We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!! This place is 10 out of 10!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ravenstone Manor to your Saves list
Ravenstone Manor
Bassenthwaite | On A591 - Up on Hill Blue Trim, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
1 review
“WOW!!! This place is 10 out of 10!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed 1 night in January for our anniversary and decided to upgrade to the 4-poster room with jacuzzi bath and we were not disappointed! When we arrived we were welcomed in by name by the lovely Tina who gave us a quick tour of the hotel on the way to our room. She brought is fresh milk so that we could have tea in our room which was a really nice touch as was the box of chocolates that we found in our room with a lovely card from the team to wish us a happy anniversary. Dinner was superb! Drinks and canapes first at the cozy bar with its open fire before we were shown through to the dining room for our 3 course dinner with wine, all included in the price we paid!! After dinner we retired to the lounge for coffee, chocolates and chess by the open fire.... bliss! Our room was comfortable with a gorgeous view and the breakfast in the morning was scrumptious! Tina, Adam, Kim and Cherin thankyou for an unbelievable stay and simply keep doing what you are doing. We will definitely be back. Emily and Joe

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstonehome, Manager at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Emily and Joe,

We were happy to help make your anniversary special and so glad that you spend this occasion with us. Thank you for your lovely comments, please visit again soon.

We will keep you updated with our progress, thank you for the encouragement.

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    175
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
56
514
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed two nights here recently and loved it. Beautiful setting, very warm and comfortable hotel, great food and a vast selection of games to play in the evenings (board games, snooker and pool tables etc) plus real fires - what's not to love about it? The owners are really friendly and welcoming and understand what you need when you go walking in the Lake District (a drying room for your wet boots and coats,for example!). We thought our stay was great value and will definitely look to stay again when next up in the North Lakes. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 1 has fantastic views of Bassenthwaite Lake and the mountains beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
It is good to know that the drying room is helpful, thank you for the feedback and all your wonderful comments. We really appreciate your time and effort to comment on Tripadvisor and we are glad that you found The Ravenstone good value for money and that you enjoyed the games, food and the accommodation. We are working hard to keep the personal service and the warm welcome, your comments makes us feel that we are on the right track
Keep an eye on the website for all our future offers including local festivals and events, don't be strangers visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay which was booked by my husband at the very last minute and it lived up to all of the good reviews.

The building is wonderful full of wonderful treasures and lots of different rooms to escape to including a lovely cosy bar and a large comfy lounge area to relax in. The only critism I would have is that the main door into the hotel could be made more obvious to its guests.

The staff are very attentitive to your needs without been in your face.They are fantastic for looking after anyone with special dietary needs especially coeliacs. They accomodated my husband with his meals fantastically, the best we have ever had since he was diagnosed. The food and service was fantastic.Thanks to you all who looked after us.

The room was lovely with fantastic views, very large, the only critism I would have was that I feel it was in need of decorating as there was some wallpaper missing around the bed, however the cleanliness of the room and bathroom was fantastic.

The hotel has a fantastic assortment of games to play, together with a great games room which consisted of pool, a full sized snooker table, table tennis, bar football and many more.

To sum up we have found a little gem of a place and will definitly return and recommend to our family and friends.

Thanks again to you all and we both wish you every success for the future, keep up the good work.

David & Wendy

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dave and Wendy,

We are all very glad that you both enjoyed your stay. The next time you join us, you will notice little changes that will make your stay even better. Take a look at our site for yearly specials including our current Valentine's offer and upcoming Easter offer. Hope to see you both soon.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Brill hotel with loads and loads of character. New owners were fantastic and very welcoming. Evening meals were fantastic and not one complaint from our party of 16. All rooms were great and breakfast was exactly what was required after a great night. Hope we have not traumatised yous to much, lol. because if work commitments allow a return is on the cards.
Thanks again for a great night.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Not traumatized too much, just recently recovered (kidding) Your stay was fun and we are glad you rgroup enjoyed it so. See you in 2012. Look out for more specials throughout the year.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location, fantastic views in the heart of the Lake District. The new owners were very warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Had an excellent stay.Our room was clean and comfortable, with a great view of the lake. All the extra little touches made for a wonderful New Year's Eve. A big thank you to Tina, Adam, Kim & Cherin. We'll definately be back

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you throughout the year. We have a Valentine's special coming up on our site with Easter not far behind.
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in an excellent location. The new owners are absolutely superb & nothing is too much trouble. They are not in your face, but happy to mingle & enjoy a drink & a chat with you. The service & food was way above our expectations & the little touches the owners did made it even better. ( especially the home made cookies for the journey home ). We enjoyed our stay & had so much fun with the other residents over the new year. However there are plenty of hidden corners if you want to lose yourself. Our room was fantastic & clean.The hotel is ideally situated right at the bottom of Skiddaw mountain, which can be accessed through the hotel garden. The views are out of this world. A big thankyou to Kim, Cherin,Adam & Tina for a wonderful stay. We shall definately return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thank you for spending New Years with us. It was a pleasure and we are glad your stay was enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you in the New Year!!

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This place is so good, I hesitate to review it,as it may get over crowded and too lpopular! The staff are wonderful and create a fantastic home-from-home atmosphere. The food is very good, and the effort the place went to over New Year was amazing. The "little thin gs" make all the difference....no-one jumps on you for payment details etc throughout the whole visit, no form filling, champagne breakfast on New years Day, wonderful complimentory canapes and chocolates, piano music by the piano they want played, christmas dvd's by the TV, we played trivial pursuit and it was the American version, so the next day th ey went out and bought the British version for us!
Slight issue with the shower mixer in our room , but everything else so nice we didn't care!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for travelling so far and spending some time with us. Glad you were able to spend the holidays with your family as well. Henry was a delilght on New Year's with the countdown! Hope that you are able to visit us again and use us as a base for family visits.
We have taken care of the mixer issue, thanks for bringing it to our attention.

Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | On A591 - Up on Hill Blue Trim, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 18th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. Ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, bar and games room all with warm, welcoming fires. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. Highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce.Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am Monday through Friday, 8.30Am-10.00Am Saturday and Sunday.Evening meals from 6.30Pm till 8.15Pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravenstone Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.