We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere & real character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barley Mow

The Barley Mow
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Barley Mow to your Saves list
The Barley Mow
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Tandridge Lane, Oxted RH8 9NJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Oxted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & real character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed at the Barley Mow as part of a racing trip to Lingfield racecourse which is just a few miles down the road. We checked in on our way to the racecourse to leave our bags and get a taxi and we had a really warm welcome. After a long drive on a foggy day it was great to get to the Barley Mow with a real log fire and friendly faces. John, the Landlord kindly organised a taxi for us that was great value. The meal in the evening was delicious, we sampled the lamb shank & the pasta, both of which were tasty, filling and exactly what was required!

The bar was 'stocked' with locals who were very inclusive and welcoming (also very knowledgable about racing - and even included a racehorse trainer). We had a really pleasant evening in which we had started off as strangers and by the end felt like locals - which is probably the best reference I can give.

The bedroom was clean and comfortable and suited our requirements. Breakfast was very good, all freshly cooked and well presented. All in all, the Barley Mow was everything we wanted/ needed it to be, and will become our regular billet for visits to Lingfield races.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
45
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed here on a Groupon deal on a Sunday night. We arrived early and were warmly welcomed and told the room would be ready early if wanted to go up but we went for a lovely country walk first. The pub is surrounded by plenty of public footpaths and pleasant walks to try and so has a good location if walking is your bag.
We returned to find we had a table reserved right by the fire for our evening meal which was a lovely touch.
We were served by a really lovely young lady who was very polite and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. She was probably the highlight of the stay.
She gave us the extensive Sunday menu and said we could have whatever we liked, even combining a couple of dishes if we couldn't chose from all the dishes on offer as she said the owner/chef would want us to be happy.
We were more than pleased and ordered prawns in garlic, soup,steak and roast beef with an extra slice of roast lamb, bread & butter pudding coffees etc.
The prawns were excellent, the cauliflower soup was very salty. The steak was superb but the roast beef was very iffy. The veg were a mixture of mashed up veg dolloped on the side (leftovers I suspect) and the beef wasn't sliced it was chunks of overcooked steak really but quite fatty. The pudding was made of stale granary bread sowas quite dry. All in all quite a decent meal.
When we had finished we went to go up to our room to freshen up but were stopped by the barman who requested we pay our bill before retiring in quite an abrupt way. We explained we would be down again and would have drinks so would like to settle up later. He said that was okay so long as we paid that night and not in the morning as the chef was alone in the morning and couldn't cook and take payments. Strange as he was also the owner and we were the only guests!
On arrival in the room it was spacious and clean with a TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Very small towels, a shared bathroom (good job we were the only guests!!!) with a shower sink & loo in very bad condition. Infact, I have backpacked in the outback and trekked some far away places but this was the poorest bathroom I have seen in 20 years!! Clean, but with peeling paint, layers and layers of cracked shower sealant, a screen door from 1970...
The bed had a very uncomfortable,cheap mattress and 1 very thin pillow each!
The heating was off so we went downstairs to ask the barman to turn it on for us but an hour later and it was still cold so my Husband went down to ask again and the same barman asked him to pay our dinner bill AGAIN!!!
We were starting to feel a little less welcome than earlier!
We went down for a drink and the bar was busy and friendly, full of locals but we asked for some cards and were told they were banned to discourage gambling however everyone was playing darts for drinks!
Anyway we tried to settle up but saw an extra meal (£14.95 steak) had been added to our bill. When we questioned this we were told by the barman it was a surcharge to cover the 'extras' we had for dinner. We were baffled how a slice of roast lamb could cost £15 and he said it was because we didn't have what was on the 'Groupon menu'. Apparently the waitress had given us the wrong menu and had misinformed us about what we could have but he still argued with us that we had to pay. Eventually after cosulting the owner/manager/chef it was agreed we could pay whatever we thought the xtra slice of lamb was worth?!! It all left a bit of a bad feeling to be honest.
We turned in and had to ask again for the heating to be put on which it was now we had paid our bill!!!
We were woken at 7 by someone heavy stamping past our room so made our way down for breakfast.
The chef/owner seated us and offered us tea and coffee. I chose coffee which was cold!
He then offered us a full English breakfast which we chose to have and then said 'only thing is we haven't got any fresh bread so there's no toast' and went off to cook the food.
My husband went out and found a local shop, bought some bread and returned 10 mins later so we could enjoy our meal.
The owner served the food (didn't mention the bread) and left us alone and we never saw any staff again.
We went up packed, came down and could find no one to hand the ket to so left it on the bar. We struggled to get out as it was all locked up and we left quite disappointed.
My Mum & Dad stayed there on groupon recently and had much the same experience.
Overall, if you want a pint and pie and mash it is an averagely good pun and service but I wouldn't reccommend an overnight stay even on a voucher!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We bought a Groupon stay for 1 night. Arrived early, room had not been cleaned properly,bathroom disgusting, toilet cistern running all the time, carpets soiled, smell of mildew in the room. On the landing was staff iron and ironing board! When we complained we were met with a very rude young man who seemed to think evrything was ok ! Unfortunately we could not stay and travelled back home. We are still in the process of trying to get our money back. Avoid tat all costs.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the Barley Mow. It was a Groupon deal so we were unsure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised! The food was excellent, the staff were very friendly & helpful & the ambience was wonderful. The only downfall was the shower. We all chose not to use it as it has definitely seen better days! Apart from the bathroom needing some TLC we had lovely cosy rooms. Will definitely be returning for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheam, Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We spent a very enjoyable one night stay at The Barley Mow. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had lunch when we arrived, a 3-course meal in the evening and breakfast and all meals were first class with good quality produce and big portions. The room we were allocated was clean, comfortable and spacious and we will definitely be returning to The Barley Mow in the near future. Thanks John and your team for making our stay a very welcome one and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I bought this overnight stay as a groupon bargain. We arrived late and was told the kitchen was no longer serving food but the chef obliged and gave us a lovely 3 course meal. The staff were helpful and lovely. The location is very pretty. The room was clean and spacious but the bathroom was one of the worst ( in terms of both decor and cleanliness) I have ever seen and to make it even more grim, it was shared with the adjacent bedroom - complicated locking/unlocking of doors of the jack-and-gill bathroom was hilarious until the other resident was having a bad night in the plumbing department, if you know what I mean! - it really sounded as though he were in our room. It really spoilt our stay entirely but the breakfast was great - thanks Frank!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barley Mow

Address: Tandridge Lane, Oxted RH8 9NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Oxted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oxted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barley Mow 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Barley Mow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barley Mow Oxted, Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barley Mow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.