We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENJOYABLE OVERNIGHT STAY!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape St Francis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cape St Francis Resort to your Saves list
Cape St Francis Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Da Gama Way, Cape St Francis 6313, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape St Francis
East London, South Africa
1 review
“ENJOYABLE OVERNIGHT STAY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We made an overnight stay en route to George to take part in The Links Parkrun on Saturday morning. Our semi-detached/bachelor accommodation was just what we were looking for and was certainly value for money. We enjoyed being able to have an excellent supper at the on-site restaurant after a long journey. Unfortunately, due to lack of plug sockets, we pulled out the DSTV plug and after using our appliance, we were not able to get the TV going again. We were also thankful that we bought a sleeping bag for extra warmth as the duvet provided would not have been sufficient on the cold winter night. All-in-all, a most enjoyable overnight stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    71
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
74
45
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My Boyfriend took me way for the weekend and asked me to Marry him on Saturday at Beach Break during a couples photo shoot that we won.
Everyone was in on it and it was the most amazing weekend. Thank you


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had a great and comfortable stay at Cape St Francis Resort. Their different types of accommodation, venues as well as great food, makes it a must see attraction. The staff are all very friendly and the service superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Thank you for a relaxing time,in a beautiful area. The staff, in particular Bev, were very welcoming and informative. The bachelor accommodation was perfect for our needs and the facilities were accessible and comfortable. We did feel that security on windows could have been in place so that we felt more at ease sleeping with the windows open. In addition, because of the size of the rooms and the fact that one looks straight into the sleeping area, a stable type door might be more appropriate so that from a distance a modicum of privacy could be assured. We will be back, however, as we were very happy with our stay and the courteous manner with which we were received. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita L, General Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your review.Your input has been much appreciated and we will act accordingly.Hope to welcome you back soonest.
Regards
Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Even though the location is fantastic and the ablutions clean we were so disappointed.
This was a much anticipated leg of our camping trip and even though I asked few times for privacy and also mentioned it was our honeymoon we were not told about the house renovations that would start promptly at 7 every morning and continuo right trough the day with power tools etc.
We did ask them to help us move to the other side of the campsite were you would not hear it but they would not open ablutions on that side. We left a day early without being compensated .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita L, General Manager at Cape St Francis Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.We did mail you on the 12th June in an effort to resolve the matter so will re-iterate what is already stated in that mail.First of all our sincere apologies for not being able to sort the problem and as Shaun ( our security and maintenance Manager) had spoken with you I assumed that the matter had been resolved in that you were either going to move to another site or remain where you were.At that stage we agreed to a refund of your first nights accommodation.Again as stated in my mail it is not that we were not willing to move you to the other ablution block due to "closed toilets" but that it is not that easy to open the closed ablution block as it runs on gas and has been closed since Easter.Before we open that block again we have to service the pipes and that is done by a technician from Port Elizabeth , in fact that ablution block will probably open again in September.Again referring to my mail " we are happy to refund you the full amount that you paid so please let me have your banking details.Hopefully this will not detract from your visiting our area in the future"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this gem of a place in Africa. The staff were warm and welcoming, the views were breathtaking. I will definitely come back and recommend someone. Keep up the good work. The food was divine and the chefs are world class

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had such a wonderful time at Cape St Francis Resort, and have been raving about it all the time! We were amazed at the location, the quality of accommodation, friendliness and helpfulness of ALL staff! But we were disappointed that we couldn't stay longer, if only we had more time! Well done to all at Cape St Francis Resort and we will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape St Francis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape St Francis Resort

Address: Da Gama Way, Cape St Francis 6313, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Cape St Francis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cape St Francis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape St Francis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape St Francis , a tranquil Eco -destination with it's historic Seal Point Lighthouse built in 1878 , pristine beach, surrounding nature reserves, mild temperatures, and the longest sunshine hours on the South African coast ensures a relaxed all year round destination. Action or leisure the choices are varied, exciting and endless. Explore the canals by boat, venture onto the Kromme River, experience a game of golf on one of the surrounding golf courses on either the St Francis Bay Golf Club or the St Francis Links, surf the Endless Summer, charter a fishing vessel or simply relax. From this most southern point one is centrally situated to experience all the Eastern Cape has to offer. Experience its charm and you will want to return again and again. Cape St Francis Resort offers a selection of accommodation options to suit all pockets, Club Break offers 46 one or two roomed en suite Apartments situated around a communal exclusive-use swimming pool. Simple, stylish decor with open plan living room and kitchen with private verandahs and satellite television, Village Break consists of traditional thatch, Cape Dutch style cottages nestled in the dunes and only 300 meters from the beach. Two to four bedrooms mostly en suite with comfortable beach decor, spacious, fully equipped kitchen, satellite television and private garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cape St Francis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape St Francis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.