We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming , warm and friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Pheasant Inn to your Saves list
The Pheasant Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming , warm and friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel was as warm as toast with log fires burning .
The staff were all very pleasant and extremely helpful and knowledgable.
We had lunch there and it was fresh , tasty and plentiful .
Great atmosphere , would definitely recommend it ,

The local patrons were welcoming and complimentary of the hotel as well .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    84
    27
    14
    9
See reviews for
46
163
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have been going to The Pheasant Inn for well over 25 years and have never been disappointed! Last week end was no exception, we celebrated a wedding anniversary and the food and accomodation was excellent. We found the staff as helpful as ever and love the cosy quaint lounges each with log fires. Coffee or afternoon teas in these lounges are very popular.
However, we do believe The Pheasant is an acquired taste and people we talk to, like our selves, have been coming for years and quite often we meet the same people.
There is a choice of dining in the Bistro or Fell restaurant, both are very good but we find the Bistro has a better atmosphere, the choice of wines is also good.
The locals we meet in the bar are a friendly crowd and yes, I have a comment about the beer, apparently the cask ales are excellent but I'm not a cask ale drinker!
We will be back at The Pheasant in the Spring, Summer and Autumn, which just happens to coincide with Birthdays and anniversaries!

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually named and have excellent facilities we prefer the rooms at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lovely pub setting. Nicely furnished inside. Various rooms and lounges that you can relax in. The dinning area looks newly decorated. Service was excellent. The beer wasn't anything to write home about. The low points in our visit to The Pheasant Inn......the menu and the shameful seafood starter priced at £13......helllo credit crunch!
The menu was very disappointing. Not much choice or invention. The special board wasn't special. The real low point was ordering the seafood starter, being regular Chef and Brewer customers we miss read the starter for a shared starter......as you would being priced a £13.
But how wrong we were!.......This was a meager portion and only meant for one person. It consisted of exotic seaford ingredients like, smoked salmon, roll mops and prawns with a familiar pink creamy sauce......prawn cocktail I think they call it! The starter should be called 'Try to seefood on this plate that just cost me £13' non-starter.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived at the Pheasant after a walk on the fells, having previously seen it's website and thinking it worth a visit....... we arrived in the very narrow hall, with a lounge on one side, and a restaurant on the other, the bar was at the end, but shut up with the lights out! This was 2:40 in the afternoon and their website said it was a well known Lakeland bar full of character and listed the beers they have on offer! I had also read about it's afternoon teas, so thought we might try these instead. Sadly there didn't seem to be any staff on, despite there being other customers in the building, several of whom were also looking for staff to pay their bill! We eventually found the reception, a table at the end of a corridor and then a member of staff arrived and seemed most put out that people were waiting. It was eventually our turn to be served and we were told that Afternoon Tea did not start for another 15 mins, but were shown into the Lounge to wait..... We eventually had our order taken at 3:05, but can't say we were over impressed. The Scones, all two of them were tiny, and no where near enough for the mountain of jam, cream and rum butter. The cakes, were OK but a few small ones thrown on a large plate was not great presentation!

We got the impression that it wasn't a pub, but a hotel and fine dining establishment and that they didn't want passing trade (obvious from an overheard conversation), and that it was only for the local gentry!

I had to laugh when I saw their advert in the current edition of Lakeland Walker magazine, they will look after your muddy walking gear while you have a pint of beer by the fire.... not our experience.

Over all not a great experience and not one to recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKE DISTRICT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We dined in the Fell Restaurant this week and I found it overpriced by far. One can expect the prices to be higher than the average restaurant but I returned home so hungry that I had to make myself a snack!! The portions were miniscule apart from the dessert. I was amazed to find that with my rack of lamb I had one small potato and a thin slice of broccoli, no bigger than 0.5cm wide! How can they justify charging £22 for such a meagre meal? The bread rolls were hard and very small and my starter was also very small for the price. I felt this was daylight robbery and I felt cheated. The restaurant is also lacking atmosphere, although the lounge and bar still retain their character. Fine Dining is very overrated!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have eaten many superb lunches here over the years and decided to have a 3 night break recently. The bar is full of atmosphere and I have no problem at all with the locals using it, as some people have complained about! The lounges are warm and cosy with log fires and the new Fell Restaurant is tasteful and comfortable.

We did find the bedroom was very average and rather faded and in need of decor, even though we didn't have the basic room. We have stayed in far better for less money, although the bathroom was first class. Although the inn is very old, if the bathrooms can be upgraded to that standard surely the bedrooms can be as well. The bed itself was very comfortable however.

The food in the Fell Restaurant was absolutely superb on the first evening, with little interesting tasters provided before our meal. However, the menu never changed on the 3 evenings we were there, apart from a couple of minor details. It was completely meat based, apart from one fish dish each on the starters and main course menus. I had to have the same thing on 2 of the evenings, as it isn't always possible to like everything and there was no vegetarian option should you be a vegetarian. The portions were small and as for vegetables.... forget it! I certainly did not get the recommended amount of greens during my stay. One night there was a tiny stem of broccoli and a tiny baby leek. Another night there was one baby carrot and a parsnip. Everything was arranged on the plate as it was served, so no opportunity to have more vegetables. Although we had booked dinner, bed and breakfast, it turned out that only £35 was allowed towards the dinner. Considering the excessive price of each course, we always had extra to pay. Two scallops for £10? They were ingeniously cooked and full of interesting flavours, but extremely insubstantial. I can't imagine staying for a week if the menu doesn't change in that time and it would certainly cost more than we bargained for in the extra cost of food.

The breakfasts were only average and what you expect and the help yourself starters were very poor and limited and you couldn't even help yourself to fruit juice, which is what I like to start breakfast with. It had to be ordered and would come eventually, depending on how busy the staff were.

All in all a pleasant stay in an atmospheric inn, but overpriced.

Room Tip: Go for the superior, although not worth the money, better than standard and classic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

What a marvellous find!!! So fantastic we ate there twice in 3 days. Quaint with super food and helpful professional staff. Can't speak too highly of this lovely place. Such a mouthwatering selection of food in the most exquisite surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.