We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience in fabulous location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Save Saved
You added The Pheasant Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience in fabulous location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Took a friend for Sunday lunch here during a weeks break in the lovely Northern Lakes.
Absolutely faultless in every way. We sat in the lounge by a beautiful log fire having a coffee, reading the papers before lunch, such a wonderful cosy atmosphere and the coffee was very good too.

We ate in the Bistro and the meal was just perfect, The pork with cracking was delicious, service was excellent, in fact could not find one fault with any anything. The white onion soup to start was a delight.

Will definitely return and try the Fell restaurant and perhaps stay a night.

Can't recommend this place enough, a real gem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    58
    17
    14
    8
See reviews for
36
122
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were staying at a cottage nearby and visited the Fellside Restaurant for a birthday celebration meal. We received a warm welcome and were served canapés in the lounge, while we viewed the menu. The restaurant was traditional and the meal we chose was well presented and a delight to eat. Would be expensive to eat everyday but as a celebration meal was well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for my uncle's 70th birthday. It is in a peaceful and secluded spot, with nice walks from the door and a great place to base your stay in the Lakes.

The rooms are comfy and have all you could ask for, they are not luxurious, but then you're not paying luxury prices! The bar in the pub and the food in the restaurant are fantastic. We'd planned to eat elsewhere one night, but there was so much delicious choice on the menu that we changed our mind and ate all meals in the restaurant at the Pheasant.

I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I cannot recommend The Pheasant Inn highly enough. My Daughter booked my Husband and I for a surprise 25th Wedding Anniversary gift as we had honeymooned in the Lakes at a Hotel on Lake Ullswater.

We were warmly welcomed in to the reception area then taken to one of the Superior rooms I think was named Calderbeck.

Each room has its own individual character and is the very best in comfort, beautifully finished providing you with utter peace and quiet.With the most comfortable of beds you could not fail to have a good nights sleep.Of course en suite, hairdryer, robe, tea/ coffee even shortbread biscuits were included in each room. What I particularly liked were the china crockery and silver sugar bowl, non of these little packets of milk and sugar you come to expect in hotel rooms nowadays.After a really enjoyable dinner in the Fell restaurant,food was exceptional, we returned to our room, to find our bed turned down and soothing music ( Classic FM ) playing from the radio provided.I'm hooked now.Each room has a name associated with the Lake District.
We have booked again next weekend, this time we will visit the Spa and weather permitting will take a walk in the extensive gardens at the rear of the Inn. We are so looking forward to this trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

we have just returned from a one night stay at this lovely hotel, our room was at the front of the hotel and was so cosy and comfortable with a large bathroom. We ate in the bistro the food was very good and the staff so helpful and friendly, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and breakfast first class. hopefully we will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed the night in this lovely old inn during a four night "fine dining" walking tour in the Lake District. This was a really comfortable, cosy and intimate place to stay with great service and lovely food. We stayed in one of the superior rooms which had a fantstic four poster bed and was very comfortable with lots of nice touches. The bathroom was great with lots of hot water. Having arrived mid afternoon we took advantage of the Pheasant's membership at the Spa belonging to the nearby Armathwaite Hall Hotel. This was wonderful but we were still happy to be staying at the cosy Pheasant Inn and really enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in one of the cosy lounges in front of the fire. We took dinner in the restaurant and had a really enjoyable meal. Given the price the food wasn't absolutely exceptional but was still really good I would definitely go back again. We had a great night's sleep and then had a fantastic breakfast - the full English was amongst the best I'd ever had with a superb black pudding! This is a lovely English Inn and isn't cheap but offers something a bit different to other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I sometimes call in the Pheasant for a drink and find the small bar very quaint with its lack of modernity and beer served in pint pots rather than straight glasses.
The ales - local beers - are usually well kept but the sparklers on the hand pulls need to be adjusted as the pints are served with massive frothy heads which suggest short measures.
Be prepared to pay over the odds for drinks but enjoy the atmosphere and the service not to mention the free crisps on the bar..

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.