We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet but enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake District Wildlife Park

The Lake District Wildlife Park
Coalbeck Farm, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RD, England
017687 76239
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“quiet but enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My boyfriend and i recently visited trotter world whilst on a weekend away in keswick (mid december) although we were one of two familys in there i really enjoyed it. We seemed to have dropped on 'feeding time' and therefore most of the animals were out and about waiting to be fed and we could get really up close. There are a great selection of animals, some you don't see at many other wildlife parks such as skunks and porcupines..and we really enjoyed 'Brian' the very old Gibbon and his family and the meerkats never fail to make you laugh. It could be seen as slightly expensive but i guess that's how much the upkeep of the animals costs in the quieter winter months! :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    96
    24
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Kids enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Not too big to take forever getting around but enough by the way of animals and activities to keep the kids going

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“same as always spot on.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

been to trotters lots of times the children always really enjoy it. lots of different animals for the children to look at. also a great little cafe serving yummy food. great gift shop 2 but a bit expensive

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

And adults too!!!! Lots to see and do with a good selection of animals and other attractions. Nice areas to just sit and watch the world go by

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Visited the park based on the website (not trip advisor reviews) and while we did enjoy our visit we found the overall experience disappointing. The entrance fee is high for what's on offer, and a number of the pens were empty as we started to walk around. Thankfully there are enough monkeys to keep you entertained, and enjoyed the talk on meerkats by their keeper.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lake District Wildlife Park also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to The Lake District Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake District Wildlife Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.