We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place! Not bad for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico to your Saves list
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Secaucus, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Place! Not bad for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The resort is HUGE. Huge like they need to drive around golf carts to help the lazy people like me from all the walking. My girlfriend and I went with 2 other couples and we had a great time. The drive from San Juan is app. 45 mins with a little traffic. If you are staying here, either plan to stay here the whole time, or rent a car!! Thank god we did. We used it to get to all the activities and excursions.

The staff for the most part is very helpful and friendly. There is always a few no matter where you go that are just there for the paycheck, but majority of the people seemed to enjoy working in the industry. Just a little bit of gratuity (TIP$) goes a long way, so be sure to take care of them! They work hard. The grounds of the place are kept very clean. Now remember, you are NOT in the continental USA, so don't expect EVERYONE on the island to speak english. We actually ran into a few cops who didn't speak english. They were very friendly though.

At the hotel, it was a little annoying to have to remember cards to borrow towels at the pool, but I guess that may be a loss prevention issue for them. The front desk staff was kind of jaded, but everyone else we met were awesome. We did eat at the asian restaurant, the restaurant was nice, they had live mood setting music. The food was mediocre. The prices were fair considering the formal setting of the restaurant.

The hotel is app. 45 minutes from the San Juan airport and 30 minutes from Fajardo. In rush hour, give your self time for the traffic!!!

The lobby has a huge bird cage which was so cool! The beach/lawn has Hammocks, Outdoor games, and they let you borrow golf clubs for mini golf!.

The hotel was great though, I would definetely go back. Go enjoy, have fun, and relax. You are on vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    1,078
    695
    582
    501
See reviews for
1,079
1,493
52
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

After hearing that this was Donald Trumps place we had really high hopes for this vacation. The property is beautiful, and the common grounds are very nice, better than you see for most in Puerto Rico, However......as nice as the rooms were, we had a 1 bedroom/ 1 bath, was plenty for 2 people, but the reservation said it sleeps 6! Technically it will sleep six, but I couldn't imagine 6 people in this little space. The 2 beds in our 1 bedroom were hotel style full size only, so if your tall expect your feet to hang off the bed, and if your sleeping 2 full size adults, don't plan on rolling over, because it's not big enough! No wireless internet in the rooms, only in the common areas and at the pool, but they do have the old hard wire plugs! A bit out of date if you ask me, but we were lucky enough to have access to the wireless from our bottom floor patio that faced the pool. With that said, there are private bungalows that are avaliable for RED Level guest only that looked quite nice and had there own private pool and gazebo. The Casino has been removed, but there is a casino 5 minutes down the road at the Wyndam Rio Mar. Our property was basically empty until later in the week when people started coming in for the 2 corporate functions that were booked for the weekend. However the Wyndam was a busy place. The food on property left a bit to be desired...... the food at the pool bar location was typical, not a very good selection and pricey but was good. The breakfast buffet was good, but expensive for what you get, we tried this buffet one evening, and not only was it expensive, but the selection was horrible, I know Donald Trump would not eat this mess, nor would he be happy with the options! so take my advice, and look elsewhere. As for the other 2 restaurants on property......... you need a reservation, even with empty tables all over, you need a reservation, so needless to say, we didn't get to try them because we never knew when or where we actually would be at dinner time. However..... the buffet at the Wyndam Rio Mar looked wonderful and had a line, so must have been much better. They do offer room service, and I will say the dinner we ordered while only Chicken wings and salad, was very good.

I would reccomend renting a car. They offer a shuttle, but it's $35 per person each way to the airport, and thats only a 30 min drive. The property is about 30 min from San Juan, and 30 min from Fajardo, where you catch the ferry to Culebra or Vieques, and 10 minutes from El Yunke rain forrest, so not a bad location at all. Pay the upgrade, and get the GPS in your rental, you will be glad you did, even if they are out of date, and miss roads.

The staff was great upon checkin, not so much at check out. The service left a bit to be desired, but that was probably because of the lack of guest at the resort. All in all, nice property, but a bit of a let down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This resort is beautiful, the entire lobby is surrounded by fountains and water. It is a very open resort, the main pool is huge and the grounds are beautiful. The fitness room is also a decent size and accomodating. Our favorite part about the resort was the beach, it is very unique in that it has a lot of palm trees on it, but this also provides a lot of shade which is nice (it also makes for some great pictures). Our room had a garden view and was very spacious. My only complaint is that it did not have a refigerator so we had to get buckets of ice to cool drinks we brought into our room. My husband and his brother had a great time playing the golf course, there is a hole that is right on the ocean. The resort is pretty close to the rainforest and I highly suggest driving up there and checking it out. It is also close to a row of street vendors/restaurants/bars about a mile or two down Rt. 3 (turn left when heading off the resort). The food is pricey on the resort, but all restauants were good. If you have a car, you can easily leave the resort and drive down the road to a cafe to find a cheaper breakfast. I wish the resort had better coffee (a Starbucks or something similar would have been nice). I also found it strange that Pasion wouldn't serve outside, but the sushi restaurant and Italian restaurant did and were both very good.

All in all, a great experience and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place has beautiful territory and comfortable bungalows. Staff is very helpful and friendly, making your stay even more pleasant. The beach is unique: coral sand, shady palm trees and bushes, hammocks and sunbeds are everywhere (but not too much of them!) There are gazebos in pool areas, for those who want even more comfort. Seabed is sandy-grassy, which is really unique and tender. Not too deep though so somebody looking for water sport, not for relaxation may be disappointed. Restaurants offer fair selection and prices. Central bar is very good and if somebody looking for good traditional cocktail or Caribbean punch – he or she is in the right place. In addition, the place is 15 minutes drive from beautiful rainforest park. I would highly recommend Gran Melia Resort for everyone who wants relax under the sun in the middle of New England winter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were looking for a great escape from the northeast winter. The trip was easy to this very warm and relaxing destination. the common areas in the hotel were lovely, the rooms however were warn and many things did not work properly. the staff was pleasant, and welcoming, but the service was lacking. The pool bar and the Puerto ricean restaurants were good, stay away from the others.
I so much wanted this to be a great vacation based upon the website, but was a little disapointed. would not go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just came back from our stay and having stayed in many resorts throughout the island , I have to say this one stacks up nicely. We stayed in the villa section which was nicely outfitted with a large jacuzzi tub and kichenette. These are the sort of amenities provided to the red level patrons with the biggest perk being the assignment of a "butler". Our butler was ABSOLUTELY fantastic (his name is Tony). He offered suggestions, he made appointments and just overall gave us the lay of the property and how to best navigate it. While my son was sisck, he even brought over icecream. On the other hand, we met guests who were not red level guests and the constatnt complaint was that the rooms smelled of mildew and the beds were fragile. One couple moved rooms twice. Its was clearly a different experience from the one we had . Also look up Aileen in the spa - she gives a very good pedicure. she was meticulous and cared about the outcome. Felt like a new woman!

Room Tip: Red level vacation villas are the way to go - private pool but no beach. The bali beds make up for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This resort far exceeded my expectations!!! I got a really good deal from Cheap Caribbean for a long weekend at Gran Melia Golf Resort so I was thinking I can endure anything for the great price for a weekend. Wow, is all I can say! This is a top notch resort with customer service being job one! The resort is gorgeous and clean. The staff were friendly and catered to all our needs. I would stay here again in a minute even without the deep discount. I would highly recommend this resort if you want to be pampered in paradise.

Room Tip: I am not sure there is a bad room. We had a deluxe junior garden view suite and it was large and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Trump International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Melia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.