We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are they still around?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Island Eco Adventures II Zipline Canopy Tour

Big Island Eco Adventures II Zipline Canopy Tour
53-496 Iole Rd., Kapaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96755
808-889-5111
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The experience of a lifetime awaits you among some of the world’s most spectacular scenery – Zip with BIEA II through the unspoiled and breathtaking mountains and gulches of historic North Kohala... On your roughly three-hour guided adventure tour with Big Island Eco Adventures II, you’ll be soaring high above our lush North Kohala gulches on eight exhilarating runs crisscrossing tropical ravines. Summon your courage across our two-hundred foot suspension bridge hovering over a beautiful fern grotto. At our charming natural Mango Hut, enjoy locally-made light snacks and beverages before zipping right off our Hut platform! Finish the tour with unparalleled views of the Waianaia Gulch and the Pacific Ocean. You’ll learn about Hawaii’s natural and cultural history throughout your voyage, enriching your experience every step of the way with BIEA II.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Encino, Ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Are they still around?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Website is down, phone is down, and email got bounced back. Sounds great, but in 2015 it's hard to do business with companies that go primitive!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    23
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Zipping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

This tour is fantastic. The adrenaline builds as you go from station to station. The guides are fantastic and very entertaining. The views are out of this world. Start out low and end up very high. When you are finished with the last zip line you just want to do it all over again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Verde, Arizona
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“No longer in business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Enjoyed this last trip but they are out of business. Unknown if or when they might reopen. Several other ziplines available.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Flying high in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The BIEA2 is located in the northern part of the Big Island, driving there was an adventure of its own, as we got to enjoy the sites of the town of Hawi. There were signs directing towards the location (though be warned the small road leading off the main road towards the tour main housing is a bit rough) and we did not worry about getting lost. Once there, we were immediately greeted by a smiling face and an Aloha. Once paperwork was filled we were directed to wait in the courtyard for our tour to begin.

A few minutes later our guides, Tony and Jess, greeted us, asked us our names and where we came from, while setting us up with safety equipment. They were funny, nice, and not once did I feel uncomfortable or worried. My husband had never been zip lining before and was at first scared but after chatting with our guides, he was put at ease and had a blast. Another thing that we really appreciated was how knowledgeable they were about their environment. They pointed out local fauna, wildlife and even treated us to macadamia nuts fresh from the orchard! My husband is a biologist and we're both avid nature lovers so this bonus of learning about Hawaii was definitely a huge and pleasant surprise.

The courses consisted of 8 zip lines with the first few being gentle small lines to ease worried zip liners into it. They were over spectacular waterfalls and beautiful views of the ocean! They did provide us with snacks (apples, macadamia nuts, delicious banana bread, juices, pop, water) half way through the trip.

We loved it so much we seriously considered doing a second round the next day! If you do anything in Hawaii we definitely recommend doing this zip line course!

If you're reading this Tony and Jess, Aloha from Canada from Natalia and Alex, April 2014 trip!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Epic Zipline Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

If you are looking for an adventure on the Big Island, BIEA is the place to go! I have had some friends go to zipline at place with one or two lame runs. This is not the case at BIEA; they have eight ziplines of different heights, lengths, and speeds, and a fun suspension bridge. The views are amazing--waterfalls, canopy views, a river, etc. Our crew was awesome--Shane and Branden were fun, funny, helpful, and helped make the experience so fun! The company and ziplines are top-notch; you won't be disappointed!

-Bring bug spray, the mosquitoes were plentiful.

-If you can, give yourself several hours to hike down to the black sand beach nearby. Once you reach BIEA, if you simply keep driving down the main road to the end there is an amazing hiking trail with amazing scenery and a black sand beach. We were very early for ziplining so the lady at check in suggested this. Though we didn't have enough time to go all the way down it was worth going to see the coastline, waterfalls, etc.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Island Eco Adventures II Zipline Canopy Tour also viewed

 
Hakalau, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Eco Adventures II Zipline Canopy Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Island Eco Adventures II Zipline Canopy Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.