We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice spot, nice staff, amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heidelberg Haus German Restaurant - CLOSED

Heidelberg Haus German Restaurant
Kiosko #38 | Luquillo, Rio Grande PR, Puerto Rico
7873402402
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: German, Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Heidelberg Haus is a German Style Restaurant at the foothills of the rainforest El Yunque. We serve German and Puerto Rican food. Our beer list is one of the ampliest in Puerto Rico.
Innsbruck, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice spot, nice staff, amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

we stopped on the way back from el yunque and had a really nice dinner there. great selection of food, I picked the Kassler with Sauerkraut, my wife a puerto rican plateand and it was delicious. we enjoyed the dances and music as well, Í can just recomend this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Good for price. Slow service. The food was ok for eating German food in puerto Rico. No air conditioning.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stop after El Yunque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stopped at this restaurant on the way back to San Juan from a drive through El Yunque. It was 3pm and the place was practically rocking with tables of people and lots of conversation. The windows were open and the weather was beautiful. The staff were so nice and the building was very clean and a fun place to eat. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars was the food was a little pricey for the quality. The pork schnitzel was a little dry and the pulled pork also (from the Puerto Rican portion of the menu). The sides were the best part--the green plantains with garlic paste and the fried potatoes were delicious. The appetizer (bratwurst selection) was a little pricey for the quantity, but tasty. We did not have beer (due to driving and the time in the afternoon) but it seemed like they had a great selection. Again...highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good German Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very nice Goulash, and the Mercedes Sausage was very good. Good Selection of German, American, and Local beer. Plus wine. Staff friednly. Enjoyed the Saturday afternoon lunch and beer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Tons of food friendly staff great spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

The food was great portions were huge and the beer selection was awesome. They have a great happy hour 3 dollar beers from all over the world. The owner was present and greeted us and made sure our dinner was excellent.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heidelberg Haus German Restaurant also viewed

Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidelberg Haus German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.