We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quiet setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mundo Milo Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mundo Milo Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Mundo Milo, Playa Junquillal 1234 AA, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, quiet setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at mundo milo. The owners are very friendly and knowledgable. The food was excellent and my room was unique and comfortable. The beach is close and the sand is warm and beautiful. I would recommend having a car as it would be easier to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
66
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, NH
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The owners have done a wonderful job with their dream of a lil resort. Michel designed the cabinas & the lodge. Reminded me of our Tanzania tent safari where the lodge is centrally located with sleeping areas feeling privately designed yet within walking distance. Lieke was a wonderful hostess & eager to help. We were there christmas day & hadn't really made any advanced plans. We neglected to realize how difficult it would be to find transportation due to the busyness of the season, but she was able to secure us transport and suggested our best tour at Rincon de la Vieja.
We walked the beach to Playa Negra during low tide (!~ 1 hr 20 min walk). Met some friends for lunch. Playa Junquillal is a quiet little beach town that's a great retreat. The lodge is set up on a hill about 300 meter walk to the beach. You could hear the waves crashing in the background & the howler monkeys occasionally too. Remember we're guests of the forest, so there were plenty of critters & fauna to observe.
Breakfast offered traditional casada, pancakes, yogurt, fresh fruit, & eggs - very good. We didn't have the opportunity to eat dinner but I tried some homemade apple pie that was delicious.
We had some laundry that Lieke did for us as part of our stay.
We stayed in the newer Persian themed cabina that was brand new. The bathroom was very cool. Water is drinkable & hot water with A/C too. That helped keep the bugs less active.
Rates were very reasonable for all that's included. If you want a quiet place to escape too, then this is it!

Room Tip: Would chose the newer Persian themed cabina. there was a smell in the Mexican but unsure if it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Beautiful property and wonderful owners who you can see have worked hard to get the details right, including a nice open air breezy dining area and plunge pool

We had a tasty breakfast with nice coffee and I hear the dinners are excellent too

Get the rooms with AC as there are lots of bugs around here

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just perfect. A small, familiar lodge, very helpful owners, just the perfect place to stay near the perfect beach (Junquillal and the neighbor beach Venado are the best beaches in the area).
The spot is great, you can walk to the beach, 5 minutes will take you there. It is very peaceful, and sometimes the lodge is invaded by monkeys, it’s a wonderful experience.
Lieke (owner) is just the BEST cooker, wonderful breakfast and dinner, and I usually don’t like to dine where I am sleeping, I like to try other places for change. But at Mundo Milo it was very tempting, we ended up dining there most of the days!
I absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We travelled in Costa Rica for 3 weeks and spent 5 nights in Mundo Milo. The owners Lieke and Michael are very helpful, friendly and generous. The hotel has a very nice shared area where the restaurant and the pool are located. The breakfast is phenomenal and Lieke`s cooking is just great. I loved the tuna steak and the sea brass!
The beach, Playa Junquillal, is about 5 minutes walk away and was one of my very favourites in Costa Rica. The sunsets are almost unreal, so intense the colours.

Value for money is very very good.

We just felt very relaxed and comfortable at Mundo Milo and would definitively go there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights here as part of a vacation package through TPV- Costa Rica. We enjoyed our stay and had such a relaxing time. Quiet jungle setting a short walk to the beach. Great on-site dining. The owners were so kind and welcoming!

Room Tip: Mexican Cabina - 2 double beds and a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had a great time. We stayed over New Years 2012. All the food was great, but the breakfasts are superb. We stayed in a Mexican styled cabina. The hosts were very helpful in setting up activities and transportation in the area.

Room Tip: Mexican cabina was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mundo Milo Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Milo Eco Lodge

Address: Calle Mundo Milo, Playa Junquillal 1234 AA, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Junquillal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Junquillal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mundo Milo Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundo Milo is a small scale ecologically based lodge in Junquillal in the NW of Costa Rica only 300 meters from the Pacific coast with beautiful beaches where turtles come ashore to lay their eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mundo Milo Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Playa Junquillal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mundo Milo Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.