We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barbakoa

Barbakoa
Carr. 191 Km 1.1 | Barrio Mameyes, Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
+1 787-415-2317
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Rio Grande
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Barbakoa it is on the main road to El Yunque Rain forest on Puerto Rico Hway 191 Km 1.1 You will see it as you go up on the left. BarbaKoa Opens from 12:00 noon until 8:00pm Thursday thru Monday. A pleasant beautiful outdoor area with a river view while you eat and a relaxing Rain Forest atmosphere. We have great friendly service and we have taken our food to a diferent level. Come and experience Barbakoa is an exceptional restaurant!
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Culinary Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It would be impossible to find a restaurant that provides a greater scope of options for a guest. As a traveler who loves food and adventure its always nice when you come across something that breaks the mold of the established norm. Barbakoa does just that. You not only get fantastic authentic Puerto Rican cuisine but you have the option to enjoy the restaurant's tropical dining environment as well as have fun relaxing or playing in the on property stream. My wife and I visited Barbakoa several times during our trip in December one of which we spent the entire day relaxing out back in the water enjoying great appetizers and drink. The staff is fluent in english and spanish which was a big help to me, my hats off to them for their high level of professionalism. As far as the food, I especially enjoyed the hen, ribs, and combo platter. With the hen comes a sauce that is absolutely to die for but its also stuffed with yucca that was a phenominal surprise. Thanks Barbakoa for the great food, service and memories!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    38
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great authentic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited the Barbakoa in el yunque Dec 12. We had the Smoked Turkey, Smoked Ribs, Cornish Game Hen. The food was great and the sauce on the turkey was the best ever. The ribs were tender the sauce was fine. But I would like it spicier, if you do too, order the spicy buffalo wing sauce on the side. Owner and waitress seated us 90 minutes after kitchen was closed (They were waiting for a no show reservation) it was divine intervention, because this was the best meal in el Yunque area. The owner came out and gave use the turkey wine sauce recipe. The food was so good, we even went back the next evening. Go early the kitchen closes at 6pm weekdays 7pm Friday Saturday. But that's normal in PR

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machiasport, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stumbled upon a gem of a restaurant while traveling back from the El Yunque Rainforest. Thanks to a "Sam" who didn't show for his reservation, we were able to take his place! The staff was very friendly and genuinely wanted to make sure you were happy. The food was terrific! We had the best smoked turkey ever!! Dining outside next to a river, listening to the beautiful sounds of the Coqui's and eating amazing food just added to what was already a fantastic family vacation!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best stuffed pork loin ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I Loved the owner and the staff. The pork loin was stuffed with yuca in a mustard rum sauce. I hate mustard but this sauce on the pork was to die for. Beautiful place. You do wait for your food but it is all made fresh so it is well worth it. The grounds are so beautiful that you just need to take a walk and take in the beauty while you wait for your food. I went back the next day for lunch and will definitely be back next time I visit Puerto Rico.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place,lovely people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Visited Barbakoa during our trip to Puerto Rico twice, and both times we were very pleased with everything! The owners take personally care of you, they are really nice people and they WANT you to be pleased with what you get for your money. Prices for main courses were around 15-18USD ,huge portions. Also we had some nice coctails there, try the Mojito, and there was another one, with Melon and Lime, forgot the name, but very tasty.
The best about the place however is the location! You cant miss it on your way from/to the rainforest, and it is beautifully set near a little river. Be aware that they open only afternoon/early evening, I think 14.00 to 19.00 or so, and try to go there Saturday or Sunday when they have great Live Music!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbakoa also viewed

 

Been to Barbakoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbakoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.