We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bassenthwaite Lake

Bassenthwaite Lake
Bassenthwaite, Bassenthwaite, England
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
St. Bees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

One of the many lakes in lake district. It is best suited for osprey viewing, personally never seen an osprey, but thats besides the point. not my personal favourite lake but it is certainly worth a visit

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Higher than ever seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Bassenthwaite holds dear memories for all our family as we stayed many times around there years ago. Nice to see Armathwaite Hall more accessible to the average visitor.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pretty Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our hotel overlooked this lake, which was just lovely. Shame it rained all day Monday though or we could have investigated further.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Well worth a visit, wear sensible footwear and pack a picnic to enjoy half way round. A comfortable walk that takes approx. 2 hours but manageable with you children on foot (no pushchairs)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bassenthwaite Lake,Natural Unspoilt By Commerce.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

One of "The Lake District" areas which is far away from the shopping orientated south lakes, unspoilt by a parking regime which in the likes of Grasmere makes it extremely difficult to park and go for a walk of more than three hours without a £5 - 7 charge being levied.If you want to nature as it should be, very friendly people peace and quiet this is certainly for you, I do feel qualified to make the recommendation having lived here for 38 years.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bassenthwaite Lake also viewed

Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Buttermere, Lake District
 

Been to Bassenthwaite Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bassenthwaite Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bassenthwaite Lake to your Saves list