We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be more happier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Station House Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Station House Motel to your Saves list
Station House Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   7 Elizabeth Street, Collingwood 7073, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Collingwood
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Couldn't be more happier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a lovely time at the Station House. Great location, great owners who booked the farewell spit tour for us and gave us a discount off the room rate. Very cosy unit with a lovley quiet garden area to hangout and have our BBQ. We have alreay booked here for next year and would reccommend to anyone that if you want a nice relaxing stay and great rates then the station house motel is really worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 4, it used to be the police station office before this place was a motel, didnt se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestationhouse, Owner at Station House Motel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hi Brenda

Thanks for the nice review. So happy you had a nice stay. We look forward to your return next dec and also cant wait to join you on the Farewell Spit Eco tour, it truely is beautiful out on the end of the spit and we never get sick of it.

Thanks again
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
32
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were saddened (to say the least) at the bad feedback this place received recently, mainly due to that of the shower!! After speaking with the owner about the low water pressure, it is to be appreciated that there is no simple fix to the problem...it's the plumbing system of the area and not something that would be easily (or cheaply) remedied. Folks, in this part of New Zealand you are not going to find the Ritz, so you are just going to have to get over it !! Collingwood is a sleepy little township, somewhere you go to relax and get close to Nature.
The Motel unit was sufficiently spacious, and clean. Beds good with electric blankets. The owners are most accommodating and helpful with everything. We stayed here because we wanted to do the Farewell Spit Eco-tour (pick-up was just across the road). Booking via the Motel gave a discount for this tour too.
There's very few facilities in Collingwood, and the main store is not open all the time. Do try the Bakery though if it is open! If you want "supplies" for your time here, it is advisable to pick these up on your way through at Motueka (a good large Supermarket there).
We have certainly stayed in much worse accommodation than this Motel...and for far more cost too.
Thanks Sylvie & Darren, it was nice meeting you and your young family!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestationhouse, Owner at Station House Motel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hi Donna and Stuart.

First of all thankyou so much for staying with us and it was lovely chatting with you both during your visit here. Also a big thankyou for writing such a nice review, your words certainly warmed my heart, which i truely needed after that last review. (for the record the water restrictor has been removed and the showers are better, a big thankyou should go out to the person who left the last review for kindly bringing that to my attention).

You will be pleased to here The Court House Cafe has new owners and will be opening summer, which is great news for sleepy Collingwood. We used to love the smell of fresh coffee and garlic bread and hearing all the chit chat and laughter from just across the street. I guess you'll have to return one day and try it out. The bakery is doing really well has expanded into the adjacent building and now has a dining area.

I hope your Coast to Coast tours in Auckland are still going strong and we hope to get up there one day. Thanks again for leaving the nice review and as they say "Its nice to meet nice people"

Cheers Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabundah
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

As I expected staying in Collingwood was always going to be a challenge for quality accommodation but we selected the Station House Motel based on it have a two bedroom unit available. The price was very cheap but it was the same for all accommodation in town.

The unit was very basic and reflected the age of the establishment. I would have been satisfied by the unit were it not for the fact that the shower had the water restricted to the point where it was basically worthless for purpose of washing properly. I cannot express my pleasure when I left the Station House Motel and travelled to my Hotel in Darwin to be able to get a proper show as soon as I got into the hotel.

I will never stay at the Station House Motel again even if I was offered the accommodation free. On a more positive note I have to say the Darren & Sylvie with their young family are lovely people and I am sure want to do the right thing by their guests. All that needs to be done would be to remove the water restrictor in the shower. Clearly the updating of the accommodation is driven by the number of guests staying at the motel which is likely to be a long term objective.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestationhouse, Owner at Station House Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thankyou for your review. We are so sorry the shower spoilt your stay with us. We have had the water restrictor removed. The pressure is better and we have had complaints thus far.

We would like to offer you a free night with us. If you are ever back in magical golden bay please feel free to drop by and have a chat.

It was a real pleasure meeting you and we look forward to one day seeing you again.

All the best
Darren, Sylvie, Jaimie and Leroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We only stayed for one night but we appreciated having the extra space and facilities of is lovely motel after nights of hostels and tiny rooms. It is really well located in this small settlement, close to the beach (a nice place for an early morning stroll) and to attractions in the local area. Our stay was quiet and comfortable, the room was spacious and the bed comfy. Others have said at it was cold and the tv too small - our response would be that yes it was chilly in the evening, but given the time of year that was to be expected, and with the heater and the electric blankets on while we went out for dinner it was great when we got back. Who needs a tv at all? Go for a walk on the beach or to the tavern! We headed there for dinner and the welcome was really friendly, the beer and food good and very reasonable. Definitely opt for the roasted veg with your meal as you get heaps of different veg and it is lovely!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Station House for 3 nights. The hosts Sylvie and Darren are super friendly and full of ideas for things to do during your stay.

The units are large and clean and surrounded by pleasant gardens - two areas of improvement to make them even better would be the shower - the water pressure in our unit wasn't good and we ended up freezing after having a shower, and the TV was tiny and didn't work very well ( not sure if we were doing something wrong but half the time you couldn't see the picture at all) Two small fixes and this would get 100 percent awesome rating.

We would defo stay here again! Its a minute walk from the beach, 30 sec walk to the shops and sooo peaceful and quite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My 2 year old daughter and I spent a glorious month at the Station House.
The hosts, Sylvie, Darren, Jaimie and Leroy could not have treated us better - they took care of our every need.
The food was delicious & the coffee (always an important feature if you ask me) was perfect and plentiful.
I cannot Wait to return!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Darren and Sylvie made our trip to this area hassle free, their advice and friendly emails before our arrival was very helpful. As we didn't have our own vehicle they offered transport for us and even offered their car to get around (which we didn't require but the offer was there) We loved our room, warm and comfortable. The motel has an ideal location if you need to walk to food places etc. Highly recommended as a place to stay.

Room Tip: We had unit 1 which is around the back so is nice and quiet from any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestationhouse, Manager at Station House Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thankyou for leaving a review. It was nice to meet you guys and we are glad you had a good time. We agree that Cottage Unit 1 is cetainly one of the best units we have.

We will look you up if we are up your way some day.

Thanks again
Darren and Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Station House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Motel

Address: 7 Elizabeth Street, Collingwood 7073, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Collingwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Collingwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Station House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station House Motel, is the original police residence in Collingwood. It has been tastefully renovated and provide comfortable and affordable accommodation. We offer two self contained cottage units in a peaceful garden setting and two studio units with a private bathroom. The cottage units offer full cooking facilities and the studio units offer a partial kitchen equipped with a kettle, toaster, fridge and microwave. Units are furnished with a queen size bed and three of the units include additional single beds. Our beautiful yard has outdoor seating areas and two Bar-B-Qs for use at your leisure. Our family oriented motel is a stones throw from beaches, cafes, the Collingwood tavern, museums and Farewell Spit Eco Tours. We are an ideal place to base yourself to explore Golden Bay. Relax at the cafes, enjoy the beaches or whether you enjoy the Heaphy Track in the Kahurangi National Park. We are bike friendly with a large and secure garage and free parking. We offer transportation to and from airports and walking tracks upon request. We offer continental breakfast and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Station House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station House Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.