We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Space to spread out....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Space to spread out....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

After yet another magnificent stay at the Castle Inn Hotel, I would like to pass on my thanks and appreciation to the staff. My fiancée and I love coming here. This time we stayed in one of the lovely four-poster rooms which was perfect for our romantic break. (They've even thought about the location of the tv so you can watch it it bed! Genius!) The staff are friendly and no task is too big or too small, the food in both the bar and the restaurant are terrific and really reasonably priced and the hotel itself has a beautiful location. The reception area is now in a different location so they now offer a lovely lounge to snuggle up and read a book. The bar area is cosy with the fire, and the rest of the hotel has enough space to breath, so if its busy, you can still escape the rest of the patrons. (I think this is the best part about this place!)
I look forward to the next time we come to visit. This time, I might even go for a swim!

Room Tip: Not every room has a view of the lake, so if you're particular looking to wake up with that view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Kimlikestotravel
Thank you for your recent kind words about our hotel. We always endeavour to ensure that we meet and surpass our guest expectations. I have passed your kind words onto to the team here at the hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

PLWells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    157
    61
    26
    27
See reviews for
85
296
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We've just had a two day stay in one of the four-poster rooms. Excellent service, very good food (evening meal was excellent) and a wide range of facilities included (swimming pool, spa, lawn tennis court and putting green etc) . Great bath size! Nice view from the room (but couldn't see Bassenthwaite Lake). Within easy reach of Keswick. Look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Views differ - check when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Adrian186411
Thank you for your recent review and kind words about the hotel. We have invested heavily over the last few years in our people and the product and we are really happy with the results and will continue to invest in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel has a four star rating which I feel is over generous. The hotel itself was ok but very spread out and not a cosy place. The food was adequate although lacking in flavour, the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had booked two rooms, both costing the same, one was nicely decorated with a well equipped bathroom, our room, room 70 which was the only room to take dogs was extremely disappointing and in our opinion would struggle to meet a two star rating. It was dark with furniture that had seen better days and a very poor bathroom with a toilet which was dirty with a cistern which was slow to fill and very noisy, the bin was going rusty as was the plug hole in the wash hand basin which was also cracked. Our dissatisfaction wads reported to two of the managers on different days who assured us they could do nothing but would report our dissatisfaction to the General Manager. That was nearly 3 weeks ago and we have heard nothing. I would say to anyone who is considering taking a dog there to be aware that the accommodation offered in their one dog room is dark and very poor, especially in the bathroom. We would certainly not return to that hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 70 which takes a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Happyholidays090

My apologies that you were disappointed with our hotel’s, room 70 but understand that the other guests in your party were really happy with their room. Room 70 is an un-refurbished room which we do sell at a discounted rate. But equally the cleanliness of this room should have been high, which we do apologies for. I have since reprimanded the responsible people and resolved the cleanliness issue with this room. I am now very confident (all be it un-refurbished) this room is very clean and comfortable for all those guests wishing to stay at the hotel with their dog, as highlighted in my recent letter to you. Additionally I would also like to highlight that we have just introduced our new sumptuous Autumn / Winter A La Carte menu offering in Ritsons Restaurant.

Thank you once again for bringing these points to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked a night at The Castle Inn for a much needed break and peace and quiet as we live in a busy city. The hotel was clean and the staff we friendly and helpful. On the down side it is very big and very spread out and therefore lacked a good deal of atmosphere. Our room was very nice when we first settled in. Very clean on the ground floor with French windows overlooking the garden, very nice or so we thought. Around 6pm in the evening the noise above us was horrendous. The very heavy footsteps of what sounded like a lot of people walking back and forwards over the floor, at one point we heard someone sawing what we presumed to be wood. It was definitely the sound of a saw. However we were going out for a meal so we we were not too concerned. In the morning we were woken whilst it was still dark to the noise all over again. Lots of very heavy foot steps going back and forward across the floor and lots of banging. This went on all morning until we went for breakfast and was still going on when we got back to the room. We think that there were staff quarters above us or it was a part of the hotel where work was being carried out, either way it was totally unacceptable and as we paid money for an executive room we mentioned this to the receptionist when we paid our bill. All she said was is that she would pass our comments on, not exactly the response we expected. We paid for a quiet executive room and as they did not deliver this, we feel that some sort of compensation should have been offered. We will not be back and would not recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not offered room number 66.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Natalie160582

