We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ravenstone Manor to your Saves list
Ravenstone Manor
Bassenthwaite | On A591 - Up on Hill Blue Trim, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Teesside
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We saw this hotel on offer through Groupon. When I rang to check availability we received a better deal from the owners. We were given free of charge an upgraded room as the hotel was quiet for the first evening. The welcome was second to none especially given fresh milk to take to the bedroom for our cuppa. The room was on the first floor and overlooked the lake. This is a hotel with quaint rooms with open fires and very cosy. The hosts are very attentive and chat about the history of the house. The food is gorgeous and more than ample. We had only booked the evening meal for the first night (which was included in the offer) but after enjoying it so much we opted to eat at the hotel for the second night. Glad we did. We shall certainly look out for further offers in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    175
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
56
514
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have just had another stay at the Ravenstone, the Hotel and rooms were spotless, and the staff very friendly and helpful, but we agree with david h, we would also have preferred a less fancy and a more simple menu. We enjoyed our break apart from the weather.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My second visit to Ravenstone as a solo traveller in the depths of January and was made to feel very welcome and at home. Cherin and Kim go out of the way to accommodate those with dietary needs and had got in lactofree milk etc for my meals and drinks. Breakfast is a feast of local produce and dinner was super each night. I ate the daily specials on all 3 nights and wasn't disappointed by any dish. The bar is super with the open fire and made use of the lounge on this visit which is impressive. Thank you to all the staff for making me feel so welcome and not "so solo".

Room Tip: All rooms on from have a view towards the lake. I've stayed in 8 and 14. I think 8 was a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I just spent a couple of days at the Ravenstone Manor hotel. We have stayed before a few years ago but there are now new owners. The hotel is spacious and has a cosy feel much as you would expect from a country manor. Our room was at the top of the hotel up two flights of stairs and was adequate in size and comfortably warm. A few touches would have improved things - coasters for drinks and more room in the bathroom for hanging towels.

Unfortunately we were both suffering from heavy colds so our appreciation of the food was dimmed by poor appetite however we both felt that the menu would have benefited from some simple choices to go with the rich sauce accompaniments to many of the dishes.

Overall a good but not outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Booked this hotel via a voucher offer and paid for a room upgrade.The hotel is set up on a hill giving excellent views of Bassenthwaite Lake.
Our room was spotless and very large and the bathroom was very modern with an excellent shower and huge deep bath.the radox in the bathroom was a nice touch.
The owners and staff in the hotel were all really helpful and friendly,nothing was too much for them.They even presented an elderly gentleman guest who staying alone with a birthday card and presents.
We ate both nights in the hotel and the food was of a very high standard.There is also a very cosy bar with sensibly priced drinks and a large comfortable lounge.They also have both a snooker and pool table aswell as numerous board games.
I really cannot recommend this hotel and it's staff highly enough.Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our 4th visit to this hotel and still a very relaxing stay. Constant improvements have been carried out in both the hotel and restaurant. We felt pampered and nothing was any trouble. If you want to have a quiet and peaceful break we recommend this hotel to anyone. The sites in and around the hotel are fantastic. Cherin and Kim are very good hosts and we wish them every success in the coming years and we both look forward to returning to our second home sometime in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Lovely old hotel with plenty of character. Rooms clean and comfy with lovely views overlooking lake.
Cherin and Kim are welcoming hosts and very pleasant
We enjoyed a lovely weekend deal which was excellent value. Breakfast and evening meal, wide variety and well presented. I left my iPod I. The room and they very kindly posted it on. Will watch for more deals in the spring.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | On A591 - Up on Hill Blue Trim, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 18th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. Ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, bar and games room all with warm, welcoming fires. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. Highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce.Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am Monday through Friday, 8.30Am-10.00Am Saturday and Sunday.Evening meals from 6.30Pm till 8.15Pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravenstone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.