We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break for some Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ravenstone Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Official Site
and 3 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Break for some Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at Ravenstone Lodge during April and were made to feel welcome from the moment of arrival. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Anthony, the manager, was the epitome of efficiency and friendliness. The room was clean and the views breathtaking. We ate in the Stables bar area for 2 nights and the food was first class. Any questions or advice we asked for was answered. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was equally superb with a very good menu.

As in previous reviews, we would totally endorse a stay here. The owners should feel very relieved they have such excellent staff and the hotel is in such reliable and experienced hands.

Room Tip: The four poster room was spacious and the views a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    41
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
163
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Second time of visiting Ravenstone Lodge and Anthony and Claire who were there the last time we visited are still there along with a few new members of staff all who are very friendly and make everyone feel welcome. We had a very nice room (room 7) which overlooked the garden, it was very clean and although the shower was small it was adequate for our needs.
The food we had there was very good although I was disappointed the crab which was on the specials board when we arrived was taken off before our dinner and I was looking forward to that. Also the specials did not change after that for the 2 nights we stayed and I found it difficult to choose something from the specials board or the menu although the chef did make me a beautiful steak which was not on the menu so if no there just ask, you never know. What we did eat was first class. Last year we received a 5% discount on our meals but that did not happen this year so although not cheap it was very tasty and the puddings were just as good.
Anyone who stays here can be sure of good food and friendly service so I would recommend to anyone, in fact I already have.

Room Tip: upgrade to what you can afford but even the small rooms are ok unless you intend to spend a lot of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a great stay here, such a shame it was for just one night. Ant made us feel very welcome from the outset and continued to throughout our stay. Thank you!! Even when it became mad busy with the restaurant on overdrive, he still took the time to make sure we were happy. Rob your food is to die for, melt in the mouth. Our room was lovely and clean with the most amazing views. And Ant, thanks for making us feel special. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ravenstone Lodge for two night recently. From arriving on the Friday afternoon, to our departure on the Sunday morning nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Ravenstone Lodge is a lovely place to stay, around 4 miles out of Keswick and just below Ullock Pike and Skiddaw for those wanting to venture out. We ate on the Friday evening and were impressed by the quality of food and the service. Rooms are well appointed if on the small side, but great value for money.

If you are looking to venture out by taxi either into Keswick or further, be sure to understand you are charged for the trip out to pick you up, meaning relatively short journeys (Armathwaite Hall just 2 miles away) can cost you up to £12!! We used Ian's Taxi's and manged a good deal based on return trips, worth bargaining.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but we found the staff, price, food and service to be excellent. Clare went out of her way to make our stay as comfortable as possible: As soon as we checked into our room she offered us a larger one with a bath; she opened up the kitchen especially to make our toddler an early tea; found us a baby monitor and cooked the most amazing fish and chips ever! The garden is perfect for a little one to run around- resulting in the longest sleep of his life (7pm -7.30am !!!)
The breakfast was lush... homemade bread and pastries, and plenty of choice for cooked breakfast. We fully recommend this B&B and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which was huge and had a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We saw this on booking.com and noticed the reviews were really good. The price sparked our initial interest and it was onwards and upwards from there. The rooms are a little tight fitting but everything you would want from accommodation is here, it's clean, the food is super (loved the breakfast), and the staff seem very attentive. The manager was great and the owner made the effort to come speak with us.

Standard double room was £55 - worth every penny :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We arrived at Ravenstone Lodge the day before the big storm hit Cumbria, so rather an unusual Lake District experience! Specifically about our stay:


- room was very small - fell over ourselves trying to walk around the bed (in the little space there was). However, we did book last minute, so probably got the smallest room.
- very clean, nicely and comfortably decorated.
- the staff was really amazing - extremely helpful!
- special mention has to be made of the breakfast, absolutely marvelous! The dinner was also excellent!
- view from the porch is lovely. Lodge itself it situation in a fabulous place - with fells all around you. Very idyllic. Quick drive into Keswick, barely 10 minutes.

Overall, would absolutely recommend. However if you are looking for a big room, check with them first.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District
Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravenstone Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.