We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in Korcula, even for vegetarians, with superb service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lesic Dimitri

Lesic Dimitri
Setaliste Petra Kanavelica, Korcula Town, Korcula Island 20260, Croatia
+385 20 601 726
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Korcula Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Korcula, even for vegetarians, with superb service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to LD after debating whether or not to go, after reading the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor about them. Found out later that the more negative reviews date up until last summer, and that apparently there is now a new chef at work at LD that has led to major improvements. We inquired at the restaurant the day before to make a reservation but also because one of us is vegetarian, and while there are some vegetarian dishes on the menu we were hoping the chef could make something special. The staff was very friendly and courteous, and went to ask the chef about the options, and told us our request would be accommodated. So next day we had a great place on the beautiful outside terrace, overlooking the sea and under a tree. 

The food was lovely and very well presented. As a starter one of us had the adriatic scallops on medallions of polenta with a garlic foam and beetroot mousse. The earthy flavour of the beetroot combined wonderfully with the soft seataste of the scallops, completed by the creamy garlic of the mousse -not too pungeant, just right.  Veggie starter was a salad with cheese/curd, which was good, fresh, but not very inspiring. As main one of us had the tuna fillet with a tomatorelish and two sauces, with carrot straw and a small parmazan pastry. Again, lovely. The garnishes fitted the meaty tuna wonderfully, and the tuna was fresh and seared, and done as asked. Veggie main was a risotto with vegetables covered in parmazan foam. The taste was a little bland, as we are used to rather salty risottos, while this one was very creamy -with a nutty flavour with clear hints of nutmeg. Bit of salt solved that problem. The rice was perfectly cooked, soft, not mushy, perfect. Then came desserts..... jummy! We really enjoyed them, we ordered the chocolate fondant-lava cake, a pretty chocolate-colored pastry and when cut the warm shiny chocolate came running out, mmmm. Not an easy thing to make in a busy kitchen. It came with vanilla icecream. But the second dessert really had us: at LD they  call it chocolate cake, but to us it was much more than that. A concoction of figs, plums, nuts, hazelnuts left overnight in red wine, cooked till the fluid was gone, baked in a tin and covered with thick layer of dark chocolate. Combined with bitter orange sauce and some fresh citrusslices. It was absolutely amazing and a perfect ending of a lovely dinner.

The food we had was paired by great wines. We had a bottle of  posip by Grgic , a crisp and smooth wine, combined particularly well with the scallops. With the desserts we had dessert wine called Amber that combined six, i believe, varieties of grapes, and more fantastically: a glass of icewine recommended with the chocolate and orange cake. It was a great tasting glass of wine, and went so well with the orange! 

All of this cost us exactly 1000 kn which in our opinion is reasonable for the tasty food we had, even though it is expensive by Croatian standards. But what made it even more worth the money was the outstanding service that we received by one of the waiters who's name is  Andrija.

What really sets LD apart from the other establishments on Korcula is for one the food, that is finer and more carefully composed. But the main thing might actually be the quality of the staff. There is a lot of staff waiting on the tables outside, and every table is waited upon by one waiter, which facilitates communication and advise. 
Andrija was very knowledgable about the wines, the stories behind the winemakers and the food, and local produce. Not only does he know his stuff, he is also a clear enthusiast about food and drink, and that shows. Furthermore we perceived him as a very friendly and courteous man, with whom we also had a laugh. Conversation was very pleasant and relaxed, while all the time, Andrija stayed professional and courteous -a fine line. 

All in all fine food, great views and location but above all superb staff! Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania_Unsworth, Owner at Lesic Dimitri, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your incredibly thoughtful and detailed comments. We are so glad you had a good dining experience with us. We will take on board the points about vegetarian options and hope to see you again in Korcula one day.
Best wishes
The LD Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    18
    9
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent food. I can't stress that enough!

Me and my partner went for the tasting menu, 5 courses.

Waiter was excellent, very tentative and explained the history of everything we ate and drank.

Highly recommend this place for a great meal when in korcula town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania_Unsworth, Owner at Lesic Dimitri, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind recommendation. We're delighted you enjoyed the tasting menu experience.
We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you to Korcula again.
Kindest regards
Team LD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very, very good! Great wine, loved the olive oil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Make sure to reserve a table at this great restaurant! The outdoor seating is right next to the water; with a view over to Orebic. The wine is great, you'll get bread and different olive oils to try and taste. We ate white fish carpaccio with truffel, Adriatic scallops, tuna steak and lamb. Everything was very good - service as well. We did not have desert here as we tried out one of the many ice cream shops in town instead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania_Unsworth, Owner at Lesic Dimitri, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We introduced the olive oil degustation this year in recognition of the truly fabulous local oils that are being produced. We're really glad you enjoyed the dining experience.
Kindest regards
Team LD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

LD is located on the water right outside the old town walls. There are plenty of outdoor tables and the second floor indoor tables are also quite nice and the large windows offer a view of the Adriatic from inside as well.

Highlights: white wine, truffle cheese, and the risotto that comes with the white fish (sea bass).

Although not on the menu, the waitstaff is happy to offer you tastings of many of their wines and will help you choose and pair with your food dishes.

Wednesdays are particularly busy, so call for a reservation, particularly if you want a seaside table.

Though the prices are relatively steep for Korcula, they are absolutely fair for what you get.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania_Unsworth, Owner at Lesic Dimitri, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and thoughtful comments. We are so glad you had an enjoyable dining experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Korcula one day.
Kindest regards
Team LD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“EXELLENT RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent accommodation restaurants by the sea.
Delicious and artfully prezentirna food.
Great staff, and a special
thank Mr. Andrija Kovac kindness and relaxed professionalism ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania_Unsworth, Owner at Lesic Dimitri, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted you had an enjoyable time with us, and will pass on your thanks to Andrija.
Hope to see you again one day
From the whole team at LD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lesic Dimitri also viewed

Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 

Been to Lesic Dimitri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lesic Dimitri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.