We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ravenstone Manor to your Saves list
Ravenstone Manor
Bassenthwaite | On A591 - Up on Hill Blue Trim, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break at the Ravenstone Manor and it was absolutely fabulous. we have been going to the Ravenstone for 12 years and since Cherin and Kim took over it just gets better and better. The welcome you get is so warm and they really do go the extra mile to keep their guests happy. New Year was the best ever the food was just amazing and beautifully served and the entertainment was first class which just made it that extra special. We were so pleased that it was dry at midnight for the firework display. they have really turned the place around and deserve to be successful. Thank-you so much to Kim and Cherin and all their wonderful staff for making our New Year so so special.

Room Tip: We have stayed in room 6 room and they are both lovely,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    175
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
56
514
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I searched for well over a week before booking Ravenstone Manor. What 'swung it' for me was the coeliac friendly menu. Normally, when my husband and I stay at a hotel, he has to struggle with a menu that does nor cater very well for his gluten intolerance. Ravenstone Manor was a breath of fresh air! I have not seen my husband smile so widely, when perusing a menu, for a very long time. He was quite simply speechless at the choice, variety and quality of all three courses. Imagine! More than one gluten free dessert, and not just ice cream. You should have seen his face when he had a choice of sticky toffee pudding or cheesecake. So..having considered London, Tenerife, Lanzarote and our apartment in Spain to celebrate my big 50 (oh goodness); I have just booked another 5 nights in February in the 4 Poster Room. The staff here are fabulous, very efficient, friendly and hardworking. They just could not be more helpful and accommodating. They wanted you to relax and feel at home and that is exactly how we felt. We were in the twin room and the beds (made up into king size) were very comfortable indeed. The rooms were spotless and the radox for the bath was very thoughtful. Just typical of the service in this hotel really. Honestly I could go on with the superlatives, but I want to write another review after my February stay! Can I end with a HUGE thank you though to the owners, staff, cleaners and kitchen team for the best NEW YEAR's EVE we have ever experienced before. Blooming heck, I better reserve my room now for next year! This place is gonna be full - don't really want to reveal this little gem, but it would be churlish not to - ho hum!

Room Tip: The Premium twin room (4) was fabulous - such a comfy bed, but we are trying the 4 poster next!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Third visit and will definitely go back. Staff are fantastic nothing too much trouble,room although started off a bit cold did warm up for when we went to bed. Breakfast very good staff very attentive.

Room Tip: Standard rooms have good views of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Room very clean and quite comfortable ,however the menu lacks choice ,at least put some hearty cumbrian dishes alongside the game !

Breakfasts good , staff pleasant and helpful.

The lounge , whilst the rooms fixed features are beautiful it needs work, major refurb time , loose the old peoples home chairs around the outside of the room, and get some big chesterfields or similar to create a comfy cosy room , it needs brightening up as it looks so glum and drab !

Otherwise a satisfactory stay





  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Friendly owners, made us feel very welcome, good choice of food, food was not hot the whole time. Friendly staff, they went the extra mile with canapes before supper. All in all, very good and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Room 6 was lovely, heating didnt work and nor did TV. But we had a brilliant eletric heater in our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A fantastic two nights stay. Lovely owners and staff nothing was too much trouble they all work as a team.Spotlessly clean room and refurbished en-suite. Great food a super homely atmosphere beautifully furnished with welcoming log fires. We were made to feel so welcome.We will be back.

Room Tip: Excellent view from Room10
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon and Peterborough, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have just returned after DBB at hotel. Superb friendly service. Milk offered and taken to our room, and our bathroom had underfloor heating- both nice touches. Sherin and Kim, the owners, were always around and engaging in conversation. Lovely food. Warm fire. With nice walks nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | On A591 - Up on Hill Blue Trim, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 18th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. Ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, bar and games room all with warm, welcoming fires. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. Highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce.Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am Monday through Friday, 8.30Am-10.00Am Saturday and Sunday.Evening meals from 6.30Pm till 8.15Pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravenstone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.