with a great terrace to eat out on, weather permitting. Great for kids. And a working farm next door. Dinner on Saturday night was excellent with prompt and attentive service. The menu offered a €33 menu with apperitif followed by four courses or smaller meals for €23.50 and €18, per head for three or two courses, respectively - plus a childs menu for €10.
Bad points:
While it was generally well fitted the room lacked some of the things 'essential' for the lady traveller; like a table and/or mirror in the bedroom. And the dinner on Sunday night was to be avoided! What a contrast. It has to be said that in the guide the hotel is not open for meals on Sunday night and perhaps that is how it should be. Chef must have been off. The food was stale and the meat on my brochette was "Texas style" - it needed a chainsaw to cut it. My advice? On Sunday, stick to Sunday lunch which looked great and was popular with many visitors and dine out on Sunday night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFORDSHIRIAN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

This charming hotel/restaurant is probably our best travel surprise ever. We could not find a room in Limoges and were sent to this place by the tourist office. It's about 15 miles from Limoges.

What a find, stunning rooms with terraces at 65 euros per night!
It was worth twice this much....but dont tell them.

The beds were very comfortable indeed, which was great as most of the beds we slept on this holiday were rock hard! The linen was soft and of great quality. There was a tray with wine and glasses etc..a fridge, music system, & telly. Also swimming pool, tennis courts, and luxury wooden chalets to rent.

Wonderful barn conversions, fabulous staff, lovely Dutch owners, and best of all, we had dinner there, (and to say that I am the fussiest eater in the world is an understatement), it was sublime, seriously the 2nd best meal I have ever eaten in a restaurant, and as I am 50, I have eaten quite a few. The chef is amazing, and only 23 years old... WOW.

Here is the web address...put it in your favourites, book early as they only have 7 rooms and we only got one because of a cancellation!
http://www.domainedeschapelles.com/en/?page=bergerie

I hope to go back very soon.

  • Liked — Comfort, Beauty, Food, Views, Hospitality.
  • Disliked — Flys
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles

Address: Chemin de la Cote | B 6, 87150 Oradour-sur-Vayres, France
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Oradour-sur-Vayres
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Oradour-sur-Vayres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie La Bergerie Des Chapelles Oradour-Sur-Vayres, France - Limousin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.