We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace of mind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Save Saved
You added Ravenstone Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravenstone Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bassenthwaite | On A591 - Up on Hill Blue Trim, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
Robin Hood Country
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peace of mind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We wanted a peaceful break, somewhere where my wifes gluten free diet would be catered for. We could not have asked for anywhere better than this.
Their philosophy is that Gluten free is "normal" and not a "problem".
How we wish that were the case around the country.
Many thanks for a very enjoyable long week-end, we promise we shall be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, October 14, 2009
Gluten free diets are never a problem at our hotel. So glad you enjoyed yourselves - look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    156
    19
    12
    3
See reviews for
50
470
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fens
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

On our way back from a week in Scotland, we drove into the Lake Distrit to find a hotel for the night. We took the road from Keswick towards Carlise along Bassenthwaite Lake, the Ravenstone Hotel looked inviting from the outside, so we took a chance. It was a good move, the service was excellent, food superb, & the accomadation clean & comfortable. The en-suite in our room was alittle tight, but you don't spend too much time in there.
The only thing it lacked for me was a couple of Cumbrian Real Ales, this would have made it absolute perfection. But even so we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, October 9, 2009
Glad you found us and look forward to seeing you again.
Make sure you ask for the local beer next time as we do have some in the bar fridge - not easily seen i'm afraid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fylde
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We have been to this well -run , beautiful hotel before. This time we stayed for three nights . As on previous visits , we found , as usual , the hosts welcoming and the staff friendly and pleasant. . As for the food , it was excellent , with great presentation and choice ...absolutely first class . The charming rooms were very clean and comfortable . The views towards Bassenthwaite lake from this olde world hotel are stunning and there are several interesting and scenic walks starting from the doorstep of the hotel . Keswick is only a short distance away for shopping . For walking , shopping or just a relaxing holiday with good food and wine then The Ravenstone is the place to stay and we will certainly be returning there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Attractive building with lovely interior spaces, located in wonderful surroundings, set above the road so traffic noise reduced. Owners and staff friendly, attentive and very helpful. Food excellent and plentiful, clearly home-made and well presented. Room well-appointed and with comfortable beds, furnished and decorated to a high quality although style out of keeping with character of building. Games room an extra bonus. Easy access from Keswick and A66.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

The owners, Andrew and Debra, are welcoming hosts who run an excellent hotel that is just the right size - not too small and not too big. Food is a real plus point of the Ravenstone and there is always something to tempt on the menu. The standard of decor and comfort in the public rooms and bedrooms is high. Access to the whole of the Northern Lakes ia easy from what really is an ideal location in the shadow of Skiddaw. We have been several times and will be back again which is probably the most telling recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Personal service, comfortable bed, excellent food well presented, helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

A really lovely hotel - great restaurant, very comfortable room, lounge, dining area, bar and games room. Excellent mountain walks accessible from the hotel car park. A very friendly family-run hotel with easy access to the North Lakes and some breath-taking scenary. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent - nouvel cuisine, Northern style, i.e. not minimalistic and you actually felt fed and satisfied - delicious. A great hotel - very relaxing and ideal for a visit to the Northern Lakes.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | On A591 - Up on Hill Blue Trim, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravenstone Manor 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 18th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House provides exceptional customer service alongside spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. Ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Ravenstone Manor offers a home from home atmosphere. Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, bar and games room all with warm, welcoming fires. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. Launched in April 2013, Charlottes View at Ravenstone Manor promises a memorable dining experience. Highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce, our chefs’ craft and combine, to create aromas, flavours & textures that deliver exceptional dining for all of our guests, regardless of any dietary requirements they may have. All dishes presented on our menus satisfy Coeliac/gluten free requirements, and can be adapted for many other dietary demands, with the variety and taste sure to please all discerning palates. We proudly offer our traditional 5 course meal starting at £30 per person, or the very same menu a la carte. Local 10% discount is always applied.Open to residents and non-residents alike, Charlotte’s View serves breakfast from 8:30 – 9:30am Monday through Friday, and through 10am on Saturday and Sunday. Afternoon tea & light bites are served all day, and dinner runs from 6:30 – 8ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravenstone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.