Thank you for your recent comments on Tripadvisor. My sincerest apologies that you were disturbed during the night. We did have a serious problem with our water boiler located above your room, which, had we been informed earlier we could have rectified sooner. Thank you for bringing this to the attention of my Reception team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked into the castle inn hotel around 7:00pm. The receptionist was very friendly and very helpfull. We had booked on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. We were asked if we would like to eat in the restaurant (which required booking a table) or the bar, we were allowed the same allowance in both, we opted for the bar and must say the food was fantastic. The room was great with patio doors leading to a very well kept outside area. The room was very clean and had all the items in to make it a very enjoyable stay. The Gym was well worth a visit and so was the swimming pool. The second day was taken up by my niece's wedding, which was very well organised and went very smoothly. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic with a choice of continental and full english, or if you were hungry both

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent kind words on Tripadvisor. Everyone we have spoken to thoroughly enjoyed their weekend and the Wedding here at the Castle Inn Hotel. We do hope that you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

just returned from 3 night mid week break at the castle,had a great time.the room was very good with great views.the staff are all very friendly.the food in lakers bar was very good,with good ales recomend theakstons bitter .the pool was good with sauna and steam room ideal after a long ramble.i would recommend the hotel for a quiet relaxing break .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleaford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

stayed for 2 nights in this nice but average hotel. We have stayed in many best western hotels over the years and was wondering what makes a hotel a best western plus. i assumed there would be a few little extras but if anything the castle inn was a nice hotel that let it's self down on several little things. Check in was fine but the new reception at the far end of the hotel doesn't strike you as welcoming. the new small podium style desks and the whole ambience of the area seems to be away from everything. perhaps I'm just old fashioned. The room was in the older part of the hotel and was in good condition for it's age but a little thing here was that there was no water in the room, or glasses in the bathroom.
We had afternoon tea in the lounge area which was very nice but again the small matter of no napkins so jam and cream everywhere and nothing to wipe my hands on.
we went out for a nice walk in the beautiful lakes but as usual for the lakes got wet so arrived back at 3.30pm hoping for a shower and rest in the room to find it hadn't been serviced.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was very good but again another small thing was that on the first night we had olives and bread whilst waiting which was a nice touch but the second night we didn't even though the other tables around us did.
At breakfast we asked for mixed toast and got brown. So as i say a nice hotel but instead of the getting the small extras I expected from a best western plus we got the small minus points.
The cooked breakfast itself was nice with the usual choice of non cooked fruit , cereal etc.
The swimming pool and steam/sauna was nice but was disapointed that the jacuzzi was not in use as this was not mentioned on the web site or when we booked and look to have been out of use for a while. The staff were very good, the food was very nice,and the situation is excellent for the northern lakes and would stay here again but felt let down with the little things.
One final point which is more to do with the best western brand rather than this particular hotel is the fact that having a best western platinum card seems to make no differnce at all. I have very rarely been offered an upgrade even though I know they had other rooms free and you are supposed to get a free daily newspaper but as it's only 50p a day it's not something I like to mention as it's seems a bit petty but it is the principle of the thing. Also we are supposed to be offred early check in and late check out but again it has never happened. As they are all privately owned they don't seem to be sure of what being part of the brand entails.
One final point I would make is don't follow the post code of the hotel in your sat nav as it sends you down a narrow road to bassenthwaite and when you finally get back to the main road some 20 mins later you find it was only another 50 yards past the turning you went down!! I heard at least 2 other people had done the same thing while we were there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleinnDirector, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest

My apologies that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us at the Castle Inn Hotel. We have recently invested heavily in the new Reception at the hotel, which we located at the very centre of the accommodation areas and car-parking to allow guests get to their rooms with ease. The new reception ‘pods’ as we call them also enable our team to come out front rather than being behind the traditional desk and this helps to break down barriers.

All of our rooms apart from our Standard Rooms offer different little extras such as water, bathrobes, I pod docking station and fridges to add value to the customer experience. My apologies regarding the niggling issues with the Food & Beverage areas I have since instructed our new Food & Beverage Manager to rectify these problems. Unfortunately we do not have a Jacuzzi at the hotel anymore my apologies if you thought it was still there.

Thank you once again for your comments and I do hope that your try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel

Address: Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.