We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heron's Rest - The herons know a thing or two!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heron's Rest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heron's Rest to your Saves list
Heron's Rest
Gibbs Road | Golden Bay, Collingwood 7073, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Collingwood B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Heron's Rest - The herons know a thing or two!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Heron's Rest, Collingwood, Golden Bay and would highly recommend both Collingwood and Heron's Rest as an ideal spot to explore Golden Bay. Angus and Maureen made us extremely welcome and even before our arrival helped us with advice and a booking for the Cape Farewell Lighthouse Trip. The accommodation is self contained and private and has lovely views over the inlet and bay. The cottage is original 'retro" and is spotlessly clean, with lovely linen and towels etc and we had a generous and delicious breakfast provisions delivered each day. We ended up eating in as my husband had caught lots of salmon at the salmon farm so we didn't sample the local hotel for dinner.

Room Tip: The cottage does sleep 4 but we would have hated to have been more than 2 people as our large overse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus S, Owner at Heron's Rest, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank's for the review. It was good to catch up with you both in Nelson. Hope you enjoyedthe rest of your stay in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Heron's Rest is the perfect place if you are looking for a peaceful spot to get away from it all and unwind. We stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. Details below:

Location: Located in Collingwood, walking distance to Collingwood's tavern, restaurant, and main street. There is a walking path from the property that brings you right to the centre. The cabin is literally located in the trees with a view of the sea. When we first arrived Angus was a huge help in mapping out all the area walks, activities and restaurants. We fully intended on getting going straight away but were taken aback by the hundreds of singing birds that live on or near the property. It was great to just sit on the sunny deck listen to the birdsong.

Room: fully equipped with everything you could need. It includes a queen bed in the main area and two single beds in the back room. The small kitchen is perfect for the traveller and coffee (as well as yummy cookies) were included. There is a private outdoor soaker bathtub for guest use and I enjoyed a nice hot bubble bath with a bunch of birds tweeting around me!

Hosts: Angus and Maureen are lovely and we were very happy to have met them and had the opportunity to share in conversation. Booking was problem free and I even ended up messing up my dates and they were very accomodating. Angus also does some very nice pottery and I had a hard time deciding which piece to take home with me.

Overall: if you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing getaway (off the 'beaten' tourist track) then I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus S, Owner at Heron's Rest, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hi Thanks for your kind words we certainly enjoyed having you stay and hope you will be back some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a truly relaxing stay in the beautiful cottage, so quiet and peaceful surrounded by trees and close to the beach. Angus was the perfect host and his home made breakfasts are unbelievable. His knowledge and advice on what to do and see in the area was a great bonus, we did some amazing walks that we would have otherwise missed. thank you for giving us a place that enabled us to get rid of all the stress.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus S, Owner at Heron's Rest, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for coming to stay . We hope you come and stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this really peaceful scenic location. The room has wonderful views out over the town and the sea. The hosts were so helpful with what to see and do, particularly as the weather was a bit iffy so they would suggest things that would keep us out of the bad weather but still allow us to explore the area. The homemade muesli is a must try and I am kicking myself for not getting the recipe! A handy path from the house leads you right into the middle of Collingwood, and a torch is provided for your return trip should it be dark.
Great place, would stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus S, Owner at Heron's Rest, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Enjoyed you company and your energy. You certainly packed a lot in during your stay. Glad we could advise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this very peaceful region. The cabin was beautifully located and private. Very nice deck with a view to the sea, nicely decorated and with a great big outdoor bathtub amid the trees and the birds. The host were very welcoming and allow you as much privacy as you want while being very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice as well and can be had in the cabin or in the main house. This was probably our most enjoyable stay in all of NZ. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus S, Owner at Heron's Rest, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We enjoyed your company and you certainly had a good look at all the Bay has to offer . Your tips on Samoa are very useful. Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Collingwood is well of the main track for the average tourists to stay. Not much there but a wonderful setting with lots to see around. Your hosts will give you all the details. The accomodation was excellent. Your own little piece of heaven surrounded by trees. The "bathroom" is quite unique and separate from the main accomodation, more suited to the summer months. A barbie is available for you to eat outside overlooking the sea. A wonderful setting with very friendly hosts.
Don't forget to visit the local chocolate "factory"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus S, Owner at Heron's Rest, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Communciation prior to arriving was great and we were made to feel very welcome. The studio room was private, plenty of space, clean and tidy and the view lovely. The breakfasts were fantastic: One morning we had breakfast in our room, the second morning in the house, where we enjoyed having a chat with our hosts.
We mountain biked the heaphy track while we were in Collingwood and Heron's rest was very convenient for this. Angus and Maureen also let us leave our luggage at the studio while we were biking, which was really handy.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked to go back at New Year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Heron's Rest, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Great to have you stay and look forward to seeing you in the New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heron's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron's Rest

Address: Gibbs Road | Golden Bay, Collingwood 7073, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Collingwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quite elevated location. Sea ,estuary and mountain views. Self contained Cottage nestled in Tree Tops ; sleeps up to four. Full continental breakfast on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heron's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heron's Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.