We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID THIS PLACE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande Plantation Eco Resort

Rio Grande Plantation Eco Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rio Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rio Grande Plantation Eco Resort
Save
You added Rio Grande Plantation Eco Resort to your Saves list
Road No 956, Guzman Abajo, Km. 4, Hm 2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS PLACE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I got married in 2010 and we stayed the first two days in a hotel in Isla Verde and then drove to Rio Grande Plantation Eco Resort to stay the rest of the week. To our surprise when we drove up the road it was abandoned. The only two persons we found were two employees who were cleaning a dirty pool (which looked like it hadnt been cleaned in ages). The parking looked like it never was cleaned. We looked through the windows and the impression that I got was it looked like one of those hotels in a terror movie. We drove out of that place so quickly and when we stopped and asked a nearby neighbor, she indicated to us that Rio Grande Plantation was in a legal dispute. We drove toward Luquillo and did find a place that was excellent (Hacienda Carabali) very private and cleaned. We are planning to stay there again this year for our anniversary. The best thing to do is go for a drive and check out the place before giving any credit card. I am a local on the island and am very cautious with internet information.

Room Tip: The rooms looked dirty when we checked through the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    2
    13
See reviews for
8
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We read the reviews. But we’ve traveled all over the world and stayed in lots of sketchy places in some pretty out-of-the way towns. We figured that this couldn’t be that bad.

We needed to be in this vicinity to be close to some relatives. Unfortunately, since it was the week between Christmas and New Years, most places were booked. So we broke down and decided that it would be OK.

Now the place isn’t horrible, but just so sad. And it isn’t cheap. The place was probably something pretty nice in 1970. Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like anything has been done for the place since then. Nothing in the rooms works right and the one horrible staff person around had no means or interest in making anything better. Also, we were the only people there, so it all felt abandoned.

We should have stayed further away in San Juan or Fajardo and driven back and forth. Learn from my mistake!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

When cleaning out some old files, I came across my internet research for Rio Grande Plantation. When we were there in early 2000, and it was empty except for me and my husband. The first room they gave us must have been the worst room they had. Mildew all over the walls, filthy toilet, etc.

When I went to the office to speak to the owner, she said pretended not to speak English. Fortunately, I am fluent in Spanish, so I complained about the room and asked for my money back. (We had made advance reservations, believing the web site!) She refused, and said "take it or leave it." I said, "Fine. We'll drive back to San Juan and I'll find the tourist agency and let them know what has happened." She then said she would give us a cleaner room.

We were taken to a room that had no mildew; it was on an upper floor, not at ground level. Much better. There was a huge pool which looked ok, but it had a small household size device for cleaning which circled around and around. We decided not to risk the pool due to fear of infection.

During our three day visit, no one else checked in. There was no food service and the hotel is down a two-lane winding road which is very dark at night, so we had to be sure to eat before we returned for the evening.

I was astonished to see the review which said that this is a top notch facility. The grounds are very beautiful, and it is remote and natural. I would hesitate, however, to come here with children or anyone who is not in good health. You have to fend for yourself, and the mold/moisture problems are a concern. Frankly, I was surprised to see that the place was still in business. If you are planning to stay here, there's no need to make reservations or to give credit card information. Go see it to determine if it is what you want, because once they have your money you may not get it back. Not to worry if you change your mind; several hotels on the main road. This is not the only place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Simply horrible. We were the only people there, literally! There were no other guests, and there was no staff in the evening. There was no food service, at all. Our room was small and dirty with mildew. The grounds were dilapidated. The hotel was in a terrible location, remote and far from El Yunque.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

The Rio Grande Eco Plantation Resort is absolutely horrible – do not stay here! The website makes this place look like an amazing family-friendly resort, so my husband, 2-year old daughter and I booked it without checking the TripAdvisor reviews. Big Mistake!! The website is not to be trusted. We were the only people staying there the entire three nights (during spring break), and the pool and outdoor facilities were so dirty and decrepit that we did not want to use them. The room was similarly dirty, infested with bugs (which may be hard to control given its location within the rain forest), and without a working bathtub. The grounds were spacious, and were likely beautiful 25 years ago, but everything has fallen into disrepair. Its very creepy, and would make it an ideal location for a horror or futuristic “where have the people gone?” film. There was no restaurant as reported in our guidebook and in some of the reviews here, and when we asked for some local restaurant recommendations from the woman manning the front desk she told us there was nothing around. She was similarly “helpful” when we asked for directions to a grocery store. Our first night we ended up eating at the Pizza Hut by the highway and driving all the way to Carolina before finding a grocery store to buy food for breakfast! In every way, this place does not deliver what it promises – for $200+ a night, you deserve a lot more!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

My husband and I checked into Rio Grande for two nights so we could take in some hiking in El Yunque. Advertised as at the foot of the El Yunque rainforest, Rio Grande is situated on the opposite side of El Yunque from the park entrance, so requires about a 20 minute drive to the park's trails. The stay is bare-bones, but pleasant. We found the room to be very dark - with very little lighting provided - but the service was decent and our stay was quiet. The sounds of the coqui and other night wildlife easily drown out cars passing on the nearby road, but can keep you awake at night if you are a sensitive sleeper. We probably would not stay here again, but thought it was an interesting experience in a beautiful natural setting. The low cost and setting would make this a nice stay for families, but not as much for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

The web site makes this place seem vibrant, clean and full of activities. We arrived to find a resort that was in an advanced state of disrepair and deserted. The rooms were dirty and the circulating pump for a once-beautiful pool was sitting on the side of the deck pumping water into the air. Unfortunately, before our visit when I had asked to hold a room, they charged my credit card the full amount and they so far have refused a refund. If you want to check this spot out, be sure you do not give credit card information. You will have no problem getting a room on a walk-in basis. We paid the full amount and walked away without staying.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty and run-down
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Grande Plantation Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Grande Plantation Eco Resort

Address: Road No 956, Guzman Abajo, Km. 4, Hm 2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Rio Grande Plantation Eco Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Grande Plantation Eco Resort Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande Plantation Eco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.